Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
MLA International Bibliography
Database of literary criticism. Covers literature, languages, folklore, and linguistics. Includes English and foreign languages.
Searchable, full-text collection of over 250,000 works in English and American Literature, as well as works of criticism.
Oxford Bibliographies Online
Annotated bibliographies on many topics, people, and works across disciplines.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
Complete text of the 20-volume Second Edition, first published in 1989, with its 3-volume Additions Series, published in 1993 (vols 1 and 2) and 1997 (vol 3). Draft material for the upcoming 3rd edition (2010) also included.
Too few results? Try these techniques:
Derive keywords from relevant critical theories:
- Queer theory --> queer* OR homosexual* OR gay OR lesbian*
- Postcolonial criticism -> postcolonial* OR border OR neocolonial OR nationalism
Combine your critical theory keywords with relevant keywords from the author, work, or time period:
- (queer* OR homosexual* OR gay OR lesbian*) AND ("early modern England" OR "As You Like It")
Too many results? Try these techniques:
Look for a database field that narrows down results to your particular author, or your particular work. Then, include keywords around your topic.
Use database limits on the main pages of advanced searches. Try limiting by language (e.g. English), peer-reviewed materials, journal articles, and recent date ranges.
"Is it reputable?"
It can be hard to tell which journal articles are the most "reputable" - which ones have had the most impact, are published in authoritative journals, and have prominent scholar authors. Here are some tips:
Check to see if the journal has been referenced in any of your previously assigned texts, or suggested readings. Some journals from those readings include:
- Critical Inquiry
- English Literary History (ELH)
- GLQ: A Journal of Lesbian and Gay Studies
- Journal of Medieval and Early Modern Studies
- Modern Language Studies
- Studies in English Literature (SEL)
Look up the article's author. Is it a graduate student? A 1st or 2nd-year faculty member? A tenured faculty member at an institution strong in literature? What has this author published previously? Have their previous articles been cited many times by others? This can help you determine if their work has influence in the field.
Google Scholar's "Cited By" feature can be useful, but not always for recently published articles. Remember, books and articles published in the last 15 years may not have had as much time to influence other works.
Go to this search on Mary Wroth within the MLA database. Pick two entries from the set of results. Investigate their authors and make up your mind whether they are "authoritative" authors on the subject of Wroth and early modern literature. Use these questions to help you make your decision:
- What institution does the author work for? Does that institution have a robust literature program?
- What other articles / books has the author published? Are any of them also related to Wroth or early modern literature?
- Is this a tenured faculty member? An adjunct professor? A graduate student?
- What journals have they pubilshed in? Do you recognize those journals from the list on this site, or other bibliographies you have encountered?
Be prepared to tell the class whether or not you think your authors are credible scholars on this topic or not.