Guides: SWRK 785: Criminal Justice Policies: Overview

Producing Your Video

Safari Tech Books
Database of e-book and tech manuals, including iMovie and Final Cut Pro guides: Safari Tech Books

Lynda.com
A video tutorial service with training for iMovie, Final Cut Pro, and a tutorial "Getting Started with Video Production."

About Lynda.com

Reference Works

Oxford Bibliographies - Criminology

Oxford Bibliographies - Social Work

Encyclopedia of Social Work

Encyclopedia of Interpersonal Violence (2008)
Jeffrey L. Edleson (Editor); Claire M. Renzetti (Editor)

SAGE Handbook of Criminological Theory (2010)
Eugene McLaughlin (Editor); Tim Newburn (Editor)

Corrections (2011)
William J. Chambliss

General Databases

Google Scholar
EBSCO MegaFILE
Scopus
JSTOR
Tip: under Advanced Search, scroll down, check box for "Social Work" journals

Subject Databases

Unlike general databases, these databases focus on a particular subject area. They have subject terms (listed in the thesaurus or index) that are tailored to that subject.

NCJRS
The National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Database includes abstracts of over 140,000 research reports, journal articles, and government documents relating to crime, law enforcement, and the justice system.

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text
Abstracts of the scholarly literature and applied literature on criminology and related disciplines. Reflects materials received at the Criminal Justice/National Council on Crime and Delinquency Library, Rutgers University Library, Newark, New Jersey.
Sociological Abstracts
From across the field of sociology, useful subject terms include "crime rates," "recidivism," "victim offender relations," and "family violence."
HeinOnline
Legal research database containing fulltext documents (PDF) organized into collections including: Legal Classics, Law Journal Library, U.S. Supreme Court Library, U.S. Federal Legislative History Library, Treaties and Agreements Library, Subject Compilations of State Laws, and the United Nations Law Collection.
APA PsycInfo
The American Psychological Association's comprehensive indexing and abstracting service for the professional and scholarly literature in psychology and related fields.
Social Services Abstracts
Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW). Covers social work topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, theory and practice, and social problems.
Race Relations Abstracts
Research database focused on race relations, including discrimination and immigration studies.

Other Research Guides

Social Sciences Librarian

Sam Kirk

they/them

Email Me

Contact:

Van Pelt Library
Room 211

Subjects: Psychology, Social Policy & Practice

News Articles

Nexis Uni (NYT & much more)
National and international news, including the NY Times, magazines, broadcast transcripts, and wire services.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Minority newspapers and magazines, including the Phila. Tribune, New York Amsterdam News, Chicago Defender, and the LA Sentinel.

Factiva
Newspapers, magazines, media transcripts, and wire services, with more international sources than LexisNexis.

Policy Papers & Grey Literature

PolicyFile
Abstracts and links to U.S. and international public policy research literature. Working papers, white papers, research reports.

Public Policy Think Tanks links

Look up a journal citation

Already have a Citation?

Use Penn PennText

Text Article Finder