Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Music and Performing Arts
Includes jazz, world music, folk and traditional music, African-American Song, rap, hip-hop, classical music, more.
Naxos Music Library
Includes a wide variety of genres, including Jazz, Gospel, Blues, Folk, World, Spoken Word and Contemporary Popular.
DRAM--Ben Hall Gospel Archive
The Ben Hall Gospel Archive section of DRAM contains over 400 tracks of vocal quartet, Motown R&B gospel, and amateur/professional recordings of gospels choirs and sermons from Harlem, Detroit and the American South.
Global Music Archive
A multi-media archive for traditional and popular song, music, and dance of Africa and North and South America, with particular emphasis on the African Diaspora. The archive's Digital Collection of East African Recordings contains over 1,600 musical performances recorded by the East African ethnomusicologist Centurio Balikoowa.
International Libary of African Music
"Founded in 1954 by Hugh Tracey, ILAM is the greatest repository of African music in the world. A research institution devoted to the study of music and oral arts in Africa, it preserves thousands of historical recordings going back to 1929 and supports contemporary fieldwork. It is currently digitizing its collections."
Ethnographic Sound Archives Online
This little known but historically significant collection documents African American music and language in the Jim Crow South, with a focus on urban and suburban communities rarely documented at the time. The collection of field recordings includes spirituals, hymns, and gospel music recorded by Walter Garwick between 1935-1937.
Oxford Music Online
Includes Grove Music Online, the Encyclopedia of Popular Music, The Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music.
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online
Online version of the ten-volume encyclopedia of music from around the world. The content consists of article-length chapters rather than topical entries.
Hip Hop Sites
Hip Hop Archive
"The Hiphop Archive and Research Institute curates all forms of Hiphop material culture including recordings, videos, websites, films, original papers, works, references, productions, conferences, meetings, interviews, publications, research, formal proceedings, and much more."
Davey D's Hip Hop Corner
"One of the oldest and largest Hip Hop sites on the web, www.daveyd.com. The writings on his website are frequently referenced and quoted by journalists, scholars and professors and fans around the world."