It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Some of the hyperlinked e-books and e-resources on this page are available only to active PennKey holders. If you are unable to access material from this page, learn more about visiting Penn Libraries locations to consult a print copy in person or check Worldcat.org to find a library that holds the same resources near you.
Find an introduction to topics
On the Origin of Species by Charles DarwinDarwin consolidated a lifetime of work in On the Origin of Species, compiling his discoveries from the voyage of the Beagle, his experiments, research and correspondence. He argues for the transmutation of species over time by the process of natural selection. His work laid the foundation of evolutionary biology, though when it was published it caused tremendous religious and philosophical debates. Darwin's work is still seen by many people to oppose Christian beliefs.
Publication Date: 2009
The Archaeology of Disease by Charlotte Roberts; Keith ManchesterThis text illustrates how the techniques of palaeopathology and archaeology are used to identify injury and disease patterns in past human populations. The authors employ a biocultural approach, stressing the importance of using both the physical evidence, which is obvious, and the cultural proof, which is often less clear, in a multidisciplinary approach to diseases in people who lived in the past. The book is intended as a reference source to provide historical background and cultural data on disease and the history of medicine in antiquity.
Call Number: Penn Museum Library. R134.8 .R62 1995
Publication Date: 1995
Evolutionary Psychology by David BussFor courses in Evolutionary Psychology . David Buss, one of the foremost researchers in the field, has thoroughly revised his already successful text with nearly 400 new references to provide an even more comprehensive overview of this dynamic field. Using cutting-edge research and an engaging writing style, the Fourth Edition of Evolutionary Psychology ensures that your students will master the material presented.
Call Number: Van Pelt Library. BF698.95 .B87 2012
Publication Date: 2011
Diseases and Human Evolution by Ethne BarnesRecent interest in new diseases, such as HIV/AIDS and Ebola, and the resurgence of older diseases like tuberculosis has fostered questions about the history of human infectious diseases. How did they evolve? Where did they originate? What natural factors have stalled the progression of diseases or made them possible? How does a microorganism become a pathogen? How have infectious diseases changed through time? What can we do to control their occurrence? Ethne Barnes offers answers to these questions, using information from history and medicine as well as from anthropology. She focuses on changes in the patterns of human behavior through cultural evolution and how they have affected the development of human diseases. Writing in a clear, lively style, Barnes offers general overviews of every variety of disease and their carriers, from insects and worms through rodent vectors to household pets and farm animals. She devotes whole chapters to major infectious diseases such as leprosy, syphilis, smallpox, and influenza. Other chapters concentrate on categories of diseases ("gut bugs," for example, including cholera, typhus, and salmonella). The final chapters cover diseases that have made headlines in recent years, among them mad cow disease, West Nile virus, and Lyme disease. In the tradition of Berton Roueche, Hans Zinsser, and Sherwin Nuland, Ethne Barnes answers questions you never knew you had about the germs that have threatened us throughout human history."
Call Number: Penn Museum Library. RA651 .B365 2005
Publication Date: 2007
Encyclopedia of anthropology [electronic resource] by H. James BirxThis encyclopaedia focuses on topics in physical, cultural and applied anthropology, as well as in the applicable fields of archaeology and linguistics and contains over 1200 entries. Key themes include: biology; evolution; geology; philosophy theology; and theoretical frameworks.
Publication Date: 2006
Biological Anthropology of the Human Skeleton by M. Anne Katzenberg (Editor); Shelley R. Saunders (Editor)The biology of prehistoric and early historic peoples is studied largely through the analysis of hard tissue. Fascinating changes have occurred in the analysis of human skeletal and dental remains over the past few years for various reasons. Factors such as new technology, advances in the field of forensic anthropology, and heightened ethical concerns regarding the study of aboriginal peoples' remains where those people are no longer the dominant culture have emerged as significant themes for research and are examined in this comprehensive book. Organized into five parts with contributing chapters written by experts in the field of human skeletal biology, Biological Anthropology of the Human Skeleton delves into a variety of areas unique to literature. Part One covers theory and application, which leads to Part Two's discussion of morphological analyses of bone, teeth, and age changes. Following in Part Three are reviews of prehistoric health and disease. Part Four examines chemical and genetic analyses of hard tissues, and Part Five closes with coverage of quantitative methods and population studies. Such in-depth topics as how humans have regarded the dead over time and across cultures, the ethics of skeletal research, and the contributions and advances in research analysis are essential elements contained within this book. Other subjects covered are: * Dental morphology, highlighting new methods of characterizing tooth size and shape * Recent investigations of microstructural growth markers in dental tissues * Studies based on gross observations of bones, gross observations of teeth, and microscopic studies * Bone structure at the histological level and the factors that account for variation * Stable isotope analysis, trace element analysis, and the extraction and amplification of ancient DNA * Plus many other topics that contain the common thread of determining information about past peoples from their skeletal and dental remains Biological Anthropology of the Human Skeleton covers a scope of major topics in human skeletal biology and will be an indispensable research guide to biological anthropologists, osteologists, paleoanthropologists, and archaeologists.
Call Number: Penn Museum Library. GN60 .H82 2000
Publication Date: 2000
The Palaeolithic Origins of Human Burial by Paul PettittHumans are unique in that they expend considerable effort and ingenuity in disposing of the dead. Some of the recognisable ways we do this are visible in the Palaeolithic archaeology of the Ice Age. The Palaeolithic Origins of Human Burial takes a novel approach to the long-term development of human mortuary activity - the various ways we deal with the dead and with dead bodies. It is the first comprehensive survey of Palaeolithic mortuary activity in the English language. Observations in the modern world as to how chimpanzees behave towards their dead allow us to identify 'core' areas of behaviour towards the dead that probably have very deep evolutionary antiquity. From that point, the palaeontological and archaeological records of the Pliocene and Pleistocene are surveyed. The core chapters of the book survey the mortuary activities of early hominins, archaic members of the genus Homo, early Homo sapiens, the Neanderthals, the Early and Mid Upper Palaeolithic, and the Late Upper Palaeolithic world. Burial is a striking component of Palaeolithic mortuary activity, although existing examples are odd and this probably does not reflect what modern societies believe burial to be, and modern ways of thinking of the dead probably arose only at the very end of the Pleistocene. When did symbolic aspects of mortuary ritual evolve? When did the dead themselves become symbols? In discussing such questions, The Palaeolithic Origins of Human Burial offers an engaging contribution to the debate on modern human origins. It is illustrated throughout, includes up-to-date examples from the Lower to Late Upper Palaeolithic, including information hitherto unpublished.
Tooth Development in Human Evolution and Bioarchaeology by Simon HillsonHuman children grow at a uniquely slow pace by comparison with other mammals. When and where did this schedule evolve? Have technological advances, farming and cities had any effect upon it? Addressing these and other key questions in palaeoanthropology and bioarchaeology, Simon Hillson examines the unique role of teeth in preserving detailed microscopic records of development throughout childhood and into adulthood. The text critically reviews theory, assumptions, methods and literature, providing the dental histology background to anthropological studies of both growth rate and growth disruption. Chapters also examine existing studies of growth rate in the context of human evolution and primate development more generally, together with implications for life history. The final chapters consider how defects in the tooth development sequence shed light on the consequences of biological and social transitions, contributing to our understanding of the evolution of modern human development and cognition.
An index to anthropological journals currently received by the Museum of Mankind Library (London), which incorporates the former Royal Anthropological Institute library; includes bibliographies and obituaries.
Covers fields of social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture and interdisciplinary studies.
ACCESS NOTE: 5 users. Combines Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index from the Royal Anthropological Institute of the UK. Offers worldwide indexing of all core periodicals, in addition to lesser known journals, from the early 19th century to today. Broad geographical coverage emphasizes the Commonwealth and Africa and extends to Eastern Europe, the Americas, Asia, Australasia, and the Pacific. Covers fields of social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture and interdisciplinary studies.
Access to Google Scholar with Penn-only links to full-text articles. Once authenticated through Penn's proxy, full-text articles to which Penn Libraries subscribe will become available within the Google Scholar search results.
Indexes most peer reviewed journals in science, technology, and medicine, and many in the social sciences, arts, and humanities. Scopus also includes a number of trade publications and conference papers, and can perform author and affiliation searching.
The Annual Review of Ecology, Evolution, and Systematics, in publication since 1970, covers significant developments in the fields of ecology, evolutionary biology, and systematics, as they apply to all life on Earth.
The Official Journal of the International Primatological Society
The Museum Library
Penn Museum respectfully acknowledges that it is situated on Lenapehoking, the ancestral and spiritual homeland of the Unami Lenape.
The Museum Library, located in the Academic Wing of the Penn Museum, is the University of Pennsylvania's branch library for anthropology and archaeology. With over 145,000 volumes on-site with historic strengths in biological and physical anthropology, cultural anthropology, archaeology worldwide, and Native American studies, it is one of the premier branch libraries for anthropology in the United States.