Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

FEDS - Vet: Overview

What is FEDS?

What is FEDS?
The Faculty Expertise Database System is a database in which to enter biographical information that provides content for faculty and researcher webpages and the Vet School web directory.  The CV function can be used to produce quick, unofficial, abbreviated CVs.

General questions:
Carole Cloud
cloud@vet.upenn.edu
215-746-1395

Photo questions:
For questions about profile headshots and adding images to your research expertise component, contact John Donges at
jdonges@vet.upenn.edu
215-898-4234

Data entry | New Bolton Center faculty:
Patricia Antes
antes@vet.upenn.edu
610-925-6320

Data entry questions | Uploading citations | PubMed link help:
Margy Lindem
mlindem@pobox.upenn.edu
215-898-8874

Help With Your FEDS Record

FEDS Vet - login

Key points for your web directory record:

  • Enter contact information that you want to display in the Bio and Contact information screens. Use a departmental contact if you don’t want your personal telephone/email in the directory.
  • Enter any Penn Vet appointments in Penn appointments (faculty, hospital, graduate group, current fellowships)
  • Paste or type in expertise statements for your Research and/or Clinical areas  (use HTML for emphasis or links).
  • Use very short noun phrases to describe your clinical practice and research focus for the two FEDS Expertise fields used in the Faculty-Clinician directory (PV Clinical, PV Research).   Separate phrases with commas.
  • Try to upload publications from Web of Science or EndNote. The system is optimized to display 10 publications; you can add more or fewer.

ORIENTATION
For a hands-on orientation to entering your own FEDS data, please contact Carole Cloud cloud@vet.upenn.edu
215-746-1395 and/or Margy Lindem mlindem@pobox.upenn.edu 215-898-8874.

LAB PAGES

Contact Carole Cloud to develop a website for your lab.

 

Adding publications

Since FEDS was developed by Penn's School of Medicine, the databases from which publication records could be downloaded have changed, and the FEDS import feature has not kept up with them.  Detailed instructions with illustrations are on the right hand column.

Here are FEDS publication import sources:

  • EndNote:  Select reference, File/Export, Save as Type: XML, Output style: doesn't matter
  • Web of Science: Select reference(s), Export-->Tab Delimited.  Import . In FEDS, choose import publications from ISI.

------------------------------------

  • Ovid MEDLINE: Select, Export as BRS/Tagged - only imports authors and title
  • PubMed: the 2020 revision of PubMed no longer includes an XML output format.  Not usable

------------------------------------

Updating the publication display

With changes to FEDS, you will likely have to add new citations to your public display manually. Choose the Expertise Output tab (1), then Select Public Publications (2).  If you do not see the publications that you added to FEDS listed under List of current publications, choose Switch to Manual (3).  Click Select alternate publications (4) then Add (5) next to the publications that you wish to include, then Return to Selected Publications (6).  You will probably have to use the Order pulldowns (7) to put recent publications at the top of your public display, then check Set Display Order (8).  You may be able to see a preview of how your publications will display by choosing View your Current Public Profile (9).

Updating publications in FEDS

 

Tips

Links

  • FEDS Vet Login
  • Video Tutorial for School of Medicine FEDS
    Note: The PSOM version of FEDS has a similar but slightly different interface. Most instructions still apply.

Documentation

FEDS development has not kept up with changes to the databases used to import publications for faculty profiles. 

  • EndNote XML is the only reliable import format, but requires EndNote software. 
  • The ISI Tab Delimited UTF 8 format works with most citations
  • The MEDLINE BRS format only imports titles