Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Korean Studies: Newspapers

This guide is intended to help patrons find resources to support their study and research in Korean studies and the Korean language. It includes tips on searching; links to databases, e-journals, and e-books; and information on the Korean collection.

Digital Archives

  • 대한민국 신문 아카이브 A large digital archive of newspapers from the early 20th century through the 1950s hosted by the National Library of Korea. Includes metadata about each issue in MODS and Linked Open Data formats, and page images of moderate quality.
  • Chosun Ilbo Archive    A digital archive of the Chosun Ilbo newspaper from its inception to the present; a Penn subscription database that requires a PennKey login.
  • Naver News Library   Full-text Korean newspaper article database including the following four major newspapers. It features plain text transcriptions of articles in the page view interface.
東亞日報 = Dong-A ilbo 1920-1999
京鄕新聞 = Kyunghyang Shinmun 1946-1999
每日經濟新聞 = Maeil Business Newspaper : 1966-1999
한겨레 = The Hankyoreh 1988-1999
독립신문: 1896 - 1899 권업신문: 1912 - 1914
독립신문 영문판: 1896 - 1899 국민보: 1913 - 1963
협성회회보: 1898 독립신문 - 상해: 1919 - 1945
매일신문: 1898 - 1899 시대일보: 1924 - 1926
황성신문: 1898 - 1910 선봉: 1914 - 1937
대한매일신보: 1904 - 1910 단산시보: 1925
매일신보: 1910 - 1945 중외일보: 1926 - 1931
공립신보: 1905 - 1909 태평양주보: 1930 - 1947
해조신문: 1908 중앙일보: 1931 - 1933
대동공보: 1909 - 1910 조선중앙일보: 1933 - 1936
신한민보: 1909 - 1924 한민: 1936 - 1938
신한국보: 1909 - 1911 대공보: 1938 - 1946
대한민보: 1909 - 1910 북미시보: 1944 - 1946
공립신보 1905-11-20~1909-01-27
동아일보 1920-04-01~1962-12-31
부산일보 1914-12-01~1944-03-31
시대일보 1923-03-31~1926-08-31
신한민보 1909-02-10~1945-12-27
자유신문 1945-10-05~1953-12-31
조선중앙일보 1933-03-07~1936-09-04
조선시보 1914-11-02~1940-08-31
중앙일보 1931-10-14~1933-03-06
중외일보 1926-11-15~1931-06-19
신문스크랩자료 1928-04-17~1940-12-31