Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Where can I stream it now?
Useful apps for Cinema & Media Studies
● IMDb, the Internet Movie Database, for filmographies, casts, credits, showtimes, reviews, and watchlists for film and TV.
● Letterboxd, a social network for film people with watchlists and reviews.
● Reelgood and JustWatch, streaming search and watchlists.
Not available to stream? It happens.
Search for the DVD in Van Pelt
Search Franklin for films and TV, streaming or as a DVD. Sometimes, even in the present day with access to many streaming services, for rights reasons, a DVD may be your fastest, or only, option.
- Search for a film: Franklin
- To check out a DVD, write down the DVD number and request it at the Circulation Desk.
Van Pelt has DVDs of films that are rarely or not available from streaming services.
Request a Film
Want us to buy a film? Email us your suggestion.
Researching a Particular Film?
Cinema Studies Databases
MLA International Bibliography
Covers literature, languages, folklore, and linguistics. Includes English and foreign languages.
General, multidisciplinary periodical database, covering all scholarly disciplines, with many general and popular magazines, and news sources. Includes bibliographic citations with indexing and abstracts for more than 16,000 periodicals.
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals is published by the International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF) and contains several databases: the International Index to Film Periodicals, the International Index to Television Periodicals, the List of Periodicals Indexed, the Treasures from the Film Archives, the FIAF Affiliates Publications and the Film and TV Documentation Collections.
Film Literature Index (FLI)
Contains citations to articles, film reviews and book reviews on film, tv, and video published between 1976-2001.
Covers citations from Cinema Studies journals, including Animation; Media, Culture & Society; New Media & Society; Television & New Media. To search for articles, change search box from "ALL Sage" to "Journals."
InformaWorld - Taylor & Francis Journals Complete
Coverage of select journals in Cinema Studies. Includes: Historical Journal of Film, Radio & Television; History of Photography; Journal of Broadcasting & Electronic Media; Media History; Visual Anthropology.
Legal research database containing full-text PDF articles. Includes Entertainment and Communications Law journals, such as UCLA Entertainment Law Review
and Hastings Communication & Entertainment Law Journal.
Variety - A major Hollywood industry trade magazine, Variety includes box office statistics and more.