ADAT Resources: Prosthodontics

Find practical step-by-step guidelines to hundreds of fixed prosthodontics procedures! Contemporary Fixed Prosthodontics, 5th Edition provides a strong foundation in basic science along with clear descriptions of clinical applications. Using more than 3,000 high-quality drawings and photographs, this reference covers everything from tooth preparation to prostheses and restorations to follow-up care. New to this edition is a chapter on periodontal considerations plus new sections on topics such as cone beam imaging and virtual articulators. From respected prosthodontics educators and clinicians Stephen Rosenstiel, Martin Land, and Junhei Fujimoto, Contemporary Fixed Prosthodontics includes separate sections covering planning and preparation, clinical procedures, and laboratory procedures, making it easier to look up the information you need. Illustrated, full-color step-by-step procedures walk you through all the steps of treatment from the beginning to the final treatment result. Summary charts provide a quick, at-glance review of specific procedures (such as Class II inlay preparation and all-ceramic crown preparation), highlighting the indications, contraindications, advantages, disadvantages, preparation steps, recommended armamentarium, and criteria. Prosthodontic Diagnostic Index helps you determine the appropriate treatments for completely edentulous, partially edentulous, and dentate patients, using guidelines and illustrations from the American College of Prosthodontists. Text boxes accompany selected illustrations, presenting quick facts and tips relating to techniques or concepts. Study questions offer an opportunity to test your knowledge and comprehension at the end of each chapter. Useful appendices list dental materials, equipment, and manufacturers. NEW full-color photos and drawings enhance your understanding and comprehension of each topic, and show the newest instruments and equipment. NEW Periodontal Considerations chapter offers a new approach to comprehensive fixed prosthodontics treatment, covering the concepts and clinical modes of periodontal therapy available prior to the development of an appropriate diagnosis and treatment plan. NEW section on digital impression techniques describes how to create a virtual, computer-generated replica of the hard and soft tissues in the mouth using lasers and other optical scanning devices. NEW section on virtual articulators addresses the new software tool providing dynamic visualization of the occlusal surface, eliminating the need for a mechanical articulator, with modules discussing the contact of the occlusal surface of the maxilla and mandible and the relation to the condylar movement. NEW section on cone beam imaging allows clear visualization of osseous contours and bone volume, facilitating better decisions about the size of implant fixtures that realistically can be accommodated. NEW section on digital interim fixed restorations covers the fabrication of large multi-unit composite or polymethyl methacrylate external surface forms in advance for use with indirect/direct restorative techniques.

Turn to this new third edition for consistent outcomes on even your most complex implant cases! World-renowned dental implantologist Carl E. Misch gives you expert advice and guidance on the various surgical approaches to placing implants in the revision of his best-selling classic. Over 1,000 full-color illustrations depict details of implants, related materials, and surgical procedures, while well-known contributors (Mohamed Sharawy, Martha Warren Bidez, Adriano Piatelli, and others) share a wealth of knowledge in their respective fields. This third edition provides an excellent opportunity for you to develop and refine your skills and experience more consistent, predictable clinical outcomes. Thorough explanations of the rationale for implants and their specific characteristics discuss why different options work better for different patients; the rationale behind implant materials and sizes; and the overall science of osteointegrated implants - providing a full understanding of how implants behave under certain circumstances and how to make the best choices for implant patients. Chapter on Diagnostic Imaging and Techniques focuses on the latest technology available to determine patient conditions, familiarizing you with recent advances and how they apply to treatment planning principles. Section on Treatment Planning discusses the rationales for implant placement, variables in implants and patient conditions, and the four degrees of jaw bone density, Dr. Misch's best-known criterion for successful implant placement. Prepares you for actual treatment by reviewing scientific fundamentals such as applied anatomy, biomechanical principles, current biomaterials, prevention and management of dental infections, and pharmacologic considerations. Surgical procedure chapters are of benefit to the implant surgeon and are critical to the restoring dentist who wants to better understand and appreciate surgical concepts. Over 1,000 full-color illustrations depict details of implants, related materials, and surgical procedures. Brand-new coverage includes: Key Implant Positions and Number, Ideal Implant Surgery, Extraction Socket and Barrie Membrane Bone Grafts, Sinus Pathology and Complications of Sinus Grafts, Immediate Loading for a Single Tooth, Partially Edentulous and Completely Edentulous Patient. Important updates include indications and contraindications for rationale of biomechanical treatment plans, layered approach to bone grafting, autograft block bone grafting, soft tissue surgery, and implant esthetics and maintenance. A new chapter on Tissue Engineering uses current information on platelet-rich plasma membranes and other elements of tissue engineering so you can take advantage of appropriate materials. Emphasis on evidence-based implant outcomes provides valuable information on which procedures have the greatest likelihood of success and lowest risk of complications.

Master the use of dental materials with this all-in-one guide to restorative materials and procedures! Craig's Restorative Dental Materials, 14th Edition covers everything you need to know to understand the science of selecting dental materials when designing and fabricating restorations. It begins with fundamentals and moves on to advanced skills in the manipulation of dental materials, providing insight on the latest advances and research along the way. From an expert author team led by Ronald Sakaguchi, this comprehensive resource is considered to be the standard in the field of dental restorations. Clear, design-focused approach provides an essential understanding of the fast-changing field of restorative dental materials. Comprehensive coverage ranges from fundamental concepts to advanced skills, detailing everything you need to know to select dental materials when designing and fabricating restorations. More than 300 full-color illustrations show clinical detail with clarity and realism. Logical organization arranges chapters by major clinical procedures. Practical examples show the fundamental properties and characteristics of materials and demonstrate how basic principles relate to clinical applications. New co-editor Jack L. Ferracane is recognized worldwide as an authority in dental materials science and restorative dentistry. NEW! Cutting-edge content describes the newest materials and the latest advances and research in dental biomaterials science. NEW! More clinical photos help you apply concepts to clinical practice.

Dental implants have become one of the most popular and rapidly growing techniques for replacing missing teeth. While their predictability, functionality, and durability make them an attractive option for patients and clinicians alike, complications can arise at any stage from patient assessment to maintenance therapy. Dental Implant Complications: Etiology, Prevention, and Treatment, Second Edition, updates and expands the hallmark first edition, which was the first comprehensive reference designed to provide clinicians of all skill levels with practical instruction grounded in evidence-based research. Featuring cases from a variety of dental specialties, the book covers the most commonly occurring implant complications as well as the unique. Dental Implant Complications: Etiology, Prevention, and Treatment, Second Edition, is organized sequentially, guiding the reader through complications associated with the diagnosis, treatment planning, placement, restoration, and maintenance of implants at any stage. Complications associated with various bone augmentation and sinus lift procedures are also discussed in detail with emphasis on their etiology and prevention. Each chapter utilizes a highly illustrated and user-friendly format to showcase key pedagogical features, including a list of "take home tips" summarizing the fundamental points of each chapter. New chapters include discussions of complications from drug prescribing, implant naturalization, cemented restorations, loose implant restoration syndrome, and craniofacial growth. Readers will also find more case presentations to see how complications have been managed in real-world situations. Dental Implant Complications: Etiology, Prevention, and Treatment, Second Edition, brings together contributions from leading experts in the field under the superior editorship of Dr. Stuart Froum. With its pragmatic approach to preventing and managing implant complications, this expertly crafted text continues to serve as an indispensable clinical reference and guide for all dentists placing or restoring implants.

This new book focuses on dental implants used in conjunction with other prosthetic devices in the general dentist's office, designed to help the partially or completely edentulous patient recover normal function, esthetics, comfort, and speech. Step-by-step procedures guide practitioners through challenging clinical situations and assist them in refining their technique. The information in this practical, highly illustrated book reflects the latest in continued research, diagnostic tools, treatment planning, implant designs, materials, and techniques. Prosthetic devices covered in this include complete dentures, bridges, overdentures, and various dental implant systems. Treatment supported by clinical evidence equips students with a more targeted evidence-based approach to patient procedures. NEW! Emphasis on treatment planning helps decrease the number of visits while providing effective, long-term results for the patient. NEW! Focus on the patient presentation offers the latest treatment options for bone harvesting, restoration and recovery. NEW! Original illustrations and photos highlight and clarify key clinical concepts and techniques.

For coverage of cutting-edge techniques and procedures, Dental Implants: The Art and Science is your "go to" reference! This edition includes 20 new chapters and coverage of the latest advances and research from leading dental implant experts. Topics range from the business of dental implants and risk management to new treatment techniques such as Teeth In A Day® and Teeth In An HourT, the All-on-4 concept, Piezoelectric bone surgery, the new NobelActiveTM implant, the use of dental implants in children, and more. Over 1,100 full-color clinical photographs and illustrations bring concepts to life and provide step-by-step visuals for surgical and prosthetic techniques. If you''re looking for a comprehensive, up-to-date resource you can trust, Dental Implants is the book you need! Over 1,100 full-color clinical photographs and line drawings help to clarify important concepts and provide step-by-step guidance for specific techniques. All aspects of both business and patient care are covered, including risk management, patient selection and master planning, radiographic evaluation, surgical techniques, postoperative care, maintenance, and dental hygiene. Highly-regarded lead author Charles A. Babbush, DDS, MScD, is one of the leading dental implant surgeons in the world and a highly regarded educator, speaker, and author. Expert contributors from all over the world describe the latest advances in implantology and represent the forefront of research. Coverage of the newest techniques includes CT/CBCT and interactive virtual treatment planning, Teeth In A Day and Teeth In An Hour, the use of implants in children, the new NobelActiveTM implant from NobelBiocare, Piezoelectric bone surgery, and the All-on-4 concept. Twenty chapters are new to this edition, reflecting the rapidly changing field of dental implants. New! The Future Need and Demand for Dental Implants chapter includes a general description of tooth loss plus the field''s growth and trends. New! The Business of Implant Dentistry chapter looks at how implant dentistry has evolved from a small part of a few clinical practices into a global business with thousands of clinicians placing and restoring implants manufactured by more than 100 companies, including coverage of cost and overhead plus insurance coverage. New! Essential Systems for Team Training in the Dental Implant Practice chapter looks at how to train the entire dental team in the procedures required to successfully complete implant cases, including the four pre-surgical phases (diagnostic work up, laboratory procedures, treatment planning conference, and case presentation). New! Dental Implant Therapy for Medically Compromised Patients chapter focuses on systemic factors that have an impact on the indications, contraindications, and success rates of endosseous implants. New! The Use of CT/CBCT and Interactive Virtual Treatment Planning and the Triangle of Bone chapter introduces treatment planning methodologies which will define new paradigms which can be universally applied to a variety of clinical presentations for partially and fully edentate patients. New! Peri-Implant Soft Tissues chapter looks at the healing of the connective tissue after installation of the transmucosal implant component, as well as other issues. New! Contemporary Sinus-Lift Subantral Surgery and Grafting Procedures chapter discusses the sinus lift subantral augmentation treatment, including biologic and anatomic considerations, vascular supply, elevation of the schneiderian membrane, and more. New! Graftless Solutions for Atrophic Maxilla chapter addresses pre-treatment planning, systematic evaluation of the edentulous maxillae, and factors for successful treatment. New! Complex Implant Restorative Therapy chapter promotes successful restorative outcomes with guidelines for evaluation of the patient plus dental evaluation, case planning, treatment presentation, provisional restorations, soft tissue esthetics, and eight different treatment scenarios. New! Intraoral Bone Grafts for Dental Implants chapter addresses bone biology, pre-op evaluation and planning of the bone graft surgery, patient preparation, the bone graft donor site, the graft recipient site, and implant placement in onlay grafts. New! The Use of Computerized Treatment Planning and a Customized Surgical Template to Achieve Optimal Implant Placement chapter introduces the guided implant surgery concept combining presurgical planning and computerized surgical-guide fabrication with presurgical fabrication of a provisional or final prosthesis that can be delivered at the time of surgery. New! Teeth In A Day and Teeth In An Hour chapter describes implant protocols for immediate function and esthetics. New! Extraction Immediate Implant Reconstruction chapter presents clinical guidelines for placing implants immediately following extraction, from single tooth to full mouth, and illustrates this concept with nine cases. New! Management of Patients with Facial Disfigurement chapter includes patient rehabilitation, treatment planning, patient presentation, and case studies. New! Piezosurgery chapter focuses on Piezoelectric bone surgery, a new osteotomy and osteoplastic technique using micro-vibrations to overcome the precision and safety limitations of traditional instruments. New! A New Concept of Tapered Dental Implants chapter takes an in-depth look at the NobelActiveTM implant. New! The All-On-4 Concept chapter discusses the advantages of the All-on-4 concept that is based on the optimal number of four implants for supporting an edentulous jaw with a complete arch prosthesis. New! Laboratory Procedures as they Pertain to Implant Reconstruction chapter deals with the procedures for a partially edentulous to a fully edentulous restoration. New! Complications and Failures: Treatment and/or Prevention chapter includes a categorization of the etiological factors of complications and/or failure: 1) the implant system, 2) the patient, and 3) the doctor.

Rev. ed of: Diagnosis and treatment in prosthodontics / William R. Laney, Joseph A. Gibilisco. 1983.

Advances in technology and biomaterials have dramatically expanded the possibilities for esthetic optimization in restorative dentistry. Too often, however, such treatment focuses exclusively on the dental area and fails to consider the overall facial composition. This easy-to-read text provides the clinician with a systematic approach to facial evaluation during esthetic treatment planning. Separate chapters guide the reader to an understanding of the esthetic parameters involved in facial, dentolabial, phonetic, dental, and gingival analysis. Each chapter presents prosthetic considerations and applications that allow the clinician to formulate an optimal treatment plan based on the individual clinical situation of the patient. Also provided is an esthetic checklist that allows the clinician to apply the principles described in the text to everyday practice. Amply illustrated, this text is an invaluable tool for all clinicians practicing esthetic and restorative dentistry.

This book uses an interdisciplinary approach to explain the origin of and possible solutions to many different occlusal problems. Dr. Peter E. Dawson guides the reader along the way providing balanced explanations of theory and technique. He also debunks many popular misconceptions through practical discussion of their origins and the deficiencies of the arguments behind them. Different sides of many philosophies are presented while guiding the reader to the most functional and esthetic solution to various occlusal situations. Hundreds of full-color photographs, illustrations, and diagrams show aspects of the masticatory system, the epidemiology of occlusal problems, and procedures for finding the ideal occlusion. Whether the reader is a general dentist or a specialist, they will find this book applicable to their treatment methods and philosophies. OUTSTANDING FEATURES Special atlas sections break down complex information accompanied by descriptive diagrams and photographs to further explain sources of occlusal disorders and related pain. Hundreds of full-color photographs and illustrations show problems and procedures. Procedure boxes offer step-by-step explanations of specific procedures. Important Considerations boxes in the Treatment chapters outline treatment plans and describe what is to be accomplished. Programmed treatment planning, a specific process that guides a clinician through every step for solving even the most complex restorative or esthetic challenge. The role of TMJs and occlusion in "everyday" dentistry. The role of occlusion in orofacial pain and TMD, and in anterior esthetics. Simplified occlusal equilibration and how to explain this process to patients. The functional matrix concept for exceptional, foolproof smile design. The five options for occlusal correction and how to apply them to practice. Use and abuse of occlusal sprints. Coordinating occlusal treatment with specialists for a fully interdisciplinary approach. Specific criteria for success and how to test for each.

This edition has been updated to reflect new research, materials, and techniques in fixed prosthodontics. It is designed to serve as an introduction to restorative dentistry techniques using fixed partial dentures and cast metal, metal-ceramic, and all-ceramic restorations, providing the background knowledge needed by the novice and serving as a refresher for the practitioner or graduate student.

Fundamentals of Implant Dentistry is a basic guide to foundational knowledge and skills and their application in clinical practice. More comprehensive than a procedural atlas and more accessible than a specialist reference, this text is an indispensable tool for dental students and clinicians beginning work with dental implants. Fundamentals of Implant Dentistry provides a concise yet comprehensive look at the basic background and science of implantology and includes practical, evidence‐based instruction on common procedures such as single implant crowns, bridges and overdentures. Well‐illustrated with clear line drawings and clinical photos, the book serves as the perfect introduction to this exciting area of dentistry.

Covering both emerging and proven techniques in this dynamic area of oral health, Management of Temporomandibular Disorders and Occlusion, 8th Edition is the only textbook that guides you from basic anatomy and function to providing solutions to many common occlusal and TMD problems. Clear descriptions and a new full-color design promote a complete understanding of normal, abnormal, and dysfunctional occlusal relationships and masticatory function and dysfunction. A recognized industry-standard, this book's conservative, cost-effective approach, helps you learn how to achieve treatment goals while keeping the best interests of your patients in mind. Globally recognize TMD expert author Jeff Okeson details the most current and effective solutions around. Evidence-Based Practice focushelps you to put the information and techniques in this book into practice to better the lives and relieve the suffering of your patients. Logical organization of content includes functional anatomy, etiology and identification of disturbances, treatment of disturbances, and occlusal therapy. Full-color design provides more vivid clinical photos and illustrations. Robust Art Program allows you to fully understand normal occlusion and masticatory function and learn to recognize and help manage abnormalities in these areas. Clinical Comment boxes give you critical thinking points and instructions on how to apply these to everyday clinical practice. NEW! Updated content includes enhanced research evidence. NEW! Clinical Photo Updates in Examination Chapter differentiate and strengthen images from the current edition. NEW! Addition of Expert Consult Site furthers your understanding of treatment goals and outcomes.

Fully updated with the latest information in the field, this comprehensive book provides a practical guide to diagnosing and managing temporomandibular disorders in the dental practice. Written in an accessible, user-friendly style, it offers a simplified approach to the basic concepts and management decision points for the most commonly observed temporomandibular conditions, integrating the latest advances and advice throughout. Quick Consult, Focal Point, and Technical Tip boxes provide quick access to relevant information, and study results are summarized in graphs for ease of comprehension.  Manual of Temporomandibular Disorders, Fourth Edition examines an array of medical and dental conditions that affect the temporomandibular joint (TMJ), masticatory muscles, and contiguous structures. It presents evidence-based, clinically practical information to help dentists diagnose TMD accurately, rule out disorders that mimic TMD, and provide effective therapy for most patients.  Special features include: Frequently Asked Questions Quick Consults, Technical Tips, and Focal Points Information on disorders that mimic TMD and factors that warrant referral Extensive color photographs and line drawings A companion website providing helpful examples and patient handouts Manual of Temporomandibular Disorders, Fourth Edition is a must-have how-to manual for general dentists, dental students, and residents involved in this area of practice.

The standard in prosthodontics for nearly 50 years, McCracken's Removable Partial Prosthodontics, 13th Edition walks readers through all the principles and concepts surrounding removable partial denture treatment planning and design that today’s practitioners need to know. Using an evidence-based approach, this full-color text incorporates the latest information on new techniques, procedures, and equipment, including expanded information on dynamic communication and the use of implants with removable partial dentures. From initial contact with the patient to post-treatment care, McCracken’s is the complete foundation today’s dentists need to successfully practice prosthodontic care.

Covering the functional and esthetic needs of edentulous patients, Prosthodontic Treatment for Edentulous Patients: Complete Dentures and Implant-Supported Prostheses, 13th Edition helps you provide complete dentures, with and without dental implant support. It addresses both the behavioral and clinical aspects of diagnosis and treatment and covers treatment modalities including osseointegration, overdentures, implant-supported fixed prosthesis, and the current and future directions of implant prosthodontics. New to this edition are full-color photographs and coverage of immediately loaded complete dental prostheses. From lead editor and respected educator George Zarb, Prosthodontic Treatment for Edentulous Patients provides an atlas of clinical procedures and emphasizes the importance of evidence-based treatment. Short, easy-to-read chapters cover the essentials of care for both short- and long-term patients, stressing the importance of evidence-based treatment. Expanded coverage of implant prosthodontics addresses the clinical protocols for implant-retained and implant-supported prosthodontic management. Specific chapters address the three surfaces of the complete denture: (1) an impression or intaglio surface, (2) a polished surface, and (3) an occlusal surface, the integration of which is crucial to creating a stable, functional, and esthetic result. Chapter on health and nutrition examines a number of systemic conditions (vesciculoerosive conditions, systemic lupus erythematosus, burning mouth syndrome, salivary dysfunction, Sjögren''s syndrome, hyper/hyposalivation, diabetes) that affect the oral cavity and specifically influence the prognosis for wearing complete dentures or for accepting osseointegrated prostheses. Chapter on the time-dependent changes which occur in the oral cavity focuses on both time-related direct (ulcer/cheek biting, irritation hyperplasia, denture stomatitis, flabby ridge and pendulous maxillary tuberosities, hyperkeratosis and oral cancer, residual ridge reduction) and indirect (atrophy of masticatory muscles, nutritional status and masticatory function, control of sequelae) changes in the oral environment, and provides strategies to minimize the risk of such changes. Chapter on the techniques used to prolong the life of complete dentures focuses on the two techniques used to extend the life of dentures: relining and rebasing, also touching on denture duplication. Well-respected editors and contributors are the leaders in their field, lending credibility and experience to each topic. NEW! Over 800 full-color photos and illustrations highlight key clinical and esthetic details. NEW Immediately Loaded Complete Dental Prostheses chapter describes the rationale for the popular approach to immediately loading full arch implant supported/retained prostheses, allowing both enhanced functional outcomes and an accelerated time frame for completion of treatment. NEW The Impact of Socioeconomic, Cultural and Technological Changes and the Notion of Standards of Care and Alternative Protocols chapter addresses the "appropriatech" concept of providing cost-effective, appropriate care and describes techniques that make complete dentures accessible to those who do not have access to alternative care, including discussions of alternative protocols such as Complete Dentures in Four Clinical Sessions (CD4). Completely revised Materials Used in the Management of Edentulous Patients chapter includes expanded information on the properties, behaviors, and limitations of dental materials used in the rehabilitation of the edentulous patient, including impression materials (such as zinc oxide-eugenol impression paste, hydrocolloids, agar, and silicones), polymeric denture base materials (including rapid-cure type resins, biocompatibility of acrylic-based resins, residual monomer content, and radio-opacity of denture bases), denture cleansers (microwave radiation), and denture adhesives (such as adjunctive retention, indications/contraindications, application, and adverse reactions).

The fourth edition of this classic prosthodontic textbook features a new chapter on implant-assisted removable partial dentures as well as an in-depth chapter describing the Prosthodontic Diagnostic Index. As before, the text provides an overview of removable partial denture service in contemporary dental practice, with an emphasis on clinical and design aspects. Clinical topics range from examination and treatment planning to mouth preparation and prosthesis placement. Common design philosophies and a step-by-step method for partial denture design are presented. Also included are alternative removable partial denture therapies such as Swing Lock, dual path, and attachment-type prostheses. To facilitate visualization and understanding, the text is accompanied by numerous illlustrations. Like those that came before it, this edition is intended to help the student, the general practitioner, and the specialist consistently provide high-quality prosthodontic treatment for their patients.

Textbook of Complete Dentures, Sixth Edition presents various aspects of the basic principles of complete denture prosthodontics. The text is technique-oriented and relates the basic sciences of anatomy, physiology, pathology, pharmacology, and psychology with the art and mechanics involved in complete denture construction. This clinically oriented and well-illustrated book will provide the essential information to successfully treat complete denture patients in any dental practice environment. All dental students and practitioners interested in removable prosthodontics will benefit greatly from reading this comprehensive textbook.