Africana Studies: Government Documents/Surveillance

Includes:
-African Americans in the Military: Subject Files of Judge William Hastie, Civilian Aide to the Secretary of War
-Black Workers in the Era of the Great Migration, 1916-1929
-Civil Rights files, commissions, papers and records from and relating to the executive branch during the Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, Carter and Bush administrations.
-Records of the Interstate Commerce Commission on Discrimination in Transportation, 1961-1970
-Records of the Department of Justice's Civil Rights Division, 1958-1973
-Records of the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights, Police-Community Relations in Urban Areas, 1954-1966
-Records of the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights, Special Projects, 1960-1970
-Department of Justice Classified Subject Files on Civil Rights, 1914-1949

Drawn from the Franklin D. Roosevelt Library, this new series from Archives Unbound contains a collection of essential materials for the study of the early development of the Civil Rights Movement.

This collection on law and order documents the efforts of district attorneys from southern states to uphold federal laws in the states that fought in the Confederacy or were Border States. This publication includes their correspondence with the attorney general as well all other letters received by the attorney general from the states in question during that period, including the correspondence of marshals, judges, convicts, and concerned or aggrieved citizens.

Includes:
-Centers of the Southern Struggle: FBI Files on Montgomery, Albany, St. Augustine, Selma, and Memphis.
-FBI Files on Black Extremist Organizations, Part 1: COINTELPRO Files on Black Hate Groups and Investigation of the Deacons for Defense and Justice
-FBI Files on Black Extremist Organizations: Huey Newton and Eldridge Cleaver of the Black Panther Party
-Federal Surveillance of Afro-Americans (1917-1925): The First World War, the Red Scare, and the Garvey Movement
-Martin Luther King Jr. FBI File

-COINTELPRO: The Counterintelligence Program of the FBI
Contains details of the bureau’s attempts to "expose, disrupt, and neutralize" groups that J. Edgar Hoover perceived as threatening to national security.
-FBI Files on Malcolm X
-FBI File: MIBURN (Mississippi Burning)
-FBI File on Muslim Mosque, Inc.
-FBI File on the Organization of Afro-American Unity (OAAU)
-FBI File on the Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee
-FBI Investigation File on Communist Infiltration of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference

Virtual reading room containing 6,700 documents and other media that have been scanned from paper into digital copies. Includes records on:
-Betty Shabazz
-Bayard Rustin
-Nation of Islam
-Wallace Fard Muhammad
-Medgar Evars
-Stokely Carmichael
-Black Panther Party
-Black Guerilla Family
-Coretta Scott King
-Freedom Riders
-Jackie Robinson
-Rodney King
-More

Report, Ninety-second Congress, first session / together with minority views and a summation by Richardson Preyer.

This collection of FBI reports comprises the Bureau’s investigative and surveillance efforts primarily during the 1961-1976 period, when James Forman was perceived as a threat to the internal security of the United States. The collected materials also include Forman’s involvement with the "Black Manifesto" and the Bureau’s "COINTELPRO" investigations into "Black Nationalist - Hate Groups / Internal Security," which include information on the activities of SNCC.

Includes the following FBI files:
-COINTELPRO: Black Nationalist "Hate" Groups
-A. Philip Randolph
-Adam Clayton Powell
-Atlanta Child Murders (ATKID)
-Black Panther Party, North Carolina
-Committee for Public Justice
-Elijah Muhammed
-Highlander Folk School
-Ku Klux Klan Murder of Viola Liuzzo
-Malcolm X
-MIBURN (Mississippi Burning)
-Moorish Science Temple of America
-Murder of Lemuel Penn
-Muslim Mosque, Inc.
-NAACP
-National Negro Congress
-The Organization of Afro-American Unity (OAAU)
-Paul Robeson
-Reverend Jesse Jackson
-Roy Wilkins
-Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee
-Thurgood Marshall
-W. E. B. Du Bois
-Communist Infiltration of the Southern Christian Leadership Conference
-FBI Investigation File on Marcus Garvey

Davis served as a leader in local, district, and national leadership bodies of the Communist Party USA and thus concerned himself with a broad range of organizational, political, and theoretical questions. There is news of grassroots organizing successes and failures, minutes from meetings held on all the levels on which Davis engaged, and reports from member-informers on all the major political and theoretical debates.

Correspondence and telegrams received and sent by the United States’ diplomatic post in Liberia.