Korea in the Age of Empires: Overview

America's Man in Korea is the story of America's initial involvement in Korea as told through the private family letters of U.S. Navy ensign George Clayton Foulk, Washington's representative in Seoul in the mid-1880s.

Constitutes the State Department's official record and provides access to previously classified material that otherwise would be unavailable.

Documents related to the activities of China and Japan in Korea.

With indexing of publications since 1915, PAIS includes bibliographic citations to journal articles, books, government documents, grey literature, and more. Material about events in Korea represent the contemporary scholarly and political views.

Convenient source of pre-annex and post-WWII IR documents relating to the sovereignty of Korea.

material prepared by U.S. military intelligence officers on military, political, and economic developments in Japan from 1918 through August 1941, including its interactions with Korea.

Sands was appointed second secretary of legation at Tokyo, and in the following year became the first secretary of legation at Seoul, where he remained for two years. Between 1900-1904 he served as adviser to Emperor Gojong of Korea

Includes:
-Despatches from U.S. Ministers to Korea, 1883-1905
-Notes from the Korean Legation in the United States to the Department of State, 1883-1906

Request through borrow direct. Min Yŏnghwan was a statesman and reformist of late Chosŏn dynasty Korea. His suicide in protest of the 1905 Japanese-Korean Treaty of Protection made him a "powerful symbol of Korean independence" and led to his being regarded as a major patriot in Korea to this day. Min's detailed descriptions of his journeys to Russia and London produce vivid images of the world at that time while also revealing Min's perceptions of it from his Confucian background.

This is a collection of the English writings of Philip Jaisohn (So Chae-p'il in Korean, 1864-1951), a Korean-born American medical doctor who made an outstanding contribution to the causes of Korean reform and independence beginning in the 1880s and stretching all the way to 1951.

Request through Borrow Direct. Autobiographic narrative of Christian woman who faced oppression and imprisonment because of her religious beliefs.

Autobiography of Korean nationalist, independence leader and premier of the Korean Provisional Government.

Microfilm collection containing diplomatic messages sent by the Korean legation to the U.S. Department of State.

Narratives of elderly Koreans recalling life under Japanese colonization.

Syngman Rhee was a Korean statesman, independence activist, and the first president of the Provisional Government of the Republic of Korea as well as the first president of South Korea.

Available in print and online.
The Chosŏn dynasty (1392-1910) produced an abundance of epistles, writings that mirror the genres of neighboring countries (especially China) while retaining their own specific historical trajectory. Written in both literary Chinese and vernacular Korean, the writings collected here range from royal public edicts to private letters, a fascinating array that blurs the line between classical and everyday language and the divisions between men and women.

Anthology of Korean primary sources in translation. v. 2. covers the seventeenth century to the modern period.

Includes 22 English language newspapers published in China and providing coverage of WWI, WWII, foreign missionaries and government involvement in China, and more.

The Japan Times was launched on March 22, 1897, with the goal of giving Japanese an opportunity to read and discuss news and current events in English to help Japan to participate in the international community. The paper was independent of government control, but from 1931 onward, the Japanese government was mounting pressure on the paper's editors to submit to its policies. It became and remains the widest circulating English language newspaper in Japan.

Though based in China, the missionaries and academic who produced the material in this collection frequently commented on Korea and East Asia in general.

Catalog of the University of Pennsylvania Libraries' books, journals, films, electronic resources, etc.