Skip to main content

Services for SEAS Faculty: Home

Summary

The University of Pennsylvania Libraries offers services to faculty to support research and teaching activities. Feel free to contact Doug or Aman for more information.

Asst. Director for STEM Libraries & Engineering Librarian

Doug McGee's picture
Doug McGee
Contact:
Biomedical Library
Johnson Pavilion
3610 Hamilton Walk
Philadelphia, PA 19104
215-898-8170

To Support Your Research:

E-Resources Explore our digital databases, e-journals, e-books, e-reference works, and more. Franklin is the Penn Libraries' online catalog.

FacultyEXPRESS Standing faculty may use FacultyEXPRESS to obtain books, journal and conference articles, and we'll take care of getting them to you.

BorrowDirect and EZBorrow offer "expedited interlibrary loan" services by letting you search a combined catalog and directly request books not currently available at Penn; most books arrive within 3-5 working days.  BorrowDirect provides access to  the collections of the other Ivy League institutions as well as MIT, Johns Hopkins, Universy of Chicago, Duke and Stanford.  EZBorrow provides access to the collections over over 60 academic institutions across Pennsylvania and nearby states.

Interlibrary Loan is available to all faculty and provides access to books and articles not held within Penn's collections.

Suggest books, journals, and other information resources for the Penn Library Collection.

Need Proxy Borrowers? Up to 5 Penn people can be designated as proxy borrowers for you. See the Faculty Proxy Borrower Registration form for details.

One-on-one personalized research consultations/orientations in your office or at the library. Please contact Doug or Aman for an appointment.

To Support your Teaching:

To support student learning, Doug and Aman can

  • Visit your classes to discuss information resources and strategies that can help students complete course assignments, senior design projects, etc.
  • Create web-based resource pages to assist with research and completion of assignments.
  • Incorporate information literacy and lifelong learning competencies into your courses and assignments.
  • Guide students on how to find peer-reviewed research results, and evaluate information.
  • Offer workshops in digital pedagogy, Canvas, and more.

Canvas, Course Reserves, and Scanning

  • Request a Canvas site be set up for your course.
  • For assistance with Canvas, contact our Courseware Support Librarians at canvas@pobox.upenn.edu. Additional information may be found on our Canvas Support Site.
  • Electronic reserve materials (journal articles, book excerpts, problem set solutions, etc.) can be scanned and uploaded to your Canvas (or non-Canvas) course web site. Contact Doug or Aman.
  • Put books and other materials on reserve for your students. We'll order books if Penn Library doesn't own them. Contact Doug or Aman.

Community Health & Engineering Librarian

Aman Kaur's picture
Aman Kaur
Contact:
University of Pennsylvania Libraries
Biomedical Library
Johnson Pavilion
3610 Hamilton Walk
Philadelphia, PA 19104
215-746-0101
Website