Gallup public opinion poll resources: Gallup Poll microdata

UPDATED 12/16/2024

The Gallup Poll Social Series is a set of twelve topical surveys. Each survey is administered during the same month each year, 2000 or 2001 to present. Surveys within the topical survey series uses the same core-question sequencing. GPSS survey microdata are provided in cumulative datasets that present responses to questions asked in more than one survey year.

The Finding Aids below are provided by Gallup.

GPSS Combined Codebook (MS Excel)

Individual monthly surveys within the Gallup Poll Social Series may have additional topical questions and also questions about other issues that may not appear in the cumulative microdata datasets. Microdata for these individual monthly surveys may appear in Roper EXPRESS or the Penn Libraries may be able to obtain them directly from Gallup.

UPDATED 1/17/2024

Microdata for more than 2,800 individual Gallup public opinion polls, from 1936 to mid-2015, may be available for download from the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research, Cornell University. These microdata include the monthly-rotation Gallup Poll Social Series polls and also other Gallup polls.

Roper Center Gallup Poll microdata may be delivered in one or more format, typically SPSS *.sav format datasets or fixed-field ASCII-text *.dat format datasets. In addition to PDF- or MS Word-format codebooks provided with each dataset,the Roper Center may provide Stata DO files for ASCII datasets.

UPDATED 12/17/2024

Starting in March 2020, Gallup has been surveying Americans on their lives during the COVID-19 crisis. The Gallup Panel COVID-19 Survey asks questions assessing the crisis, social distancing, COVID-19 vaccines, personal and financial disruption, workplace change and disruption, U.S. COVID-19 public policy and leadership, COVID-19 and the economy, COVID-19 and the media, and the wellbeing of U.S. adults and children,  .

The Gallup Panel COVID-19 Survey ceased with the 1st Quarter of 2023. The survey has been continued by the Gallup Wellbeing Panel Survey, starting in the 2nd Quarter of 2023.

Gallup Wellbeing Panel Survey (2023- )

The Gallup Wellbeing Panel Survey is a focused-down continuation of the COVID-19 Survey. In each quarter, a nationally representative panel of ~5,000 respondents is surveyed. The current dataset has 200 variables and 34,197 cases.

Gallup Wellbeing Panel Survey microdata are provided in SPSS sav and Stata dta formats.

Gallup Wellbeing Panel Survey Documentation

Gallup Panel COVID-19 Survey (2020-2023)

The Gallup Panel COVID-19 Survey is a web-administered simple random sample survey of Gallup Panel members. The Gallup Panel is a  probability-based nationally representative panel of U.S. adults. Gallup Panel COVID-19 Survey data collection started on March 13, 2020 and has undergone two subsequent revisions. The survey is fielded via web with an English-language questionnaire only.

• March 13, 2020 to April 5, 2020. 3,000 Gallup Panel members selected each day with ~1,200 completes daily.
• April 6, 2020 to April 26, 2020. 2,500 Gallup Panel members selected each day with ~1,200 completes daily.
• April 27, 2020 to August 16, 2020. 1,250 Gallup Panel members selected each day with ~500 completes daily.
• August 17, 2020 to the end of 2021. 12,000 Gallup Panel members selected each month, typically surveyed during the last two weeks of the month, with ~3,600 completes monthly.
• 2022 to the end of 1st Quarter 2023, the COVID survey moved to quarterly data collection, with 8,000 Gallup Panel members selected each month, with ~3,400 completes quarterly..

Gallup Panel COVID-19 Survey microdata are provided in SPSS sav and Stata dta formats. The current dataset has 912 variables for 191,763 cases through February 2023.

Gallup Panel COVID-19 Survey Documentation

UPDATED 5/17/2021

The Gallup US Tracking Poll -- also known as US Tracker and formerly known as the US Daily Tracking Poll or the US Dailies -- microdata covers polls conducted during individual years, 2008-2017, aiming to sample 1,000 respondents per day throughout the year, and 2018-2019, with a similar sample on a weekly and monthly basis. The microdata provide year, month, date, and day of the week variables; geographic variables include region, state, metropolitan area, congressional district, and ZIP code. (NB. ZIP Codes average a dozen respondents each per year.) Weighting variables are provided to produce nationwide estimates from the sample data.

From 2008 through 2017, the Gallup US Daily Tracking Poll had two survey components: Politics & Economics (PE) and Well Being (BE) with similar methodologies. For each of these years, US Daily Tracking Poll microdata are presented in one file per survey year, formatted for SPSS or Stata statistical software. The typical annual US Daily Tracking Poll microdata dataset contains more than 350,000 records - 1,000 records per day - with up to 200 variables.

At the beginning of 2018, the Well Being (WB) component was renamed : it is now the National Health and Well-Being Index. The Well-Being component also changed to a monthly mail questionnaire. The Politics & Economics (PE) component, also known as US Tracker, changed to a weekly telephone survey. In effect, the US Daily Tracking Poll's two components have been split and the microdata are presented in two files per survey year. The 2018 PE survey has 92 variables and approximately 1,500 records per week; the 2018 WB survey has 144 variables and approximately 10,000 records per month. The Well-Being component ceased with the August 2019 data collection period.

Documentation

• Gallup Daily Methodology. May 2017. (PDF)
  Provided by Gallup. Details on the US Daily's overall design, sampling, and administration, for survey years 2008 through 2017. Overview of Gallup-Sharecare Well-Being Index identifies component questions; SPSS syntax provided for variable recodes and for constructing topical index variables. Codebook provides questions and response options and variable name for Well-being track, Politics & Economy track, and questions shared by both tracks.
• Gallup Tracking Methodology 2018. March 2019. (PDF)
  Provided by Gallup. Details on the Tracking Survey's (viz., the weekly Politics & Economy survey) overall design, sampling, and administration, for survey years 2018 to present.
• Gallup National Health and Well-Being Index Methodological Documentation. May 2019. (PDF)
  Provided by Gallup. Details on the National Health and Well-Being Index's (viz., monthly Well-Being survey) overall design, sampling, and administration. Reproduces the survey questionnaire.
• Gallup-Sharecare Well-Being Mail Survey Questionnaire. February 2018. (PDF)
  Provided by Gallup. The 2018 National Health and Well-Being Index (viz., monthly Well-Being survey) questionnaire.
• US_DAILY_VARIABLES_2008_to_2018_20190207.xlsx.
  Provided by the Penn Libraries. This spreadsheet lists variables appearing in all years of the US Daily Tracking Poll microdata datasets, through the 2017 annual release.. The spreadsheet lists variables, variable labels (some of these are improvised), Gallup-assigned subject categories (some of these are improvised), a tally of years in which each variable is present, and occurrences in individual US Daily Tracking Poll years.
  WARNING! Do not use the 2018 survey variables on this spreadsheet : the WB survey presented here was a preliminary release, lacking important variables.

Data dictionaries

• US_TRACKER_2019_WB_SPSS_sysfile_info_20200526.xlsx
  US_TRACKER_2019_WB_SPSS_codebook_20200526.xlsx
• US_TRACKER_2018_WB_SPSS_sysfile_info_20200227.xlsx
  US_TRACKER_2018_WB_SPSS_codebook_20200227
• US_TRACKER_2018_PE_SPSS_sysfile_info_20200227.xlsx
  US_TRACKER_2018_PE_SPSS_codebook_20200227.xlsx
• US_DAILY_2017_DATA_CDBK_20180503.xlsx
• US_DAILY_2016_DATA_CDBK_20180125.xlsx
• US_DAILY_2015_DATA_CDBK_20180125.xlsx
• US_DAILY_2014_DATA_CDBK_20180125.xlsx
• US_DAILY_2013_DATA_CDBK_20180125.xlsx
• US_DAILY_2012_DATA_CDBK_20180125.xlsx
• US_DAILY_2011_DATA_CDBK_20180125.xlsx
• US_DAILY_2010_DATA_CDBK_20180125.xlsx
• US_DAILY_2009_DATA_CDBK_20180125.xlsx
• US_DAILY_2008_DATA_CDBK_20180125.xlsx

UPDATED 12/17/2024

The Gallup World Poll microdata dataset covers polls conducted in 168 countries during individual years, 2006-2024 (year in progress). 60 countries have been surveyed in all years through 2023; 142 countries have been surveyed in ten or more years. Annual national samples typically survey 1,000 respondents, with some annual national samples surveying 2,000, 4,000, or even 10,000 respondents. Weighting variables are provided to produce nationwide estimates from the sample data.

WARNING. Gallup World Poll microdata are presented in one file, formatted for SPSS or Stata statistical software. The all-waves Gallup World Poll microdata dataset is a VERY BIG file. The current release contains 2,820,509 cases with 2,750 variables.

Documentation

Data dictionaries

These data dictionaries have been generated using the SPSS codebook and sysinfo and the Stata codebook commands. They list all variables included in the cumulative World Poll microdata dataset, with variable labels; and values for those variables, with value labels. These files have the same content in different formats. The files were produced by the Penn Libraries.
Hint. Download the text-version files. Viewing in a web browser may lose fixed-font formatting.

UPDATED 4/25/2024

Meta and Gallup collaborated on an add-on module to the Gallup World Poll that asked questions on social connectedness and loneliness. This module was asked first in 2022, covering 143,686 respondents in 142 countries. The module's microdata dataset includes record ID variables that may be used to link into the Gallup World Poll microdata.

Documentation

These data dictionaries have been generated using the SPSS codebook and sysinfo and the Stata codebook commands. They list all variables included in the Meta-Gallup Social Connectedness Survey microdata dataset, with variable labels; and values for those variables, with value labels. These files have the same content in different formats. The files were produced by the Penn Libraries.
Hint. Download the text-version files. Viewing in a web browser may lose fixed-font formatting.