Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Basic Foreign Relations Series
Colonial Document Compilations and Series
Great Britain: Foreign Policy and the Span of Empire
4 volume selective compilation of documents relating to British foreign policy.
Call#: Van Pelt Library DA45 .W53
British Documents on the End of Empire
Based overwhelmingly on previously unpublished material from official British archives in the Public Record Office, the British Documents on the End of Empire Project (BDEEP) presents, for the first time, an extended documentary record of the final stages of Britain's association with the colonies of the formal empire and the countries within an informal empire." The volumes of Series A provide documents relating to general government policies of relevance to the empire as a whole. Series B provides coverage of individual countries. Series C provides archival guides to official sources.
Transfer of Power, 1942-1947
12 volume collection of documents on the end of empire and transfer of power in India.
Call#: Van Pelt Library DS480.83 .T7
State Papers: Colonial (CO 1)
Consisting of C.O.1 and the Calendar of State Papers, Colonial, this is the essential source of government documents about the North American colonies before the mid-18th century.
Annual colonial reports are readable companions to the colonial blue books that provide an account of activities in the colony during the previous year. This record indicates a collection of annual reports covering the years 1927-1936. Additional annual reports can be located by doing a title search in Franklin for colonial reports annual.
Call#: LIBRA 328.42 G797
Blue Books for Colonial British Africa in the Penn Libraries
Blue Books are annual reports of the British colonies. Colonial regulations issued in 1843 state:"The Annual Blue Book containing accounts of the Civil Establishment, of the Colonial Revenue and Expenditure and of various statistical particulars, etc. ... must be filled up with the greatest possible accuracy and the Statistical Tables must be full and complete." This list includes blue books for Africa. Many blue books for non-African colonies can be identified by doing a title search for blue book in Franklin
Colonial America (C.O. 5)
Colonial America will make available all 1,450 volumes of the CO 5 series from The National Archives, UK, covering the period 1606 to 1822. CO 5 consists of the original correspondence between the British government and the governments of the American colonies, making it a uniquely rich resource for all historians of the period.