Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Principles of Ethics and Patient Management
Dental Ethics at Chairside [Electronic Resource] by
Publication Date: 2018-05-01
Every health care practitioner from Hippocrates to our own day has had to deal with questions of ethics in the effort to serve patients properly and well. The dental professional is no different. For nearly a decade, it has had sound ethical reflection on its side in the form of Dental Ethics at Chairside. In issues ranging from ordinary chairside decision making to HIV/AIDS and ethical business practices, the first edition of this book has guided thousands of dentists, dental hygienists, students, and other oral health care practitioners to an understanding of the essential practice of ethics. Now a revised, updated, and expanded edition of Dental Ethics at Chairside responds to the challenges of oral health care in the new century with chapters on managed care, confidentiality and electronic record-keeping, among other important topics.
Little and Falace's Dental Management of the Medically Compromised Patient [Electronic Resource] by
Publication Date: 2017-09-22
Learn how to provide dental care to any patient, regardless of existing medical conditions. Little and Falace's Dental Management of the Medically Compromised Patient, 9th Edition, has been thoroughly revised to give you the information you need to assess common problems, and make safe and healthy dental management decisions. The new addition includes expanded coverage of women's health issues and introduces a process for developing a medical-risk source. Also, each chapter features vivid illustrations and well-organized tables to give you in-depth details and overall summaries to help you get to the root of your future patients' needs. Logical organization of conditions makes it easy for you to understand and follow the material as you prepare to treat patients. Standardized assessment process helps you to ascertain the severity and stability of common medical disorders. Dental management summary table summarizes important factors for consideration in the dental management of medically compromised patients. Over 400 color images provide a visual guide and highlight key information. Dental management box in each chapter allows you to locate key information for evaluating a medically compromised patient. NEW! Thoroughly revised content provides you with the most current, evidence-based information you need to make dental management decisions. NEW! Evidence-based process for creating a medical-risk score enables you to determine whether the benefit of treatment outweighs the risk of a complication. NEW! Expanded coverage of women's health issues addresses issues specific to women that can impact dental management.
The ADA Practical Guide to Patients with Medical Conditions [Electronic Book] by
Publication Date: 2015-08-19
With new medications, medical therapies, and increasing numbers of older and medically complex patients seeking dental care, all dentists, hygienists, and students must understand the intersection of common diseases, medical management, and dental management to coordinate and deliver safe care. This new second edition updates all of the protocols and guidelines for treatment and medications and adds more information to aid with patient medical assessments, and clearly organizes individual conditions under three headings: background, medical management, and dental management. Written by more than 25 expert academics and clinicians, this evidence-based guide takes a patient-focused approach to help you deliver safe, coordinated oral health care for patients with medical conditions. Other sections contain disease descriptions, pathogenesis, coordination of care between the dentist and physician, and key questions to ask the patient and physician.
Behavior Management in Dentistry for Children [Electronic Resource] by
Publication Date: 2014-01-27
Guiding patient behavior is as important as ever for the practicing dentist, and the behavior of pediatric patients is perhaps the most challenging to manage. Drs. Wright and Kupietzky here update Dr. Wright's classic work on managing pediatric dental patients. Behavior Management in Dentistry for Children,2nd Edition, has been entirely rewritten and includes the latest and most effective management strategies from an international team of experts in the field. The book addresses the influence of family and parenting styles on children's behavior and the factors that determine how children behave in the dental office. Pharmacological and non-pharmacological management techniques are described in depth, as are techniques for dealing with special needs patients. Clinical scenarios are described throughout the book, with practical application of the taught principles. The final part of the book covers the dental environment--training office personnel to manage children's behavior, practical considerations for behavior guidance, and the effects of the physical dental office environment. Behavior Management in Dentistry for Children,2nd Edition, is ideal for pediatric residents, dental students, and practicing dentists who see children on a regular basis.
Communication Skills for Dental Health Care Providers [Electronic Resource] by
Publication Date: 2015-07-01
This evidence-based textbook presents the essential communication strategies clinicians should know to facilitate interaction with patients. With a focus on practical strategies instead of dense communication theories, the authors facilitate improved patient-provider communication and demonstrate how to elicit accurate patient information during the health interview, communicate effectively during examinations and procedures, and present preventive and restorative treatment plans from a patient-centered perspective.
Dentistry, Dental Practice, and the Community by
Call Number: RK52 .B57 2005
Publication Date: 2005-03-01
This great resource presents dentistry and dental practice against the ever-changing backdrop of economic, technological, and demographic trends, as well as the distribution of the oral diseases that dental professionals treat and prevent. The text is logically divided into five parts. Dentistry and the Community deals with the development of the dental and dental hygiene professions, demographics of the public, its use of dental services, and the professional role. Dental Practice covers the structure and financing of dental care, the personnel involved in providing that care, and the emerging field of evidence-based dentistry. The Methods of Oral Epidemiology provides a comprehensive assessment of the epidemiology of oral diseases and the determinants of their distribution in society. The Distribution of Oral Diseases and Conditions gives a detailed presentation of how the common oral diseases are distributed in the community. Prevention of Oral Diseases in Public Health discusses methods of preventing oral diseases in dental practice and through public health action. Thorough explanations of how to read dental literature help readers understand how to draw their own conclusions from the latest studies. Coverage presents a number of complex problems facing practitioners today regarding access to dental care, and discusses how to solve them by working with public authorities and insurers. Comprehensive coverage of oral disease distribution helps readers to understand trends and risks they will encounter in the field. Material on prevention and control of oral diseases provides important information that all dental practitioners should have. Research designs used in oral epidemology assess the pros and cons of dental indexes available, allowing readers to gain an understanding of the complexities of disease measurement and research. Detailed content on providing dental care to the American public presents a unique opportunity to learn the system of dental care delivery. State-of-the-art coverage of mercury issues offer a balanced view of issues like toxicity, potential hazards, review of evidence, and politics. Ethical guidelines provide a discussion of how ethical principles have evolved over time and the precipitating events that pushed ethical practice into the forefront of health care. Information on the development of dental professions gives readers insight into how these professions originated and their current state. · Content addresses evidence-based dentistry, and how it can and should become part of the everyday clinical life of the practitioner, since staying current is vital to providing excellent patient care. · Discussions of infection control procedures and the impact of HIV and Hepatitis B incorporate new, updated guidelines in dental health care settings released in 2003.
Geriatric Dentistry [Electronic Resource] by
Publication Date: 2014-07-30
Geriatric Dentistry: Caring for Our Aging Population provides general practitioners, dental students, and auxiliary members of the dental team with a comprehensive, practical guide to oral healthcare for the aging population. Beginning with fundamental chapters on the psychological, environmental, and social aspects of aging, the book approaches patient care from a holistic point of view. Subsequent chapters show the importance of this information in a practical context by discussing how it affects office environment, decision?-making and treatment planning, and the management and treatment of common geriatric oral conditions. Case studies and study questions are used to illustrate application of educational presentations to practice settings. Contributed by leaders in the field, Geriatric Dentistry will strengthen readers' understanding and clinical acumen in addressing this special population.
Jong's Community Dental Health by
Call Number: RK52 .J66 1998
Publication Date: 1997-08-01
COMMUNITY DENTAL HEALTH provides a practical look at the role of the dental public health care professional in the evolving socially conscious health field. Organized to follow the objectives of dental hygiene courses in community dentistry, this fourth edition builds on past success by updating the text and incorporating even more information about such topics as dental insurance, geriatric health, and quality assurance. Comprehensive coverage includes topics pertinent to the dental team practicing in the community including multiculturalism, the aging population, prevention of dental disease in children, and the Americans with Disabilities Act. Relevant examples interspersed throughout the text clarify difficult concepts. Presents background information in biostatistics for those who need to brush up on this technical area. Substantial coverage of epidemiology instructs readers on distribution and causes of disease useful information in determining the needs of various populations. Up-to-date subject matter familiarizes readers with the immense changes in the delivery of dental care and the consequent changes in community dental health.
Medical Emergencies in the Dental Office [Electronic Resource] by
Publication Date: 2014-11-04
Be prepared to handle life-threatening dental emergencies! Medical Emergencies in the Dental Office, 7th Edition helps you learn the skills needed to manage medical emergencies in the dental office or clinic. It describes how to recognize and manage medical emergencies promptly and proactively, and details the resources that must be on hand to deal effectively with these situations. This edition includes new guidelines for drug-related emergencies, cardiac arrest, and more. Written by respected educator Dr. Stanley Malamed, this expert resource provides dental professionals with the tools for implementing a basic action plan for managing medical emergencies. "It successfully fulfils its aim of stimulating all members of the dental team to improve and maintain their skills in the effective prevention, recognition and management of medical emergencies." Reviewed by European Journal of Orthodontics, March 2015 "...very easy to read and provides a very comprehensive reference for a variety of medical emergencies." Reviewed by S.McKernon on behalf of British Dental Journal, July 2015 A logical format reflects the way emergencies are encountered in a dental practice, with chapters organized by commonly seen clinical signs and symptoms, such as unconsciousness or altered consciousness, respiratory distress, seizures, drug-related emergencies, chest pain, and cardiac arrest. Step-by-step procedures include detailed, numbered instructions for stabilizing and treating victims (PCABD) in common medical emergencies. Full-color illustrations demonstrate emergency techniques in realistic clarity. Summary tables and boxes make it easy to find essential concepts and information. Quick-reference algorithms in the appendix include step-by-step diagrams showing the decision-making process in common emergency situations. A differential diagnosis chapter ends each of the book's parts on common emergencies. UPDATED content includes the most current guidelines for drug-related emergencies, unconsciousness, altered consciousness, and cardiac arrest as well as protocols for obstructed airway management. UPDATED PCABD boxes reflect the American Heart Association's new sequence of steps for stabilizing and treating victims with an easy-to-remember acronym: Positioning, Circulation, Airway, Breathing, and Definitive Management. UPDATED! Emergency drug and equipment kit instructions help you assemble emergency kits and ensure that your dental office has safe, current materials on hand.
Primary Preventive Dentistry by
Call Number: RK60.7 .H37 2014
Publication Date: 2013-06-07
Organized for consistency, coherence, and readability, this fully updated text covers all areas of prevention in dental care. PRIMARY PREVENTIVE DENTISTRY, 8/e first describes dental diseases and conditions, helping students clearly understand the processes that can be prevented through the use of preventive modalities or ideas. Next, it presents detailed strategies to prevent these diseases and conditions. Throughout, specific target populations are defined and described based upon scientifically valid preventive strategies aimed at their needs. This edition improves student understanding with more photos, illustrations, diagrams, and tables; highlights "fun facts" about the topic; adds a new chapter on the important influence culture plays in preventive dental care; and is supported by many new web-based review questions and case studies for each chapter.
Sedation [Electronic Resource] by
Publication Date: 2017-06-30
Learn how to safely sedate your dental patients and help control their anxiety with Sedation: A Guide to Patient Management, 6th Edition. Written by sedation expert Stanley Malamed, DDS, this concise guide combines essential theory with "how-to" technical instruction to help you master basic techniques in dental sedation and anxiety control. This new sixth edition also incorporates the latest guidelines from the ADA and the American Society of Anesthesiologists, along with vivid images of the most current equipment and procedures used in dental practice today. There is also detailed discussion on how to modify typical treatment protocol to successfully treat different patient populations - including pediatric, geriatric, physically compromised, and medically compromised patients. In all, this is a must-have guide for keeping up to date on the latest techniques in dental sedation and anxiety. The latest practice guidelines established by the ADA and the American Society of Anesthesiologists for sedation by non-anesthesiologists are included throughout the text. Comprehensive coverage combines all aspects of sedation with essential theory and instruction to cover all the information needed to provide safe and effective dental care. Expert authorship from Stanley Malamed, DDS, provides readers with experienced guidance across all areas of sedation dentistry and local anesthesia. Summary tables and boxes support visual learners and serve as useful review and study tools. Coverage of all potential patient groups details how to manage the pain and anxiety of pediatric, geriatric, physically compromised, and medically compromised patients in addition to the subtle changes that may be needed in normal treatment protocol. NEW! Extensive content revisions incorporate the most up-to-date information on the advances in sedation dentistry including the latest research, clinical experience, and literature. NEW! Updated photos and art reflect the latest equipment and procedures used in dental practice today.