Guides: ENVS 5600 Developing Environmental Policy: Home

Pine Gulch, CO Wildfire August 2020

Photo by Eric Coulter, BLM. Public domain.

News Sources

To follow current issues, newspapers and news wires are the best places to look.
Newspaper Resources

Nexis Uni
Covers thousands of news, legal and business sources including: print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs; local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives; extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes
Factiva
Current and historical news from thousands of publications worldwide in over 20 languages. Company overviews and stock data are available for public companies.

More Newspaper resources

News Wires

E&E News
A collection of environmental and energy related news wires. Includes GreenWire, ClimateWire, EnergyWire, and E&E News Daily.
Environmental News Network (ENN)
Environment : NPR
ScienceDaily Environmental Issues
ScienceDaily Environmental Policy Issues

Databases for Literature Searching

Public Policy Literature
For finding policy related literature, both general or environmentally related, the databases below are good starting points:

PolicyFile
Indexing with abstracts of U.S. and foreign domestic and international public policy research literature.
Policy Commons
Discovery platform and repository for IGO, NGO, think tank, and research organization materials, including access to more than 24 million pages of curated, high quality policy reports, briefs, analyses, working papers, and datasets from thousands of policy organizations.
PAIS Index
Bibliographic citations (1915-) with indexing on contemporary public affairs and policy issues worldwide related to a wide range of topics: agriculture, banking, finance, business, demographics, education, health, environment, planning, public administration, law and legislation, and international relations. Materials indexed include journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, and Internet material. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed.
HeinOnline
Legal research database containing fulltext documents (PDF) organized into collections including: Legal Classics, Law Journal Library, U.S. Supreme Court Library, U.S. Federal Legislative History Library, Treaties and Agreements Library, Subject Compilations of State Laws, and the United Nations Law Collection.
CRS Reports (via Proquest Congressional)
Part of ProQuest Congressional and includes reports on all subjects prepared by the Congressional Research Service of the Library of Congress for members, committees, and staff of the U.S. Congress. Provides annotated indexing and searchable pdfs 1916- to present.

Opposing Viewpoints
Explore Both Sides of an Issue. Gale's Opposing Viewpoints In Context is the premier online resource covering today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This cross-curricular research database supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions.

Environmental Literature
For finding environment/energy/natural resouce related literature, including scientific and policy based, use the databases below:

Articles+

Agricultural & Environmental Science Database
Full-text database for the scholarly, professional, and policy literature on agriculture and the environment. It titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications.
Scopus
Indexes most peer reviewed journals in science, technology, and medicine, and many in the social sciences, arts, and humanities. Scopus also includes a number of trade publications and conference papers, and can perform author and affiliation searching.
Web of Science
Geobase
is a database, multidisciplinary in scope, which indexes bibliographic information and abstracts for the Geographical, Earth, and Ecological sciences, published by Engineering Information, a subsidiary of Elsevier. The broad subject coverage includes earth sciences, ecology, geomechanics, human geography, physical geography, social geography and oceanography. Development studies are also included in this database.
GeoRef
The principal tool for identifying the worldwide literature in geology and the geosciences.

Evaluating Online News Content

It can be difficult to determine if current news is trustworthy, accurate and unbiased. Luckily there are common sense measures you can use to evaluate what you read online. When reading online content it is helpful to remember the following principles:

1. Accuracy-Do you feel the information presented is correct? How does it compare to other information you have found?

2. Authority-Who is the author of the page and do they have the credentials to be writing on a topic? Is there an About page or anyway to identify the author?

3. Objectivity-Who is the audience? Is the information being written for the general public or a niche group? Is the content free from advertising? Is the information unbiased?

4. Coverage-Does the information presented appear to complete and comprehensive? Does the author cite their sources? Can you access those sources?

5. Currency-Is the information update to date? Has the content been date stamped? Is this old news just being re-hashed?

If you have further questions about evaluating resources or need help, please remember to Ask a Librarian.

Liaison Librarian

Melanie Cedrone

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Holman Biotech Commons
3610 Hamilton Walk

215-898-1862

Environmental Policy Texts

Environmental Policy by Michael E. Kraft (Editor); Barry G. Rabe (Editor); Norman J. Vig (Editor)
Call Number: Van Pelt Library GE180 .E546 2025
ISBN: 9781071902103
Publication Date: 2024-01-24
As environmental issues continue to become more prevalent in society and surrounding policy challenges become more complex, Environmental Policy once again brings together top scholars to evaluate the changes and continuities in American environmental policy since the late 1960s and their implications for current policy.
The environmental case : translating values into policy by Judith A. Layzer, Sara R. Rinfret
Call Number: Van Pelt Library GE180 .L39 2024
ISBN: 9781071870242
Publication Date: 2024
Energy, Policy, and the Environment by Marja Järvelä (Editor); Sirkku Juhola (Editor)
ISBN: 9781461403494
Publication Date: 2011-08-31
This book sets the questions of energy and the environment in the North in the global context and further addresses; historical developments, views on energy taxation and tariffs, and effects of EU energy policy. Climate change appears more frequently than ever on the top of global and national policy agendas.
Environmental Policy by Norman J. Vig; M. Katherine Kraft
ISBN: 1933116013
Publication Date: 2005-07-13
Scholars of environmental policy, policy in general, and political science examine some of the most important developments in environmental policy and politics since the 1960s and central issues of today.
Sustainable Development Policy and Administration by Desta Mebratu (Editor); M. Shamsul Haque (Editor)
ISBN: 1574445634
Publication Date: 2005-12-21
Sustainable Development Policy and Administration provides a learning resource describing the major issues that are critical to understanding the multiple dimensions of sustainable development. d.

Other Environmental Policy texts in Franklin