Whole journals devoted to literature reviews! While the AnnRev suite does not have a social work title, it does include titles on sociology, psychology, law and social sciences, and organizational psychology that cover social work and social policy.
SocAbs isn't consistent in identifying literature reviews. So, add this line to your Advanced Search: AND (literature N/2 review) OR "systematic review" OR "meta-analysis" OR "scoping review" in Anywhere except full text - NOFT
If that returns only a few results, modify the search line, changing the field tag from NOFT to Anywhere.
Type search terms, then choose Literature Review, Systematic Review, Meta Analysis, and/or Metasynthesis from the Methodology box on the page. Then run search. HINT! You can also filter your search results for Methodology.
This major social sciences publisher's ejournal site offers a post-search filter for Article Type = REVIEW ARTICLE. That article type is very broad, retrieving book reviews and oddities as well as literature reviews and systematic reviews.
Fulltext for US doctoral dissertations and masters theses, 1997-present and sometimes earlier too, with many foreign universities' dissertations and theses too. Dissertations always have literature reviews, to place the dissertation research into its disciplinary context.
See The Campbell Library for published systematic reviews of interventions in crime and justice, as well as social welfare, education, and international development. Campbell systematic reviews also appear in the open-access ejournal, Campbell Systematic Reviews.
“Developed by world-leading experts, this course provides over 15 hours of self-directed learning on conducting a complete systematic review process for both new and experienced review authors.” - from resource home page
A web-based systematic-review production software. It is required for anyone doing a Cochrane systematic review and is now available for non-Cochrane systematic reviews “to support evidence synthesis development and evidence-based medical education. RevMan Web facilitates the creation of meta-analyses, forest plots, risk-of-bias tables, and other systematic review elements. It is also widely used in learning or training about systematic review production.” Users can access and work on systematic reviews together anywhere.
An international database of prospectively registered systematic reviews in health and social care, welfare, public health, education, crime, justice, and international development, where there is a health related outcome.
The Evidence for Policy and Practice Information and Co-ordinating Centre (EPPI-Centre) is part of the Social Science Research Unit at the Institute of Education, University of London. EPPI develops systematic reviews and developing review methods in social science and public policy.
Includes the following databases:
- The KSR Evidence database includes systematic reviews, meta-analyses, and certain health technology assessment (HTA) reports published since 2015 and currently contains over 25,000 critical appraisals and over 200,000 systematic reviews
- EGT is a comprehensive collection of evidence-based clinical practice guideline content, providing summaries and appraisals (TRUST Scorecards) of guidelines developed from systematic reviews.
- ECRI’s TRUST Scorecards identify how the guidelines adhere to the National Academy of Medicine (Institute of Medicine) standards for trustworthiness.
- Evidence-Based Practice, a monthly journal focused on providing answers to some of the most important and common questions derived from patient care experiences and the newest practice changing medical literature. Lippincott Solution’s team of clinical experts have reviewed, condensed, and extracted key information from lengthy practice guidelines and put them into streamlined, comprehensive guideline summaries.
Database Tips for Conducting Systematic Reviews
Use Methodology filter to search for Systematic Review, or Treatment Outcome/Clinical Trial
Use Thesaurus (subject terms) to search for evidence based practice, Best practices, or Clinical trials
Use Article Types to filter for systematic reviews
Use MeSH search for Evidence-Based Practice
Use the Publication Type filter to search for Systematic Reviews and Meta Analyses
Use EBM filter to search for systematic review, meta analysis, and clinical trials
A great one-stop fulltext source on social sciences research methodologies, from SAGE Publishing, a leading publisher in the social sciences.
• Methods Map is a quick way to find content on your research methodology.
• Project Planner walks through the steps of a research project, linked to Methods Map content.
Online. American Psychological Association, 2018- .
• Designing and proposing your research project.
• Conducting your literature review.
• Selecting and describing your research instruments.
• Managing your research data and documentation.
• Writing your psychology research paper.