Guides: Writing an Object Biography at the Penn Museum: Finding Information about a Museum Object

Getting Started

Begin by selecting an object.

Helpful tips for selecting an object for research

Once you have chosen an object, begin by taking note of its object number. The object number is a string of numbers or numbers and letters that is unique to each object in the Penn Museum's collection, and can be used to quickly locate that object's record in the catalogue. If the object you have selected is on display in the galleries, the object number will appear in smaller text on the object label. (See example label below.)

Anatomy of an Object Label

If your object is not on display, the object number will be found in the object record, located within the Penn Museum's online catalogue.

If you are browsing the catalogue for an object to select, begin by searching for key words--we recommend type of object (examples: figurine, bowl, jewelry) and country of origin--then filtering your results using the options on the left-hand side.

You will use the object number to quickly find the catalogue record for the object by entering it in the Object Number/Field Number/Film ID field in the Advanced Search field of the online catalogue.

Using Object Records

The object record contains basic information about the object, such as:

Object number
Which Penn Museum curatorial section the object is in
Images of the object
The cultural group that made or used the object
Provenience (where the object was collected)
Credit line (when and how the object came into the Museum's collection, including the name of the expedition or donor from which it came)

The object record may also record details such as former ID number, which can help tie the object to the recording system used by the original excavator or collector. Such details are crucial for locating relevant information in library resources or in the archives.

Additionally, the object record lists any exhibitions that the object has been in, as well as certain (although not all) publications in which the object has appeared. This information provides a useful starting point for seeking out further information about your object.

Preparing for an Object Visit

Prompts for Looking in the Classroom
A helpful worksheet created by the Penn Museum's Academic Engagement Department guiding students through some key observations to make during in-person object visits.
Penn Museum Object Biography Worksheet
A step-by-step guide to creating a biography for a Penn Museum object, developed by the Museum's Academic Engagement staff.

Guidelines for student researchers at the Penn Museum

Information about Student Collections Research at the Penn Museum
Resources for students who are planning research with Penn Museum objects.
Student Research Access Request Form

All research requests must be submitted at least 2 weeks (10 business days) in advance of the desired dates to access the Museum’s collections.
Only persons listed on the Student Collections Research Access Request form will be permitted in storage and study areas.
Research is conducted on weekdays (Monday-Friday) between 9:30 am and 4:30 pm. Museum Offices are closed on weekends and University-designated holidays.
Bags and coats are not permitted in the Collections Study Room and must be stored in the East Entrance lockers. Laptops and tablets may not be placed on surfaces where objects are on display. Students must use a pencil (not pen) to take notes. Food and drink are also prohibited.
Only designated Museum staff or those who have been trained in object handling will be allowed to handle objects unless special arrangements have been made with the relevant Curatorial section in advance.
Academic Engagement has a limited supply of tools for object study (e.g., calipers, magnifying loupes, diameter charts, Munsell books, etc.) and photography equipment that may be used by student researchers upon advanced request.
Taking photographs or creating illustrations for research and educational purposes is permitted. For more information on publishing photographs of the collection or obtaining high-resolution images see Rights & Permissions.
Scientific testing (material analysis), x-ray imaging, and replications (rubbings, impressions, and casts) falls under the provisions of the Museum’s Scientific Testing Policy (available upon request). Scientific testing proposals must be arranged in advance of the visit.
Researchers are encouraged to submit to the Academic Engagement Department one copy of any paper, publication, or film that results from the research undertaken during the collections visit.