Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
These databases will help you find scholarly articles about your topic:
Subject Specific Databases
ERIC (Education Information Resource Center) - ProQuest
Indexes education-related journal articles and other publications. Cross-file search with other ProQuest databases.
Indexing and abstracts for 3,500+ journals in education and related fields, full-text for 1,90+0 journals, and full-text for 550+ monographs. See Journal Coverage List. Education Source includes the content in EBSCO's Professional Development Collection, Education Index Retrospective: 1929-1983, and Education Index Full-text (H.W. Wilson). (PennKey required)
Articles+ searches through many Penn-subscribed journals and brings you results all in one place.
Access to Google Scholar with Penn-only links to full-text articles. Once authenticated through Penn's proxy, full-text articles to which Penn Libraries subscribe will become available within the Google Scholar search results.
General, multidisciplinary periodical database, covering all scholarly disciplines, with many general and popular magazines, and news sources. Includes bibliographic citations with indexing and abstracts for more than 16,000 periodicals.
Why use this guide?
This Critical Writing Program guide will help you to:
- Read a citation and distinguish between various types of citations
- Find books and articles using citations and keywords
- Choose the best scholarly resources for your topic
- Get personalized assistance!
How to Read a Citation
Book citations generally show a publisher and a city of publication. Book chapters will include the title of the chapter as well as the name of the book.
- APA: McWilliams, J. A. (2019). Compete or close: Traditional neighborhood schools under pressure. Cambridge, MA: Harvard Education Press.
- Chicago: McWilliams, Julie A. Compete or Close: Traditional Neighborhood Schools under Pressure. Cambridge, MA: Harvard Education Press, 2019.
- MLA: McWilliams, Julie A. Compete or Close: Traditional Neighborhood Schools under Pressure. Harvard Education Press, 2019.
Article citations have a journal/periodical title in addition to the article title. They will usually also show a volume and issue number, and may show a day and month.
- APA: Steinberg, M. P., & MacDonald, J.M. (2019). The effects of closing urban schools on students’ academic and behavioral outcomes: Evidence from Philadelphia. Economics of Education Review, 69, 25-60. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.econedurev.2018.12.005
- Chicago: Steinberg, Matthew P. and John M. MacDonald. "The Effects of Closing Urban Schools on Students’ Academic and Behavioral Outcomes: Evidence from Philadelphia." Economics of Education Review 69 (2019): 25-60. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.econedurev.2018.12.005
- MLA: Steinberg, Matthew P., and John M. MacDonald. "The Effects of Closing Urban Schools on Students’ Academic and Behavioral Outcomes: Evidence from Philadelphia." Economics of Education Review, vol. 69, 2019, pp. 25-60. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.econedurev.2018.12.005
For an extensive guide on all citation formats, visit Purdue OWL (Online Writing Lab). This is a highly recommended resource.
Using Citations to Find Articles
If you have a complete article citation, search Articles+ from the Penn Libraries homepage to find the full text of your article. When you search from the Penn Libraries homepage, you can select the correct title from the second column of the results: Articles+ to be connected with the article you are looking for.
No luck? That doesn't mean we don't have access to the article - it could be in print! Try using the PennText Article Finder as a next step. You can find PennText on the Library homepage.
To find the full-text of an article, enter the journal name into the PennText article finder. A pop-up box will give you options to access the article online, in print, or the option to request through Interlibrary Loan.
To request an item from another library, first check if the item is available through BorrowDirect+, then check if it is available through EZBorrow. If neither are available, place an Interlibrary Loan request. For more information on Interlibrary Loan and requesting materials from other libraries, visit this guide.
Using Citations to Find Books
If your citation is a book, use Franklin, the Library catalog. Franklin will help you find the library in which the book is located, and the call number.
You can search for a specific book by title, author, or ISBN. You can also do a keyword or subject keyword search to find books on a particular topic.
Other important resources for finding books:
This document suggests a good method for crafting effective keyword searches:
Information Literacy Librarian
Make an Appointment with a Librarian
Penn Librarians are here to help you with your research! If you need any help, feel free to make an appointment with a librarian, for this class or for any others during your time here at Penn.
To ensure that the resource you have is scholarly and/or peer-reviewed, check Ulrichsweb, accessible through this link. Just search for the name of the journal, and if it is peer-reviewed, there will be a "referee" symbol listed next to it.
PowerNotes is a browser extension that helps you gather and organize research.
Have questions about PowerNotes? Tips, troubleshooting, and tutorials are here: https://www.blog.powernotes.com/help
Still need help? You can use the PowerNotes contact form, or you can contact the Penn Libraries—be sure to include "PowerNotes" in your question, so it is routed to the correct librarian.