Guides: Drug Information: Online Resources

Article Databases

EMBASE
Covers biomedical literature. Includes coverage of over 1,800 biomedical titles not offered by Medline/PubMed.
PubMed
NLM's public access version to Medline, the premier database for biomedical literature.
Scopus
Indexes most peer reviewed journals in science, technology, and medicine, and many in the social sciences, arts, and humanities. Scopus also includes a number of trade publications and conference papers, and can perform author and affiliation searching.
MEDLINE (complete file)
Premier database for bibliographic coverage of biomedical literature. Ovid Interface

Approvals of FDA Regulated Poducts
Food and Drug Administration drug approval information, including approvals on drugs for use on both humans and animals.
DailyMed
Searchable drug label database provided by the National Library of Medicine.
Drug Bank
Canadian drug and drug target database. Includes a drug interaction checker and chemical structure visuals within database searches
PubChem
Drug chemical database provided by the National Library of Medicine. Search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers.
Drugs @ FDA Glossary of Terms
Provided by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration
Pharmacology Glossary of Terms and Symbols
Provided by Boston University
PharmGKB
Pharmacogenomics knowledge resource. Includes information on impact of human genetic variation on drug responses and annotations on drug labels and clinical guidelines.
Pill Identification Wizard
Fill in visual information to identify medication
Medline Herbs and Supplement Database
Database of dietary supplements and herbal remedies, listing their effectiveness, usual dosage, and drug interactions
Historical Status of OTC Rulemaking
Resource to view FDA approved conditions of use for OTC medication created prior to the 2020 CARES Act
OTC Monographs @ FDA
Resource to view Administrative Orders for OTC drugs created after the 2020 CARES Act.

AccessPharmacy
Drug sections includes indications & usage, contraindications, warnings/precautions, adverse reactions, Interactions, dosing administration, pregnancy & lactation, clinical pharmacology, monitoring, patient education, storage & compatibility, additional Information and references. Source of drug information: Gold Standard.
U.S. Pharmacopeia National Formulary
The USP-NF contains standards for medicines, dosage forms, drug substances, excipients, biologics, compounded preparations, medical devices, dietary supplements, and other therapeutics.
Lexidrug
Explore information surrounding drug dosing, administration, interactions, adverse reactions, pharmogenomics, use during pregnancy and lactation, patient eduction, and more.
Lexidrug for Dentistry
Form of Lexidrug specializing in drugs used in dental medicine.
UpToDate
As the name implies, resource for up-to-date information regarding drug information, patient and pediatric drug information, and what's new in drug therapy.
Dynamed
ClinicalKey
Drug information as it pertains to clinical decisions. Contents include clinical overviews, drug monographs, calculators, drug class overviews, clinical guidelines, patient education, and more.
Plumb's Veterinary Drugs
Specialized vet database, providing information on drug uses/indications, pharmacokinetics, contraindications, adverse effects, monitoring, storage stability, regulatory status, client information, and more as they pertain to animals.

For even more journals available via Penn Libraries, click here.