Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Literature in English Guide
The main guide for Literature in English links to primary, secondary, and background resources in various collection periods and subject areas associated with the English department.
MLA International Bibliography
Covers literature, languages, folklore, and linguistics. Includes English and foreign languages.
LION is a searchable, full-text collection of over 250,000 works in English and American Literature.
International Index to Black Periodicals Full Text
IIBP Full Text includes current and retrospective bibliographic citations and abstracts from over 150 scholarly and popular journals, newspapers and newsletters from the United States, Africa and the Caribbean--and full-text coverage of over 20 core Black Studies periodicals (1998 forward).
Library Lounge Videos
Tracing Word Histories with the Oxford English Dictionary [5:23]
Access and use the Oxford English Dictionary to look up different senses of words and their histories.
Reception Study and Historical Newspapers [7:43]
Explore newspapers as a means to understand how readers and critics of a particular time read and received a work. Navigate the ProQuest Historical Newspapers database.
Searching for Scholarly Articles [8:08]
Compare techniques for searching in a bibliographic database, such as MLA International Bibliography to searching within a full text database, such as Project Muse.