Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding One-Act Plays in Drama Online
Provides access to full-text plays and theater reference works. It features titles from the Methuen Drama, Arden Shakespeare and Faber lists to form a collection of the most studied, performed and critically acclaimed plays from the last two and a half thousand years. Drama Online also provides biographical information about each playwright as well as supporting critical and contextual resources on performance, theater craft, criticism and interpretation
- Connect with Drama Online using the link above to filter to One-Act Plays.
- Select "Plays" from the top navigation, and on the next page, toggle to have only subscriber content show. That will limit what you see to only what Penn has paid for.
- Select "Find Plays" in the link next to the line at the top: "Have a specific cast size or length of play in mind? Find plays"
- Toggle the Genre filter to "One-Act Plays." You can use many of the other filters to see a more specific sub-set of One-Act plays.
That's it! Some screenshots below should guide you through this process.
Finding One-Act Plays in the Franklin Catalog
Franklin: Catalog (Penn Libraries Catalog)
Lists materials in all libraries, except the Biddle Law Library. Includes records for: books, ebooks, videos, journal titles, and more. While you can search journals by their titles to see if the Library subscribes, Franklin: Catalog does not include individual articles. For articles, see Franklin: Articles+ and/or Subject databases. Video: Using Franklin: Catalog
- Enter the Franklin catalog at the link above.
- Choose the Advanced Search option.
- In the Advanced Search, type in "one-act plays" and change the field to "Subject Heading Keyword." You can add other keywords to the search in a different line using the Keyword field.
- In the result screen, you should see one-act plays that fit your criteria, listing the availability, location, and call number. The "See shelf location" link can tell you where specifically in the building to find items.
See screenshots below for more details.
Best American Short Plays Series
If you're interesting in browsing a best-of collection containing many one-act plays, you might be interested in the Best American Short Plays series. They're shelved in the Van Pelt Stacks on the 3rd floor at PN6120.A4 .B44, and run from 1990-2016. Immediate preceding this series, right next to them on the shelf, is the "Best Short Plays" series, which ran from the 1950s-1989.
The Best American Short Plays, 2015-2016 by (Best American Short Plays). Now in its seventh decade, the annals of The Best American Short Plays series now boasts hundreds of groundbreaking one-acts and an alumni list the likes of which other anthologies can only dream. From luminaries like Tennessee Williams and Edward Albee to the brightest stars of today, such as Murray Schisgal, James Armstrong, Billy Aronson, Jules Tasca, Neil LaBute, and Daniel Gallant, TBASP established itself as the standard bearer for its genre by presenting materials that offer a forthright annual reading of our nation's pulse. If The Best American Short Plays 2015-2016 , co-edited by William Demastes and John Patrick Bray, proves as portentous as its forebears, suffice it to say that our hearts are pounding. In this volume, DeMastes and Bray have assembled a collection of plays centered on the notion of "Starting Over." Following the 2016 election cycle, which turned centuries-old political mores and traditions on their heads, many Americans especially those in the theatre community feel as though the incoming presidential administration and congress will require our nation to start anew. The feeling that we are beginning again (for better or for worse) has crept into the consciousness of this year's crop of writers. These playwrights individually and collectively demonstrate the vitality and necessity of the theatre as a space where we can ask questions about character and identity on both personal and national scales. Although answers aren't easily forthcoming, the ensuing silences provides a vacuum of sorts an ideal but ephemeral space where any citizen, regardless of persuasion or belief, can stop, sit, and think.
Call Number: PN6120.A4 .B44
Publication Date: 2017-08-01