Skip to main content

ENGL 059: Modernism's Global Legacies: Overview

Questions to Ask Yourself

Godot image

When searching a database, ask yourself:

  • Which publications am I searching?

  • What time period is available? Can it be narrowed down to my timeframe?

  • What kinds of material are available, and will they help me in my project? Newspaper articles? Editorials? Advertisements? Fiction? Primary records?

  • When I enter keywords, what is actually being searched? The full text of material? Article titles and metadata only? Indexes?

Image courtesy of WordPress user rosariomario.

Secondary Criticism Databases

20th Century Newspaper Resources - U.S.

20th Century Newspapers - International

International newspapers can be difficult to access, especially in translation. Some may be digitized and online through these databases; others may be available only on microfilm. For the latter, indexes can help you to see what dates / issues may be relevant before approaching the microfilm itself. 

To identify periodicals from a particular place, try a Subject search in Franklin with the word "periodicals" and the name of the country or city. So, for Chinese periodicals, search for "periodicals China," or for Beijing newspapers, "periodicals Beijing." 

Searching Penn Libraries' Special Collections

Rare books, manuscripts, periodicals, and other resources can be found in print in our Special Collections center. To use any of these materials, please head to the Reading Room on the 6th floor of the Van Pelt Library.

Use Franklin, the Library Catalog, to search for rare materials. Pro Tip: Use the Advanced Search to limit by date.

Subject Guide

Chat