Human Sexuality: Home

The International Encyclopedia of Human Sexuality edited by Patricia Whelehan and Anne Bolin is a comprehensive A-Z reference with over 500 entries that define sexuality from a broad biocultural perspective and show the diversity of human sexual behavior and belief systems.
Places topics within their socio-cultural and cross-cultural contexts while also exploring evolutionary and primatological concerns. Contains entries ranging from short definitions of scientific, clinical, cultural, and colloquial terms to extended explorations of major concepts. Covers 13 key areas of content, from clinical medicine and body modification to the language of sexuality and the history of sexology.

This encyclopedia covers LGBTQ topics in Africa, Asia, Europe, Latin America and the Caribbean, and the Middle East, as well as North America, and takes an interdisciplinary approach to the subject, using film, literature, human rights, politics, landmark legislation, activism, the arts, language, sports, and historical events as points of entry into the content.

Beginning in 1869, when the study of homosexuality can be said to have begun with the establishment of sexology, this Encyclopedia offers accounts of the most important international developments in an area that now occupies a critical place in many fields of academic endeavours. While gays and lesbians have shared many aspects of life, their histories and cultures developed in profoundly different ways. To reflect this crucial fact, the Encyclopedia has been prepared in two separate volumes assuring that both histories receive full, unbiased attention and that a broad range

The Wiley Blackwell Encyclopedia of Gender and Sexuality Studies provides an invaluable resource for students and scholars in the overlapping areas of gender, feminist, queer, masculinity, and sexuality studies; and acknowledges the growing interdisciplinary impact of these fields. Edited by a first rate team of geographically diverse scholars drawn from disciplines across the social sciences and humanities with international reputations in the field Entries are written in an approachable and accessible manner and include a short bibliography and a list of cross-references. Unique in its interdisciplinary approach across allied social sciences including sociology, anthropology, cultural studies, politics, contemporary history, and psychology Attention paid to the identification and inclusion of feminist authors and activists, women's non-governmental organizations, and key texts, events and legislation that have either enhanced or curtailed women's rights Of interest to college and university libraries as well as women's organizations, research institutes, and public libraries.
Provides an invaluable resource for students and scholars in the overlapping areas of gender, feminist, queer, and sexuality studies; and acknowledges the growing interdisciplinary impact of these fields.