Theatre Arts

Google preserves millions of images - some under copyright, and some in the public domain. Search for your theatrical work of interest, for period costumes, and other topics.

This collection will eventually showcase 30,000+ photographs from over 5,000 Broadway productions. You can use these images, with attribution, for academic papers and presentations. More on their reproduction policies at http://collections.mcny.org/Rights.

The Furness Image Collection comprises more than 2,000 prints and photographs. The majority date from the nineteenth century, but the Collection also holds earlier and later images. These images illustrate and interpret Shakespeare's plays and also document theatrical performers and performances of works by Shakespeare and other dramatists. Additional theatrical images, consisting of a collection of American theatrical posters from the 1890s and images from the collection of the Charlotte Cushman Club, are included here.

"The Billy Rose Theatre Collection's photograph archive holds personalities, productions, theatre buildings, and production studios. It is organized into three series, grouped by size of photographic print: "A" for the smallest, less than 8 x 10 inches; "B" for approximately 8 x 10 inches and slightly larger; and "C" for oversize prints. This digital presentation offers the complete contents of the so-called "A" files, which are rich in 19th-century carte-de-visite and cabinet card portraits, as well as 20th-century portrait proofs, personal snapshots, and photographic postcards. The series also includes some early production photographs, and a section on theatres subdivided geographically." -from collection website.

NYPL's image copyright policy can be found here: http://digitalcollections.nypl.org/about#use

Over 150 years of playbills, press clips, posters, and other materials from the Brooklyn Academy of Music. Filter by BAM Theatre Company for material from theatrical productions from the late 1970s-early 1980s.