Theme Indexes for Works of Fiction: Indexes

This bibliography provides a theme index to modern short stories about Indian characters written post 1890 by American authors for adult audiences. Examples of themes include Apache, attack, capture, drunken Indian, exploitation and outcast.
Van Pelt Library: PS374.I49 B44

The topic index includes such useful themes as seduction, slavery, feminism and religion.
Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PS374.W6 W52 1990

Includes over 1,400 entries on science fiction novels, collections, and anthologies. Entries include bibliographies, summaries, and critical discussions of the works. Young adult titles and resources included.
Van Pelt Library: PN3433.8 .A53 2004

Van Pelt Library: PN6120.95.J28 A52 1996

Includes both short stories and novels from the 19th and 20th centuries.
Van Pelt Reference Stacks: NX650.F36 F34 1999

The unfortunately small subject index is limited to three motifs: indians, oriental(ism), and slavery.
Van Pelt Library: PS375 .P57 2002

Harper's Weekly online from 1857-1912. After you enter the database choose the option to 'Search' and then choose 'Literary Synopses' to search for themes. It is also possible to use the finding aid for 'Literary Genre' to search for genres of fictional works.

Mostly limited to works published after 1960 with an emphasis on works from the 80s and 90s. Short but useful theme index.
Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: PS374.W6 C37 1993

Annotated bibliography of British gothic novels. The extensive motif index includes terms such as convent, abduction, corpse, ghost, wedding, and other typically gothic motifs.
Van Pelt Library: PR868.T3 T7

Van Pelt Library: PS374.J48 B59

Van Pelt Library: PS153.J4 H365 1988

This bibliography is old but has a valuable subject index to historical novels and tales.
Van Pelt Library: Z5917.H6 N6 1929b

Annotated bibliography of novels about films, the film industry, film-related characters, and film-related settings.
Van Pelt Library: PS374.H55 S54 1995

Bibliography of English language novels, anthologized short stories, and fictionalized personal narratives about the immigrant experience in America. Themes covered in the index include places, states, political and social activities (intermarriage, union involvement, generational conflict, etc.), and types of employment. Van Pelt Library Reference: PS374.I48 S56 1995

A bibliography of american novels published in the first half of the 20th century that include social themes. Westerns, detective stories and juvenile literature are mostly excluded. The extensive subject index includes themes such as adolescence, alcoholism, prostitution, race problems and socialism.
Van Pelt Library: PS374.U5 H35 1985

Bibliography of British and American mystery novels published in the 20th century with a detailed motif index.
Van Pelt Library: PR830.D4 O43 1987

Covers short fiction published 1896-1967 in the Saturday Evening Post.
Van Pelt Library: PS374.I49 B45 2001

Provides a short thematic index to short stories and novels about sports.
Van Pelt Library Reference: PS374.S76 B87 1987

Van Pelt Reference: PS374.W6 C37 1992

More an encyclopedia of relevant authors, subjects and works than an index. Useful bibliographies.
Van Pelt Library Reference Stacks: REF PS374.S35 W63 2009