Guides: Germanic Languages &amp; Literatures: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Early Modern Period

Enzyklopädie des Märchens
Publication Date: 2015
The Nibelungen Tradition
Publication Date: 2002

WWI & WWII

Cambridge History of the First World War by Jay Winter (Editor)
Publication Date: 2014
The Cambridge History of the Second World War by Evan Mawdsley (Editor); John Ferris (Editor)
Publication Date: 2015

Subject Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Contemporary German Culture by John Sandford (Editor)
Publication Date: 2013
Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages by André Vauchez (Editor)
Publication Date: 2005

Biographical

Kritisches Lexikon zur deutschsprachigen Gegenwartsliteratur (KLG)
Important work with entries covering German literature from the 20th and 21st century. Author profiles and essays, with bibliographies of secondary literature. In German.
Historical Dictionary of German Literature to 1945
Publication Date: 2011
The history of this period in German literature is told through a detailed chronology, an introductory essay, a comprehensive bibliography, and over 200 cross-referenced dictionary entries on poetry, novels, historical narrative, philosophical musings, drama, and the exceptional writers who emerged and shaped German literature over the centuries.

Deutsche Biographie
The Neue Deutsche Biographie (NDB) (Aachen to Schwarz) and the Allgemeine Deutsche Biographie (ADB) (1875-1912), two separate print works now together, providing biographies for German-speaking countries. References to secondary literature.
Deutsche Biographische Enzyklopaedie (DBE)
This Dictionary of German Biography (DBE) provides information about people from all aspects of public life: men and women from the German-speaking world from early records to the present. The biographies include origins, education, places of influence, significant works, friendships and relationships, memberships, reception, prizes and honors. Note: DBE contains entries only for figures who are deceased.

Cambridge Histories

Cambridge Histories Online is a collection of reference works, summarizing historical political and cultural history, literature, philosophy, religious studies, music and the arts.

Literature Companions

Cambridge Companion to Modern German Culture by Eva Kolinsky (Editor); Wilfried van der Will (Editor)
Publication Date: 2006
Oxford Companion to German Literature by Henry Garland; Mary Garland
Publication Date: 1997
Companion to German Cinema by Terri Ginsberg (Editor); Andrea Mensch (Editor)
ISBN: 9781444345575
Publication Date: 2011
The Cambridge Companion to the Modern German Novel by Graham Bartram (Editor); Philip Payne (Editor)
Publication Date: 2004
The Cambridge Companion to German Romanticism by Nicholas Saul (Editor)
ISBN: 9780521848916
Publication Date: 2009