Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Citation Style Examples
For items from full-text databases: Author(s). Date of Article. Article title. Journal title. Journal volume (Journal issue), page numbers. Date retrieved. Database from which retrieved.
- Example: Miles, Raymond E. 2007. Innovation and leadership values. California Management Review, 50(1), 192-201. Retrieved February 9, 2018 from Business Source Complete database.
For items from electronic journals (e.g. those that don't live inside Business Source Complete, ABI Inform, etc.)
Author(s). Date of Article. Article title. Journal title. Journal volume (Journal issue), page numbers. Retrieved from URL.
- Example: Kets De Vries, Manfred F.R. 2007. Decoding the team conundrum: eight roles executives play. Organizational Dynamics 36(1), 28-44. Retrieved from http://dx.doi.org/doi:10.1016/j.orgdyn.2006.12.002.
Chicago Manual of Style Online
This is a guide to citation (footnote, endnote, works cited) style, also information on punctuation, spelling, quotations, captions, tables, and abbreviations, with sections on journals and electronic media.
Also available in print at most libraries on campus: Z253 .C57
RefWorks is a web-based bibliographic management tool freely available to all current Penn students, faculty, and staff. You can use Refworks to:
- Create a personal database online
- Import references automatically from most research databases and library catalogs
- Organize and annotate references
- Format references and bibliographies in Microsoft Word document
Access your RefWorks account from on or off campus. Off-campus users authenticate through the proxy by:
Using Refworks with Microsoft Word
Write-N-Cite allows you to add references to a Word manuscript from your RefWorks account. Download Write-N-Cite by accessing your RefWorks account, selecting "Write-N-Cite" found in the "Tools" drop-down menu, and following the installation instructions.
When accessing Write-N-Cite from off campus you will be asked for a "group code."