Guides: Penn Vet Professional Development: Students and postdocs

Student Professional Development Funding

SAVMA Conference Travel Grant Application
Students can apply for a travel grant from SAVMA to travel to and attend a professional conference or symposium related to the veterinary medical profession.
Grad Center at Penn
The Grad Center at Penn offers graduate students information and resources to help identify funding opportunities and make more informed financial decisions while pursuing your degree.
GAPSA Academic Event Funding
GAPSA Research Student Council seeks to fund events that focus on academic enrichment and career development
GAPSA Research Student Council travel grants
GAPSA Research Student Council has some funds available to distribute as individual travel grants for students presenting their research at conferences.
GAPSA President Gutmann Leadership Award
Funded by President Amy Gutmann, the President’s Award will be given as a travel grant to students presenting at either an international conference, or a conference within the United States that would normally be out of their budget even with an Individual Travel Grant. Students must be presenting at the conference to be eligible.

Penn Vet Veterinary Employment Bulletin Board
Penn Vet-managed Veterinary Employment Bulletin Board, which provides information on job postings by area of specialty, region, or the type of employer. Summer jobs are included.
Penn Vet Training Opportunities
Information on externships, internships, residencies and fellowships.
Research opportunities (CURF)
While this directory of research opportunities is aimed at undergraduates, graduate students may also find opportunities. The Penn Vet faculty directory can be searched for clinical and research interests.
AAVMC One Health and Research-Related Student Opportunities
AVMA Veterinary Career Center
Includes job postings, tips for job seekers, student externship locator, and veterinarian service opportunities.
NIH Medical Research Scholars Program
MRSP is a year-long residential research immersion program for medical, dental and veterinary students seeking careers as clinician-scientists.

Projects for Progress
Intended to encourage students, staff, and faculty to design and implement pilot projects based on innovative research that will advance our aim of a more inclusive society.

Application goes live January 17, 2023. The deadline is January 29, 2023 at 5pm EST.

Humane Society Veterinary Medical Association (HSVMA) Student Summer Lecture Series
HSVMA is hosting a Student Summer Lecture Series of webinars via Zoom on topics from our Speakers Bureau in addition to some new, timely topics. These webinars will be approximately one hour in length with an additional 10-15 minutes of Q&A afterwards. Registration for these lectures is FREE for all HSVMA student members! If you know of a friend who would like to register but is not a HSVMA member, please let them know that student membership is free through the first year after graduation. Joining HSVMA is simple and will allow access to the summer lecture series schedule and registration links on this page.
more...less...
First lecture on Tuesday, May 26, at 5 pm PT/8 pm ET.
VLE Veterinary Leadership Experience
Penn Vet can send two people per class to VLE training in July.
Penn Graduate Student Center Calendar
Academic support for writing and grantmanship as well as quality of life events
Penn Annual Conference
CE annual professional conference. Penn vet students and staff attend for free.

Penn Vet Alumni Office Career Coaches
Penn Vet's Alumni office maintains a database of veterinarians by specialty who have volunteered to answer questions about career paths and to offer their perspective on how to achieve success post-graduation.
Graduate Student Center
Support for writing, grantwriting, teaching, as well as recreational activities
UPenn Weingarten Learning Center
The Office of Learning Services provides professional instruction in skills such as academic reading, writing, study strategies, and time management
UPenn Responsible Conduct of Research Training course
Courses fulfill the RCR requirement for students and postdoctoral fellows on NSF grants, and may be taken in partial fulfillment of the NIH requirement.

AVMA Veterinary Career Center
Includes job postings, tips for job seekers, student externship locator, and veterinarian service opportunities.
AVMA My Veterinary Life
Professional development and wellness site for students and new professionals
Veterinary Distance Courses (IVIS)
International Veterinary Information Service (IVIS) maintains a list of international online veterinary training for veterinarians, veterinary students, technicians and animal health professionals.
VetFolio
Career and financial planning, professional development, client communication. Student membership sponsored by Hills for 3 years post-graduation. Free to vet school faculty, housestaff and students.
VIN (Veterinary Information Network)
Veterinarian forums and Student Center, CE, New Graduate Survival Manual, Getting Through the Day and Getting Through the Night (free CE classes for new graduates). Free to vet school faculty and students.
VETVANCE
Zoetis-sponsored professional development and networking site for veterinary students and recent graduates. Job search, financial management and business skills

The Office of the Provost is accepting applications for grants through the Campaign for Community
The Campaign for Community aims to strengthen our Penn community by finding ways to discuss and understand key issues that may appear to be difficult or intractable.

Proposals should help achieve the Campaign's key goals:

To promote understanding of and respect for multiple points of view on important topics related to the University community
To encourage dialogue and discussion among members of the community about issues with the potential for difference and disagreement
To create opportunities for all members of the University’s community to participate in conversations about important topics

As of June 2020, proposals are now being accepted for projects and conversations on the following three themes:

Projects and conversations about racial justice within the Penn community
Projects and conversations about racial justice between members of the Penn community and members of our Philadelphia community
Projects and conversations about racial justice by members of the Penn community in their own home communities, including students at home over the summer

The Office of Postoctoral Affairs provides training for all biomedical postdocs.

Core training
Core elements of Postdoctoral training include Environmental health and Radiation Safety, Regulations and the IACUC, research presentation and scientific writing skills and regular attendance at department seminars
Postdoc Supplemental Training
Speaking, networking, career workshops, laboratory management, scientific writing, technology workshops
COHA Fellowship Opportunities
The CTSA One Health Alliance is offering fully funded two year research fellowships for veterinary specialists completing residency training. Choose from a variety of experienced interdisciplinary mentor teams to advance research in your specialty.

BPP Travel Award Program
All postdocs currently registered with BPP are eligible to apply for one travel award per calendar year.

Clearinghouse for Training Modules to Enhance Data Reproducibility
NIH Rigor and Reproducibility Training Modules
NIH Rigor and Reproducibility Workshops
Recordings of NIH-hosted workshops focused on rigor, reproducibility, and transparency in scientific research.