Skip to main content
Basic info & contact footer
PennKey Library Account
Log in to Franklin with PennKey
Do you need help because you have
No PennKey? Click here.
Libraries & hours
Make an appointment
Check it to expand the navigation menu, uncheck to hide the menu."
show menu items
Guides by topic
Teaching & learning
Questions & appointments
Make an appointment
Technology & methods consultants
Ask a question
Spaces & equipment
Book a group study room
Find a library space
Check out technology
Albrecht Music Library
Biddle Law Library
Fisher Fine Arts Library
Kislak Center for Special Collections, Rare Books and Manuscripts
Levy Dental Medicine Library
Library at the Katz CAJS
Lippincott Library of the Wharton School
Penn Museum Library
Van Pelt-Dietrich Library Center
Veterinary Medicine Libraries
Weigle Information Commons
Franklin (search & browse our catalog)
Databases & article Indexes
BorrowDirect+ (search & browse partner libraries)
Collections by subject
Collections development policies
Suggest a purchase
Special collections & archives
News & events
Penn Libraries News
Exhibits & events
30 days of events
Locations & hours
Type your search
Search this Guide
Philadelphia History: Images
People & Neighborhoods
People and Places
Photographic images of Philadelphia from the Philadelphia City Archives, which holds approximately 2 million photos dating from the late 1800s, as well as the Athenaeum of Philadelphia.
Images of America
Collections of photographs by neighborhood, in e-book format. Select Browse Books > Browse Places to find Philadelphia selections.
Places In Time : Historical Documentation of Place in Greater Philadelphia
Portal to resources about Philadelphia, most notably early paintings and photographs of the city.
Philadelphia Architects and Buildings
Authoritative information and images on three centuries of Philadelphia buildings and designers.
Philadelphia Skyline - Neighborhoods
Photos listed by neighborhood.
Hexamer General Surveys
Historic ground plans and birds-eye perspective drawings of Philadelphia industrial sites.
University Archives Digital Image Collection
Images from Penn's University Archives. Includes pictures of West Philadelphia, the Penn Campus, student groups, and similar subects.
Built in America: Historic American Buildings Survey
"More than 350,000 measured drawings, large-format photographs, and written histories for more than 35,000 historic structures and sites dating from Pre-Columbian times to the twentieth century." Search by place to limit results to Philadelphia.
Philadelphia Neighborhoods: Histories, Plans and Futures
86 neighborhood planning surveys prepared and published by the Philadelphia City Planning Commission between 1946 and 1990. Use Maps/Photographs search to locate images.
Philadelphia Jewish Archives Photographs
From Temple University.
Philadelphia Historical Digital Images Library
Historical images from the collection of Thomas Jefferson University.
PhilaGeoHistory - Aerial Photographs
Access the Free Library's 1930 Dallin aerial survey and 1928 Regional Planning Federation survey.
City of Philadelphia - Aerial Photography
2004, 2008, 2010 aerial photography. Downloads through PASDA.
DVRPC Digital Orthoimagery
2005 and 2010 orthorectified imagery of the Delaware Valley.
Dallin Aerial Survey Company, 1924-1941
Aerial photos of the mid-Atlantic region's towns, factories, and other sites prior to World War II.
The following archives of news-related images can be searched by Philadelphia and related topics.
AP Photo Archive
Contains over one million Associated Press photographs (with searchable captions) downloadable as JPEG (jpg) images. Search by Philadelphia and keyword.
Selected digitized images from Temple University Libraries' archival and special collections. Search for "Evening Bulletin" to locate photographs from this newspaper, from 1920s onward.
Print Collections of Images
City of independence : views of Philadelphia before 1800
A collection of maps and views with accompanying text and bibliographic citations.
Mirror of America: the developing life of Philadelphia seen in engravings 1801-1876
Philadelphia in the romantic age of lithography: an illustrated history of early lithography in Philadelphia
Other books at Penn Libraries
People & Neighborhoods
Dec 11, 2018 1:18 PM
Login to LibApps