Guides: Africana Studies: Newspapers &amp; magazines

African American, Abolitionist and Related Newspapers

Proquest Black Studies
Platform to search Africana content across Proquest databases, including African American Newspapers, magazines in the International Index to Black Periodicals, and primary sources in History Vault Modules such as papers of the NAACP.
Historical African American Newspapers Online
Listing of publicly available African American historic newspapers from the 19th and 20th centuries.
Ethnic NewsWatch, 1959-
Provides access to more than 200 ethnic, minority and native press newspapers and magazines.
Chronicling America (1836-1922)
Over 3,500 newspapers from most states. Includes over 140 African American Newspapers (The Washington Bee, The Appeal, The Broad Ax, etc.).
The Black Panther
Full run of The Black Panther, located in the Black Thought and Culture database.
Independent Voices
Mostly mid- to late 20th century publications of the African American, GI, feminist and LGBT communities.
African American Historical Serials Collection, 1829-1922
The African American Historical Serials Collection includes African American periodicals, annuals and reports published from 1829-1922 including materials from African American religious organizations and social service agencies
Associated Negro Press News Releases 1928-1964
The ANP was the largest and longest-lived news service to supply black newspapers in the United States with news of interest to black citizens, opinion columns, reviews of books, movies, and records, and occasionally poetry, cartoons, and photographs. The ANP provided its member newspapers with professionally written, detailed coverage of activities within black communities across the country.
African American Newspapers, Series 1, 1827-1998
280 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection, which includes papers from more than 35 states, features many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles.
African American Periodicals, 1825-1995
more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. Published in 26 states, the publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations bulletins, annual reports and other genres.
Essence, 1970-2005
Ebony Archive, 1945-2014
Proquest Historical Newspapers
- Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988)
- Chicago Defender (1910-1975)‎
- Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001)‎
- New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)‎
- Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)‎
- Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2003)
- Atlanta Daily World
- Michigan Chronicle (1934-2010)
- Cleveland Call and Post (1934-1991)
- Los Angeles Sentinel
- Kansas City Call (1919-2010)

Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive
Database of documents relating to slavery, including over 70 pro- and anti-slavery news publications from America, England, Spain and France.
African American Newspapers: The 19th Century
Complete text of the major African-American newspapers published in the United States during the 19th century.
Offers access to information about the cultural life and history in the 1800s, including first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day, Also contains early biographies, vital statistics, essays and editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements.
Part I: Freedom's Journal, New York, 1827-Mar. 1829; Colored American, New York, 1837-Mar. 1840; The North Star, Rochester, NY, 1847-July 1849; National Era, Washington, DC, 1847-Dec. 1848.
Part II: Colored American, 1840-41; The North Star, July 1849-1851; Frederick Douglass Papers (continuation of The North Star), 1851-May 1852; National Era, 1847-Dec. 1850; Provincial Freeman, Toronto, ON, 1854-Dec. 18, 1855.
Part III: Frederick Douglass Papers, May 1852-Dec. 1852; National Era, Dec. 1850-Dec. 1853; Provincial Freeman, Dec. 1855-57; The Christian Recorder, Toronto, ON, 1861-April 1862.
Part IV: The Christian Recorder, May 1862-Dec. 1864; National Era, Jan. 1854-Dec. 1855; Frederick Douglass Papers, Jan. 1853-Dec. 1854.
Part V: The Christian Recorder, Jan. 1865-June 1868; National Era, Jan. 1856-Dec. 1857; Frederick Douglass Papers, Jan. 1855-Dec. 1856.
Part VI: National Era, Jan. 1858-Mar. 1860; The Christian Recorder, July 1868-Dec. 1870.
Part VII: The Christian Recorder, Jan. 1872-Dec. 1876.
Part VIII: The Christian Recorder, Jan. 1877-Dec. 1882.
Part IX: The Christian Recorder, Jan. 1883-Dec. 1887.
Part X: The Christian Recorder, Jan. 1888-Dec. 1893 (excluding 1892)
Part XI: The Christian Recorder, Jan. 1894-Dec. 1898

Non-U.S. Newspapers

Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876
Digitized Newspapers from the American Antiquarian Society
Caribbean Newspaper Digital Library, 19th century-
"a cooperative digital library for newspapers resources from the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. CNDL provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean newspapers, gazettes, and other research materials on newsprint currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections."

World Newspaper Archive
Searchable page image reproductions of pre-1923 newspapers, worldwide. Based largely upon the holdings of the Center for Research Libraries, these newspapers are released in regional collections, including Africa, Latin America and South Asia.
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive
Database of documents relating to slavery, including over 70 pro- and anti-slavery news publications from America, England, Spain and France.

SALDRU Clippings Collection
7,000-plus newspaper clippings sampled from the original million-plus item archive clipped from many of South Africa's English-language newspapers by the Southern Africa Labour & Development Research Unit, School of Economics, University of Cape Town. See also the SALDRU Clippings Collection folder structure

Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports 1941 - 1996
Coverage of newspapers and broadcast media from Africa, Asia, China, Europe, Latin America, and the Middle/Near East. All material is translated into English.

World News Connection, 1996-
Continues, with reduced coverage, FBIS.

Available on Microfilm

A large collection of Africana-related newspapers on microfilm are available from CRL through ILL for very extended loan periods.

African American Newspapers
Includes:
--Atlanta Daily World
--Cleveland Call and Post
--Norfolk Journal and Guide
--Philadelphia Afro-American
--More
CAMP (Cooperative African Materials Project)
Search by country.
Note that items that are indicated to be in the World Newspaper Archive are available through our subscription, listed above.
LAMP
Latin American Materials Project. Follow the same directions as for CAMP.

Guide to all newspaper collections.

All newspapers are of potential relevance to Africana Studies. This guide lists only collections that are of particular relevance. To find Penn's collections of historical and contemporary newspapers of all sort, look at the guides listed here.