Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
News and opinion sources
Follow the instructions to create an account for access to WSJ.com content.
Page-image versions of newspapers from around the world, with back issues from several months. Includes Philadelphia Inquirer, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, and Chicago Tribune.
GenderWatch, formerly titled Women 'R', contains 40,000 articles from more than 100 journals, magazines, newsletters, special reports, unpublished papers and conference proceedings devoted to gender and women's issues. The main focus is on the United States, but international coverage is provided as well. The database contains a large body of archival material, in some cases, as far back as 1970.
Searchable full-text articles from 400+ minority-oriented newspapers, 1960- present.
Historic Popular Press
Proquest Historical Newspapers
Historical Newspapers from the United States and other parts of the world. Includes:
-Boston Jewish Advocate
-Chicago Tribune and Wall Street Journal.
-Christian Science Monitor
-Cleveland Call and Post
-Los Angeles Sentinel
-Los Angeles Times
-New York Amsterdam News
-New York Times
Other Primary Sources
Public Health Archives
Collections from the New York Academy of Medicine and U.S. Children's Bureau.
History Vault: Women's Studies
Collections from the Margaret Sanger Papers and the Schlessinger Library.
Archives of Sexuality & Gender : LGBTQ history and culture since 1940
The archive illuminates the experiences not just of the LGBTQ community as a whole, but of individuals of different races, ethnicities, ages, religions, political orientations, and geographical locations that constitute this community. Historical records of political and social organizations founded by LGBTQ individuals are featured, as well as publications by and for lesbians and gays, and extensive coverage of governmental responses to the AIDS crisis.