It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases on this page are divided into two groups, Communication/ Social and General Sciences, and Specific Science Areas. Keep in mind, however, there is plenty of science in the first group which includes Scopus and Web of Science. Also,in databases grouped under Specific Science Areas you will find treatments of communication issues specific to those fields. For a topic like how climate change is communicated you will find literature in, say, Communication Source from the perspective of communication and media scholars but you may also want to pursue this topic from within particular scientific fields. You would likely check into Environmental Abstracts, GreenFILE, and others. Always consider adjusting your search strategies depending on where you are searching. A term like "communication" or "media" won't be as powerful on the "comm" side of things as it will be in Agricola where less science-based concepts are rarer. Then again, a word like "media" is all over the place as you move between disciplines so prepare to do some sorting of returns!
General, multidisciplinary periodical database, covering all scholarly disciplines, with many general and popular magazines, and news sources. Includes bibliographic citations with indexing and abstracts for more than 16,000 periodicals.
International bibliography on the history of science and technology from pre-history to the present, describing journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, and medicine and allied historical fields.
Bibliographic citations and subject indexing for the international journal article and book literature in anthropology, economics, political science, and sociology. Produced by British Library of Political and Economic Science, London School of Economics and Political Science, with the support and assistance of International Committee for Social Science Information and Documentation and UNESCO.
Bibliographic citations (1915-) with indexing on contemporary public affairs and policy issues worldwide related to a wide range of topics: agriculture, banking, finance, business, demographics, education, health, environment, planning, public administration, law and legislation, and international relations.
The American Psychological Association's comprehensive indexing and abstracting service for the professional and scholarly literature in psychology and related fields. Coverage is worldwide. Sources are in English and over thirty languages.
Indexes most peer reviewed journals in science, technology, and medicine, and many in the social sciences, arts, and humanities. Scopus also includes a number of trade publications and conference papers, and can perform author and affiliation searching.
The Food and Agriculture Organization's bibliographic database for worldwide research publications in agriculture in all its aspects, including geography, history, education, legislation, and agricultural economics.
The Food and Agriculture Organization's bibliographic database for worldwide research publications in agriculture in all its aspects, including geography, history, education, legislation, and agricultural economics. Related subjects are also covered: rural sociology and development, plant science, plant protection, postharvest technology, animal science and animal production and protection, fisheries and aquaculture, agricultural machinery and engineering, natural resources and environment, pollution, human nutrition, and agricultural products processing,
"The Chemical Education Digital Library (ChemEd DL) is the destination for digital content intended for chemical science education" (http://www.chemeddl.org/about/index.html, Feb. 2008). Many of the links go to content from the Journal of Chemical Education, as well as freely-available online content and online communities focused on science education.
CiteSeer is a scientific literature digital library that aims to improve the dissemination and feedback of scientific literature, and to provide improvements in functionality, usability, availability, cost, comprehensiveness, efficiency, and timeliness. Rather than creating just another digital library, CiteSeer provides algorithms, techniques, and software that can be used in other digital libraries. CiteSeer indexes Postscript and PDF research articles on the Web. Now hosted by Penn State University, the site was formerly hosted by the NEC Research Institute.
Earthtrends is a comprehensive online database that focuses on the environmental, social and economic trends that shape the worls. The site presents information from world renowned data sources such as the World Bank and the United Nations Environment Program
Science.gov is a gateway to authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. Government agencies, including research and development results. Two major types of information are included - selected authoritative science Web sites and databases of technical reports, journal articles, conference proceedings, and other published materials.
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done at each level to minimize these effects. Multidisciplinary by nature, GreenFILE draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Topics covered include global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 880,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 13,000 records.