Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Cinema & Media Studies: Television & New Media

CIMS103

Vintage television set, local television station control room, a family watching television in a living room in 1958, a TV test pattern image, a man browsing through streaming program options, a small vintage TV showing Superman, analog television with round knobs for channel and volume

Television subject headings

African Americans on television
Animated television programs
Asian Americans on television
Cable television
Color television
Home video systems
Internet television
Live television programs
Men on television
Music videos
Public-access television
Race relations on television
Reality television programs
Sex on television
Sports and television
Talk shows
Television advertising
Television and children
Television audiences
Television comedies
Television direction
Television display systems
Television in religion
Television picture tubes
Television production
Television programs
Television serials
Television shows
Television soundtracks
Television stations
Television transmission
Television writers
Television--Censorship
Television--Production and direction
Variety shows (Television programs)
Violence on television
Women on television
Working class on television
Youth and television

New Media and Media Technologies databases

Television news search

UCLA Library NewsScape

Archive of digitized TV news programs from cable and broadcast sources in the Los Angeles area from 2005-present, as well as news programs from other domestic, international, and online sources from 2004-present. Indexed and time-referenced via captions for full-text searching.

Television Reference Works

The Annenberg School of Communication Library has a strong collection of Television Studies and History reference works, featuring indexes and references to articles that you may not find elsewhere.  More reference works, dictionaries are readers are available from the Television Studies Research Guide.

CIMS 103 VP stacks mini-tour

Instagram logo. Take a mini-tour of the CIMS stacks in Van Pelt!

Paley Center Collection Database

Paley Center for Media logo

Paley Center for Media supports media and television history research, with a substantial archive of historical TV programming. It regularly hosts events, screenings, and discussion panels.

The Paley Center Collection Database features TV show synopses and credits.

Streaming classic television