LGBTQ resources in the Penn Libraries: Home

Massive collection of sources generated by the community. Includes newspapers, magazines, ephemera,oral histories. International in scope.The archive illuminates the experiences not just of the LGBTQ community as a whole, but of individuals of different races, ethnicities, ages, religions, political orientations, and geographical locations that constitute this community. Historical records of political and social organizations founded by LGBTQ individuals are featured, as well as publications by and for lesbians and gays, and extensive coverage of governmental responses to the AIDS crisis. The archive also contains personal correspondence and interviews with numerous LGBTQ individuals, among others. The archive includes gay and lesbian newspapers from more than 35 countries, reports, policy statements, and other documents related to gay rights and health, including the worldwide impact of AIDS, materials tracing LGBTQ activism in Britain from 1950 through 1980, and more. In addition, the archive encompasses extensive material related to feminism, women's rights, and women's concerns. Documents span from 1940 to 2014, with the bulk from 1950 to 1990.

GenderWatch, formerly titled Women 'R', contains 40,000 articles from more than 100 journals, magazines, newsletters, special reports, unpublished papers and conference proceedings devoted to gender and women's issues. The database contains a large body of archival material, in some cases, as far back as 1970. Also useful for current material.

Searches Gale Primary Resources subscribed to by Penn which covers a wide variety of academic fields. Artemis provides an interface to cross search a growing number of primary resource databases. Searching for term frequency, and term clustering, visualizations, as well as enhanced metadata and character recognition are all features of this search interface.

"The purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world. Based in Worcester, Massachusetts at the College of the Holy Cross, the DTA is an international collaboration among more than twenty colleges, universities, nonprofit organizations, and private collections. By digitally localizing a wide range of trans-related materials, the DTA expands access to trans history for academics and independent researchers alike in order to foster education and dialog concerning trans history."-- overview

This is a list of very useful websites for doing historical research on LBGTQ+ topics

Online
Roughly 400 entries. Multidisciplinary but the focus is social sciences. The work focuses on LGBTQ issues and identity primarily through the lenses of psychology, human development and sociology, emphasizing queer, feminist and ecological perspectives on the topic.

Online dictionary. Most entries are a paragraph of two long. There is extensive bibliography that serves as an introductory reading list for LGBTQ Studies.

Van Pelt Library
Call no.: HQ76.3.U5 D47 2017
"LGBTQ Stats chronicles the ongoing LGBTQ revolution, providing the critical statistics, and draws upon and synthesizes newly collected data. Deschamps and Singer provide chapters on family and marriage, workplace discrimination, education, youth, criminal justice, and immigration, as well as evolving policies and laws affecting LGBTQ communities. A chapter on LGBTQ life around the globe contrasts the dramatic progress for LGBTQ people in the United States with violent backlash in countries such as Russia, Iran, and Nigeria, which have discriminatory laws that make same-sex activity punishable by prison or death"--Publisher.

Van Pelt Reference - Stacks
Call no.: HQ76.3.U5 E53 2004
includes more than 500 entry subjects. A wide spectrum of subject areas is covered: people; politics; culture and the arts; academic disciplines and fields; identities, communities, and cultures; geographical locations; law and public policy; economics and labor; sex, sexuality, intimacy, and relationships; religion and spirituality; language, symbols, signs, and concepts; social life, issues, and institutions; and social, cultural, and political processes. Entries run from 1-8 pages.

Online.
"Queers in History is the first comprehensive biographical compendium of important historical and contemporary figures who were/are gay, lesbian, bisexual or transgender. From Egyptian pharaohs, Catholic popes and Abraham Lincoln to Bishop Gene Robinson, Neil Patrick Harris and Angelina Jolie, Queers in History brings these figures, from their work to their sexuality, to life." "The hundreds of people whose stories appear in this book are some of the most intriguing personalities of their times: actors and actresses, writers and musicians, businessmen and politicians, scientists and soldiers. But this encyclopedia, intended for gays and straights alike, doesn't just report those details that get left out of the standard biographies; it reveals a fascinating picture of queer society and culture throughout recorded history, from the homosexual traditions practiced by samurai in Japan to the modern struggles for equal rights in America."--BOOK JACKET.

LIBRA
Call no.: HQ76 .G724 2010
Primarily aimed at lower-division undergraduates over 70 countries are covered. Three volumes

Philadelphia's most extensive collection of personal papers, organizations records, periodicals, material culture, audiovisual material, and ephemera documenting the rich history of our LGBT community. It really is incredible. For more info about the archives or to schedule a visit, please email archives@waygay.org.

Includes materials up to 2013. The records of the Lesbian Gay Bisexual Transgender Center at the University of Pennsylvania were transferred to the University Archives in 2002 (accession number 2002: 52) and 2014 (accession number 2014: 20). Some materials from the Lesbian Gay Bisexual Alliance (LGBA) were transferred from Van Pelt Library in 1998 (accession number 1998: 47) and added to this collection. Also do subject searching in the University Archives under Homosexuality, etc. Other related collections are described in the Historical Society of Pennsylvania Collection Survey.

A terrific survey of area archival sources across many institutions.

A really cool diary by a gay man about his experiences in Paris, 1965. Held in Penn's Rare Book and Manuscript Library

Van Pelt Library
Call no.: PS374.Y57 W43 2010

Van Pelt Library
Call no.: PS153.G38 B67 2008

Van Pelt Library
Call no.: PS374.H63 S65 2003

Call no.: PR830.G34 G86 2014 LIBRA

"Arranged chronologically from the appearance of the first gay protagonist to works from the onset of the AIDS epidemic, in-depth entries discuss each book's publication history, plot and significance, along with a brief biography of its author. Including iconic works, this volume enlarges our understanding of the development of gay fiction and provides an essential reading list"-

LIBRA
Call no.: PS153.G38 G86 2016

"Examining the development of gay American fiction and providing an essential reading list, this literary survey covers 257 works--novels, novellas, a graphic story cycle and a narrative poem--in which gay and bisexual male characters play a major role. Iconic works are included along with titles not given attention by earlier surveys"