Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Sage Handbook of Television Studies
Publication Date: 2014
Bringing together a truly international spread of contributors from across the UK, US, South America, Mexico and Australia, this handbook charts the field of television studies from issues of ownership and regulation through to reception and consumption.
Monty Python's flying circus by
Publication Date: 2005
One of the most innovative comedic programs to air on television, Monty Python's Flying Circus was a mix of the carnivalesque and the critical. The show has become famous for eschewing many of the conventions of situation comedy, the fully formed and coherent script, narrative closure, predictable characters, and the decorum associated with presentation. Its curious transatlantic popularity defied the assumption that comedy is regional and exclusive, and the show's cult status still lives on in the U.S. and U.K.
Articles+ searches through many Penn-subscribed journals and brings you results all in one place.
How to Read a Citation
Book citations generally show a publisher and a city of publication. Book chapters will include the title of the chapter as well as the name of the book.
Article citations have a journal/periodical title in addition to the article title. They will usually also show a volume and issue number, and may show a day and month.
Using Citations to Find Articles
If you have a complete article citation, search Articles+ to find the full text of your article.
No luck? That doesn't mean we don't have access to the article - it could be in print! Try using the PennText Article Finder as a next step. You can find PennText on the Library homepage.
To find the full-text of an article, enter the journal name into the PennText article finder. A pop-up box will give you options to access the article online, in print, or the option to request through interlibrary loan.
Using Citations to Find Books
If your citation is a book, use Franklin, the Library catalog. Franklin will help you find the library in which the book is located, and the call number.
You can search for a specific book by title, author, or ISBN. You can also do a keyword or subject keyword search to find books on a particular topic.
Other important resources for finding books:
This document suggests a good method of crafting effective keyword searches:
Film Index International
Film Index International
A reference work for films and biographical info about people in film from the British Film Institute (BFI). Includes bibliographies unlike what is available from the Internet Movie Database (IMDb), including scholarly and academic work in Cinema Studies and coverage of international films.