Skip to main content

Witchcraft in Europe and America - Microform Collection: Home

Holdings

Witchcraft in Europe and America

1983. Witchcraft in Europe and America[microform]. Woodbridge, CT : Research Publications.


DESCRIPTION

104 microfilm reels; 35 mm.


LOCATION

Van Pelt Microtext: Microfilm 3512


COVERAGE

A comprehensive microfilm collection offering a wide range of writings on the subject of witchcraft. Included are many rare and fragile manuscripts containing eyewitness accounts of the torture, trial, and execution of the suspected. The collection spans the 15th to 20th centuries, enabling researchers to trace the history and culture of European civilization during the Renaissance and Enlightenment.

Comprised of 1,045 titles, the collection draws on a plethora of sources. Specific titles have been selected for inclusion by Dr. Edward Peters, Henry Charles Lea Associate of Medieval History and Curator of the Henry Charles Lea Library. The renowned Witchcraft Collection at Cornell University's Olin Library forms the nucleus of the collection. The collection has been further enriched with unique material from the Yale University Libraries, Harvard University Library, the Harry Price Library of Magical Literature at the University of London, the Lea Library at the University of Pennsylvania, and the Essex Institute in Salem, Massachusetts.


ARRANGEMENT

The items on film are arranged alphabetically by main entry, and each item is preceded by a location number. The preliminary frames of each reel state the span of item location numbers contained on that reel.


FINDING AIDS

Del Cervo, Diane M. (ed.) 1983. Witchcraft in Europe and America : guide to the microfilm collection.. Woodbridge, CT : Research Publications.
[Van Pelt Microtext: BF1563 .W58 1983]
Main-entry Index arranged alphabetically by author (or title as appropriate), as arranged in microfilm collection, with reels and item location identified. A separate Title Listing is also available.

Many individual titles are also found in either Franklin or the Main Card Catalog.


RELATED MATERIALS

Henry Charles Lea Library
The Henry Charles Lea Library collects primary materials for the study of the late medieval and early modern period. The Library focuses on the history of religion with a special interest in the institutional, legal, and ecclesiastical bases of Church organization and governance during these periods and, most especially, the Inquisition in Europe generally, Spain particularly, and Spanish America. Witchcraft and magic are also subjects that the Lea Library collects extensively.

Cornell University. Libraries. 1977. Witchcraft : catalogue of the Witchcraft Collection in the Cornell University Library. Millwood, N.Y. : KTO Press.
[Van Pelt Library Special Collections Lea Collection: Folio BF1566 .C67 1977]

Witchcraft Collection (Cornell University)
Cornell's Witchcraft Collection contains over 3,000 titles documenting the history of the Inquisition and the persecution of witchcraft.
Location: http://hdl.library.upenn.edu/1017/13191

Lea, Henry Charles, 1825-1909, compiler. Materials toward a history of witchcraft, collected by Henry Charles Lea, arranged and edited by Arthur C. Howland, with an introduction by George Lincoln Burr. Philadelphia, University of Pennsylvania Press, 1939.
[Van Pelt Library, Special Collections Reference: BF1566 .L4]

Librarian & Coordinator of Social Sciences Collections

Lauris Olson's picture
Lauris Olson
Contact:
University of Pennsylvania Libraries
203 Van Pelt-Dietrich Library Center
University of Pennsylvania
3420 Walnut Street
Philadelphia, PA 19104-6206
U.S.A.
215-898-0119
Website