Guides: ENGL 059: Modernism's Global Legacies: Overview

Questions to Ask Yourself

When searching a database, ask yourself:

Which publications am I searching?

What time period is available? Can it be narrowed down to my timeframe?

What kinds of material are available, and will they help me in my project? Newspaper articles? Editorials? Advertisements? Fiction? Primary records?

When I enter keywords, what is actually being searched? The full text of material? Article titles and metadata only? Indexes?

Image courtesy of WordPress user rosariomario.

Secondary Criticism Databases

MLA International Bibliography

International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance
Indexed, cross-referenced and annotated databank of over 60,000 journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries.

ERIC (Education Information Resource Center) - EBSCO
Indexes education-related journal articles and other publications. Cross-file search with PDC & other EBSCO databases.
JSTOR
JSTOR specializes in making available the back issues of journals in a wide variety of humanities and social science disciplines. Issues are available both as images and as text, making searching possible both within each title and across the whole database.

Penn's subscription currently includes all the available collections:
- the Arts & Sciences Collection I, II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, VIII and the Complement
- the Business II & III Collection
- the Biological Sciences Collection
- the Health & General Science Collection
- the Language and Literature Collection
- the Music Collection
- the 19th Century British Pamphlets
Access to journals from JSTOR is restricted to current Penn faculty, staff and students.

Printing from the JSTOR database requires downloading a helper application called JPrint.
Google Scholar
Access to Google Scholar with Penn-only links to full-text articles. Once authenticated through Penn's proxy, full-text articles to which Penn Libraries subscribe will become available within the Google Scholar search results.

20th Century Newspaper Resources - U.S.

Nexis Uni
Indexes new, business, and legal resources.

NewsBank
Searchable fulltext of international and U.S. national, regional, and local newspapers. Coverage for current issues (i.e., yesterday in most cases) from 1970 or later to present, depending on the publication.

Proquest Historical Newspapers
To limit to New York papers, go to the Databases link at the very top, and select only newspapers relevant to NYC.

20th Century U.S. Newspapers Guide
More suggestions for 20th century U.S. Newspapers.

20th Century Newspapers - International

International newspapers can be difficult to access, especially in translation. Some may be digitized and online through these databases; others may be available only on microfilm. For the latter, indexes can help you to see what dates / issues may be relevant before approaching the microfilm itself.

To identify periodicals from a particular place, try a Subject search in Franklin with the word "periodicals" and the name of the country or city. So, for Chinese periodicals, search for "periodicals China," or for Beijing newspapers, "periodicals Beijing."

Nexis Uni
Indexes new, business, and legal resources.

NewsBank
Searchable fulltext of international and U.S. national, regional, and local newspapers. Coverage for current issues (i.e., yesterday in most cases) from 1970 or later to present, depending on the publication.

Index to South African Periodicals
Indexing for selected articles published in more than 680 South African periodicals. 1942-present.

International Historical Newspapers Guide
Guide with links to online historical newspapers, news in translation, and instructions on requesting newspapers through ILL.

Searching Penn Libraries' Special Collections

Rare books, manuscripts, periodicals, and other resources can be found in print in our Special Collections center. To use any of these materials, please head to the Reading Room on the 6th floor of the Van Pelt Library.

Use Franklin, the Library Catalog, to search for rare materials. Pro Tip: Use the Advanced Search to limit by date.

Subject Guide

Mayelin Perez

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Van Pelt Library, 215

215-746-2735

Subjects: Comparative Literature & Literary Theory, English

ENGL 059: Modernism's Global Legacies: Overview