Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
International Periodicals Online
British Periodicals, 1680s-1930s
Consists of more than 460 periodical runs published from the 1680s to the 1930s, comprising six million keyword-searchable pages.
Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive, 1902-2008
A weekly book review journal of international stature published in London since 1902. It focuses on current British publications, but its coverage is worldwide.
Chinese Periodical Full-text Database (1911-1949)
This database, once completed, will offer online access to the fulltext of the Shanghai Librarys entire holdings of periodicals, over 20,000 titles, for the period 1911-1949. This is a period is receiving rapidly growing attention from scholars, and the flourishing of periodicals during this period provides scholars with a body of sources unprecedented for Chinese studies up to that time.
Women: Transnational Networks
The History of Women collection includes over 100 Women's periodicals, including housekeeping, religious, suffrage and labor magazines.
History of Photography
Over 80 periodicals related to the development of photography in the 19th and early 20th centuries.
British Theatre, Music and Literature Collection
Popular literature in 18th and 19th century Britain. Bloods, Penny Dreadfuls and Ballad Broadsides.
British Politics and Society
Rare Radical and Labour Periodicals of Great Britain. Over 100 periodicals covering the period from 1790-1970.
This resource offers full-text access to Taiyo, a magazine published in Japan from 1895-1928, known for its literary criticism, literature, and translations of western authors.
Church Missionary Society Periodicals, 1804-2009
Church Missionary Society Periodicals features publications from the Church Missionary Society (CMS), the South American Missionary Society and the Church of England Zenana Missionary Society (CEZMS) between 1804 and 2009.
The Listener Historical Archive, 1929-1991
The Listener was a weekly publication, established by the BBC in 1929 as the medium for reproducing radio - and later, television - programmes in print. It is our only record and means of accessing the content of many early broadcasts. As well as expanding on the intellectual broadcasts of the week, The Listener also discussed major literary and musical programmes. 10% of its content was not connected to broadcasting at all, and it regularly reviewed new books.
New Readerships: Women's, Children's, Humor, and Leisure/Sport
19th Century UK Periodicals: Part I: New Readerships: Women’s, Children’s, Humour, and Leisure/Sport covers British life in the Victorian age and the events, lifestyles, values, and ideas that shaped the world during this milestone period. This collection marks the advent of commercial lifestyle publishing in Britain and charts the rapid rise of modern magazine culture.
European Women's Periodicals
This collection of European women’s periodicals contains publications from Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, the Netherlands, Switzerland, and Dutch Indonesia. Although the collection includes material dating from around 1830, most documents are from 1880 to 1940.
Rare Radical and Labour Periodicals of Great Britain
This collection, based on The Warwick Guide to British Labour Periodicals, 1790–1970 (Royden Harrison, Gillian B. Woolven, and Robert Duncan, comps., 1977), comprises more than 100 periodicals, many of which are rare and or difficult to obtain, including:
-Cobbett's Evening Post
-Labour League Examiner
-Robert Owen's Millennial Gazette
-Voice of the People
Popular Literature in 18th and 19th Century Britain: Bloods and Penny Dreadfuls
The collection spans the 1830s to the early twentieth century and is particularly strong in the boys' adventure stories of the 1880s and 1890s and also in the early gruesome penny “bloods” that inspired them, written by authors such as Thomas Peckett Prest. The collection includes titles published by major firms that specialized in the genre, such as Edward Lloyd and Hogarth House, as well as those of more obscure printers and publishers.
East Asian Missionary and Socio-Economic Journals
This collection features a selection of Asia-related missionary periodicals that shed light on the complex role of the missionary endeavor in an age of Western commercial and imperial expansion.
The Oriental Economist (1934-1985)
The ORIENTAL ECONOMIST was a monthly English magazine launched in 1934 (Showa 9) to commemorate the fortieth year of the founding of Toyo Keizai Inc. (Toyo Keizai Shimposha)… This new digital archive consists of 874 issues covering the 51 years from 1934 to 1985, all 43,861 pages of which are searchable. The archive contains not only articles from the Toyo Keizai Shimpo/Weekly Toyo Keizai translated into English but also many original articles, which are of special interest as articles for the domestic magazine and The ORIENTAL ECONOMIST, intended for the overseas readership, were composed differently under the intense suppression of journalism that occurred during the war years. A rare English-language magazine that continued without interruption from pre-war to post-war Japan, this archive represents a valuable academic research tool.
EEBO Periodicals, 1620-1663
17th century news publications in English.