Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Newspapers and Magazines
Searchable full-text articles from 400+ minority-oriented newspapers, 1960- present.
GenderWatch, formerly titled Women 'R', contains 40,000 articles from more than 100 journals, magazines, newsletters, special reports, unpublished papers and conference proceedings devoted to gender and women's issues. The main focus is on the United States, but international coverage is provided as well. The database contains a large body of archival material, in some cases, as far back as 1970.
Proquest Historical Newspapers
Historical Newspapers from the United States and other parts of the world. Includes:
-Boston Jewish Advocate
-Chicago Tribune and Wall Street Journal.
-Christian Science Monitor
-Cleveland Call and Post
-Los Angeles Sentinel
-Los Angeles Times
-New York Amsterdam News
-New York Times
California Digital Newspaper Collection (1846-1922)
Includes Amador Ledger, California Star, Californian, Daily Alta California, Imperial Valley Press, Los Angeles Herald (1873-1910), Pacific Rural Press, Placer Times, Sacramento Daily Union, Sacramento Transcript, San Francisco Call (1890-1913), Sausalito News, more.
Fulltext for major newspapers. No specialized Asian American news sources. Includes fulltext for Los Angeles Times
Movies, Documentaries and other Video
Videos focusing on Asian Americans
Includes videos in the Libraries' DVD collection as well as from databases such as American History in Video, First Run Films, Kanopy, Ethnographic Film Online, and other sources.
March of Time, 1935-1967
With its first appearance on American motion picture screens in February 1935, The March of Time. startled journalists, filmmakers, and audiences alike with its controversial topics, docudrama and unique approach to newsreels.
Asian American Drama
252 plays by 42 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more.
Film Index International
Index of films and film personalities that is an unmatched reference work for entertainment films and biographical information about directors, producers, actors and more.
American Film Institute Catalog
American film information for the years 1893-1972 produced by the American Film Institute (AFI). The film experts at AFI update and add new records twice yearly and are working on completing their coverage of the 1970s.
Vanderbilt Television News Archive
Searchable abstracting service for national television network news broadcasts. CNN broadcasts available as RealMedia video streams, 1998-present and NBC evening news from 1968-. VTNA lends videotapes of broadcasts or item compilations to individuals for a fee.
REQUIRES FREE REGISTRATION. Question-level data from public opinion polls. Almost 400,000 questions from polls, 1935 to present, based upon Roper Center-archived surveys with US national adult samples or samples of large subnational populations. Links to Roper Center data catalog holdings are provided. RPOLL provides a less functional interface to iPOLL through LexisNexis Academic.
Chinese in California Virtual Collection
The Chinese in California, 1850-1925 illustrates nineteenth and early twentieth century Chinese immigration to California through about 8,000 images and pages of primary source materials. Included are photographs, original art, cartoons and other illustrations; letters, excerpts from diaries, business records, and legal documents; as well as pamphlets, broadsides, speeches, sheet music, and other printed matter.
Japanese American Relocation Digital Archive
Thousands of primary sources documenting Japanese American internment.
Documenting the Southeast Asian American Experience
Educational resource of the Southeast Asian Archive at the UC Irvine Libraries focusing on post-1975 refugees and immigrants from Cambodia, Laos, and Vietnam and the communities they have developed in the United States. It contains 1,500 visual images and 4,000 pages of searchable text selected from the Archive
Densho: The Japanese American Legacy Project
Densho’s mission is to preserve the testimonies of Japanese Americans who were unjustly incarcerated during World War II before their memories are extinguished. We offer these irreplaceable firsthand accounts, coupled with historical images and teacher resources, to explore principles of democracy, and promote equal justice for all.
Search through legal periodicals, state and federal laws and cases, Attorney General reports and more.
ProQuest Legislative Insight
Schematic legislative histories that provide fulltext for US congressional documents through our ProQuest collections.
• ProQuest Regulatory Insight
extends legislative histories into US federal regulatory histories.
Proquest Supreme Court Insight
Complete online collection of full opinions from Supreme Court argued cases, including per decision, dockets, oral arguments, joint appendices and amicus briefs