It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Launched as a project of Calvert 22 Foundation in March 2013. Today, the Journal is the world’s leading publication for culture, innovation, photography and travel in the New East. From Poland to Novosibirsk, from St. Petersburg to Kyrgyzstan.
Krokodil (Крокодил, Crocodile) was a satirical magazine published in the Soviet Union beginning in 1922. It was first published as a supplement for Rabochaia gazeta. Krokodil was given considerable license to lampoon political figures and events.
Press Reader provides access to recent issues of 294 Russian language magazines (as well as magazines in many other Slavic and East European languages. Search for specific titles, or browse by language.
Factiva provides access to more than 100 serial publications from Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Russia, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan. Go to Factiva, select "search builder" and choose CIS Countries as your region.
Factiva results search across the Commonwealth of Independent States as a region
Online access to "Moscow News, founded in 1930, for years represented the official English-language press organ of the Communist Party of the Soviet Union. Throughout the years, Moscow News served as a tool of positive propaganda that the Soviet regime employed to embellish and polish its public image. As a consequence, censorship heavily affected its rhetoric, narrative, and contents, determining which issues were worthy of being reported and which ones had to be dismissed or ignored. For this reason, the newspaper is a rich resource for those who are interested in assessing the internal mechanism of the Soviet Union's cultural diplomacy and consensus-building machine."
North American scholarship on East-Central Europe, Russia, and the former Soviet Union. Contains bibliographic records for journal articles, books and book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, online resources, and selected government publications. Earlier print volumes for European publications are also available.
Historical Abstracts Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. It covers all aspects of history and provides indexing of more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
A extensive database focused on all aspects of law and society. Includes World Constitutions, Law in Eastern Europe, Foreign and International Law Resources, World Treaty Library, and more. Browse the collections, search for specific topics, such as Russian elections or Czech political parties, events, geographies.
JSTOR specializes in making available the back issues of journals in a wide variety of humanities and social science disciplines. Issues are available both as images and as text, making searching possible both within each title and across the whole database. The most current issues are only available for a handful of titles.
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
Russian Periodicals at the Penn Libraries
Find journals on Russian studies (currently in publication and older titles) in all languages. It is difficult to create an exhaustive search. If you have a journal you are looking for,, search for it separately. Below are links to sample searches.
Русскiй Архивъ / Russkii Arkhivavailable in pdf at the Hathitrust site available from multiple institutions. Penn Libraries also owns this journal in microprint and in print. For options browse here
We may not have complete runs of all journals listed in our catalog. If you aren't finding what you need in print or electronic, be sure to take advantage of interlibrary loan and scan and deliver services. Please ask for assistance if you have questions (see the overview page of this guide for contact information).