Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Unlike general databases, these databases focus on a particular subject area. They have subject terms (listed in the thesaurus or index) that are tailored to that subject.
The National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Database includes abstracts of over 140,000 research reports, journal articles, and government documents relating to crime, law enforcement, and the justice system.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text
Abstracts of the scholarly literature and applied literature on criminology and related disciplines. Reflects materials received at the Criminal Justice/National Council on Crime and Delinquency Library, Rutgers University Library, Newark, New Jersey.
Legal research database containing fulltext documents (PDF) organized into collections including: Legal Classics, Law Journal Library, U.S. Supreme Court Library, U.S. Federal Legislative History Library, Treaties and Agreements Library, Subject Compilations of State Laws, and the United Nations Law Collection.
The American Psychological Association's comprehensive indexing and abstracting service for the professional and scholarly literature in psychology and related fields.
Social Services Abstracts
Produced by the National Association of Social Workers (NASW). Covers social work topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, theory and practice, and social problems.
Race Relations Abstracts
Research database focused on race relations, including discrimination and immigration studies.
Subjects: African Studies
, Aging Studies
, Data & GIS
, Food Studies
, Health & Societies
, International Relations
, Philadelphia Studies
, Political Science
, Population Studies & Demography
, Public Policy & Administration
, Social Sciences
, Urban Studies
Nexis Uni (NYT & much more)
National and international news, including the NY Times, magazines, broadcast transcripts, and wire services.
Minority newspapers and magazines, including the Phila. Tribune, New York Amsterdam News, Chicago Defender, and the LA Sentinel.
Newspapers, magazines, media transcripts, and wire services, with more international sources than LexisNexis.
Policy Papers & Grey Literature
Abstracts and links to U.S. and international public policy research literature. Working papers, white papers, research reports.
Look up a journal citation