Anesthesia and Analgesia for Veterinary Technicians 5th Ed by
Covering essential principles of anesthesia administration and pain management in small and large animals, Anesthesia and Analgesia for Veterinary Technicians, 5th Edition is completely updated with the latest drugs and techniques. This entry-level practical resource prepares you to properly administer anesthesia with the most up-to-date information on pre-anesthetic preparation of the patient, induction procedures, monitoring animals' vital signs during the anesthetic period, and postoperative care. Dive into interesting discussions of actions and side effects of anesthetic agents; the physiology of respiration, heart rate, and blood pressure; emergency response; anesthetic equipment; and specialized techniques - and take a more integrated approach to learning techniques for anesthesia administration with the text's expertly illustrated step-by-step procedures. Comprehensive coverage of lab animals and large and small animals makes this an excellent resource for veterinary students and technicians. Two large animal anesthesia chapters cover pain management and anesthetic techniques for equine, ruminant, camelid, and swine patients. Procedures boxes offer clear step-by-step guidelines, with sequential, high-quality color photos, for performing common procedures during each phase of an anesthetic event. Reference tables and boxes facilitate rapid access to information like fluid administration rates, properties of anesthetic drugs, oxygen flow rates, anesthetic protocols, and normal and abnormal monitoring parameters. Vet Tech Threads help you grasp key content and include pedagogical aids, such as: introductions, suggested readings, boxed Technician Notes, learning objectives, chapter outlines, key terms, and a glossary. Glossary at the end of the text provides you with accurate, concise definitions. Evolve site provides you with additional interactive assets that reinforce what you learn in the text. NEW! Updated drug information, equipment, and techniques keep you up-to-date on the latest advances in the field. NEW! Content on camelid anesthesia prepares you to properly treat llamas and alpacas.
Veterinary Anesthesia and Analgesia, the fifth edition of Lumb & Jones by
Veterinary Anesthesia and Analgesia: the Fifth Edition of Lumb and Jones is a reorganized and updated edition of the gold-standard reference for anesthesia and pain management in veterinary patients. Provides a thoroughly updated edition of this comprehensive reference on veterinary anesthesia and analgesia, combining state-of-the-art scientific knowledge and clinically relevant information Covers immobilization, sedation, anesthesia, and analgesia of companion, wild, zoo, and laboratory animals Takes a body systems approach for easier reference to information about anesthetizing patients with existing conditions Adds 10 completely new chapters with in-depth discussions of perioperative heat balance, coagulation disorders, pacemaker implantation, cardiac output measurement, cardiopulmonary bypass, shelter anesthesia and pain management, anesthetic risk assessment, principles of anesthetic pharmacology, and more Now printed in color, with more than 400 images
Errors in Veterinary Anesthesia by
Errors in Veterinary Anesthesia is the first book to offer a candid examination of what can go wrong when anesthetizing veterinary patients and to discuss how we can learn from mistakes. Discusses the origins of errors and how to learn from mistakes Covers common mistakes in veterinary anesthesia Provides strategies for avoiding errors in anesthetizing small and large animal patients Offers tips and tricks to implement in clinical practice Presents actual case studies discussing errors in veterinary anesthesia
Anesthesia Equipment: Principles and Application by
Offering highly visual, easy-to-read coverage of the full range of anesthesia equipment in use today, this authoritative reference is your go-to text for objective, informed answers to ensure optimal patient safety. Anesthesia Equipment, 3rd Edition, provides detailed information on the intricate workings of each device or workstation, keeping you fully up to date and helping you meet both equipment and patient care challenges. Remains unequalled in both depth and breadth of coverage, offering readable, concise guidance on all aspects of today's anesthesia machines and equipment. Details the latest machines, vaporizers, ventilators, breathing systems, vigilance, ergonomics, and simulation. Improves your understanding of the physical principles of equipment, the rationale for its use, delivery systems for inhalational anesthesia, systems monitoring, hazards and safety features, maintenance and quality assurance, special situations/equipment for non-routine adult anesthesia, and future directions for the field. Includes ASA Practice Parameters for care, and helps you ensure patient safety with detailed advice on risk management and medicolegal implications of equipment use. Highlights the text with hundreds of full-color line drawings and photographs, graphs, and charts. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Veterinary Anaesthesia by
An acknowledged classic in its field, Veterinary Anaesthesia 11th edition has undergone a thorough revision to bring you the latest information in a more accessible format than ever before. The book meets the needs of several groups. For students, it provides basic concepts and 'how to' advice on anaesthetizing animals. For veterinarians in practice or those working with laboratory animals it's an excellent reference that draws on both the considerable experience of the authors and on published scientific data. Those wishing to specialize in veterinary anaesthesia will find it a stimulating introduction to the subject. This revision has been expanded to incorporate evidence-based information, additional chapters on advances in analgesia, anaesthesia of small mammals, fish and wildlife, and updated information on cardiopulmonary cerebral resuscitation (CPCR). The wide range of species covered and the clear descriptions of basic principles, techniques and equipment, coupled with an extensive literature review, make Veterinary Anaesthesia 11th edition your essential companion whether in classroom or in clinic.'The before, during, after, how and why of every anaesthesia is clearly explained in this thorough "anaesthesia" bible ... No doubt this will be a reference throughout your professional career, whatever path you follow'. Reviewed by: Fabienne Dethioux , Tomorrow's Vets Date: December 2014 "The layout is attractive and easy to use, and the book covers both general principles and practical advice. It should be on the shelves of every veterinary practice and in every student's library." Reviewed by: Polly Taylor. Date: July 2014 all large and small animal species covered in one book: includes new advances in anaesthesia in horses, birds, lab animals and wild animals glossary of USA and UK drug names: up-dated coverage of all new anaesthetic agents in Europe and the USA first section covers principles of drug action, pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics the only book to discuss anaesthesia of individual species in detail: lot of info on anaesthesia of goats, sheep and other herbivores such as camels and llamas also covers analgesia in all species chapter on special cases such as anaesthesia in obstetrics chapter on anaesthetic accidents and crises ! Presents a range of new chapters from contributors of international repute. The evidence base has been expanded and, wherever possible, information is supported by a review of the literature. Now in colour throughout, the all-new design includes check-list boxes to facilitate understanding/troubleshooting and increase safety. New illustrations have been added in many chapters to clarify practical points of technique.
Veterinary Anaesthesia by
Thorough revision of a comprehensive and highly readable textbook on veterinary anaesthesia A popular book amongst veterinary students and veterinary anaesthesia residents, the new edition of Veterinary Anaesthesia: Principles to Practice continues to be a comprehensive textbook covering the key principles of veterinary anaesthesia, encompassing a wide range of species. Fully revised, the information is summarised in a simple, accessible format to help readers navigate and locate relevant information quickly. Filled with technical and species-based chapters, it offers a quick reference guide to analgesic infusions, as well as emergency drug dose charts for canines, felines, and equines. Provides broad coverage of the basics of veterinary anaesthesia and how it is implemented in clinical practice Includes new information on mechanisms of general anaesthesia Features new and improved photographs and line illustrations, plus end of chapter questions to test your knowledge Covers veterinary anaesthesia for a wide range of species, including dogs, cats, horses, rabbits, donkeys, and pigs Expands example case material to increase relevance to day-to-day clinical practice Updated to contain the latest developments in the field, Veterinary Anaesthesia: Principles to Practice is designed specifically for veterinary students and those preparing to take advanced qualifications in veterinary anaesthesia. It is also a useful reference for veterinarians in practice and advanced veterinary nurses and technicians.
Veterinary Anesthetic and Monitoring Equipment by
Veterinary Anesthetic and Monitoring Equipment is the first veterinary-specific resource solely dedicated to anesthetic and monitoring equipment used in clinical practice. Offers a practical guide to anesthetic and monitoring equipment commonly used in veterinary medicine Provides clinically oriented guidance to troubleshooting problems that may occur Discusses general principles applicable to any equipment found in the practice Presents information associated with novel anesthetic equipment and monitors
Pain Management in Veterinary Practice by
Pain Management in Veterinary Practice provides veterinary practitioners with the information needed to recognize and manage pain in a wide range of large, small, and exotic animal species. Encompassing acute, adaptive, and chronic, maladaptive pain, the book provides an up-to-date review of the physiology and pathophysiology of pain. Pain Management in Veterinary Practice offers specific strategies for addressing pain in animals, including local and regional analgesia, continuous rate infusions, and novel methods of analgesic drug delivery. With comprehensive information on the pharmacokinetic and pharmacodynamic characteristics of analgesic drugs, the book goes beyond pharmaceutical options to incorporate scientific information on techniques for complementary treatment, including physical therapy, acupuncture, chiropractic techniques, and nutritional strategies. Pain Management in Veterinary Practice is a valuable resource for developing pain management protocols in the veterinary clinic.
Handbook of Veterinary Pain Management by
624 pages 624 pages NEW! Eight new chapters include the latest information on: the human-animal bond local and regional techniques preventive and multimodal analgesia energy modalities acupuncture physical examination with emphasis on isolating and locating pain therapeutic goals pain in laboratory animals NEW! Completely updated drug information, with new agents, doseforms, and routes provides the most current pain management therapies for use in the clinical setting. NEW! Expanded sections on the cat and exotics address the growing popularity of these pets by providing additional species-specific information.
Pain Management for Veterinary Technicians and Nurses by
Pain Management for Veterinary Technicians and Nurses guides readers through the important concepts of animal pain management, providing specific approaches to managing pain in a wide variety of veterinary conditions. Emphasizing the technician's role in advocating for the patient, the book equips technicians with the knowledge needed to manage pain in dogs, cats, horses, livestock, exotics, and zoo animals. Logically and comprehensively covering this difficult subject, Pain Management for Veterinary Technicians and Nurses provides both introductory material on the tenets of pain management and specific techniques to apply in the clinical setting. With information on recognizing and understanding pain, the physiology of pain, pharmacology, and analgesia in different settings, the book outlines how to practice good pain management as an integral part of nursing care. Pain Management for Veterinary Technicians and Nurses provides both basic and advanced information, allowing students, practicing veterinary technicians and nurses, and veterinary staff alike to take a more active role in pain management and develop a more thorough understanding of this complex subject.
Anesthesia, Analgesia, and Pain Management for Veterinary Technicians by
Packed with learning tools, Romich's ANESTHESIA, ANALGESIA, AND PAIN MANAGEMENT FOR VETERINARY TECHNICIANS explains the science of anesthesia and how that knowledge is applied to a clinical setting. Detailed photos and illustrations help you understand complex content. Critical thinking questions and case studies sharpen your critical thinking and multitasking skills. And national board exam style multiple choice questions help prepare you for certification exams. Pharmacology coverage details the "hows and whys" of a drug's action, while numerous examples demonstrate how to perform drug dose and fluid calculations. Additional online resources include mathematics reviews, anesthesia records, anesthesia monitoring guidelines and pain scales. Delivering the "missing pieces," this first edition equips you with a thorough understanding of how to perform responsible anesthesia.
Small Animal Anesthesia and Pain Management by
3* Doody's Review! This concise quick reference guide has been thoroughly updated in its second edition. It remains clinically focused, based on experience underpinned by published research data.With 18 brand new chapters on topics ranging from perioperative blood works and urine analysis to light therapy in pain management and rehabilitation, the book covers anesthetic equipment, monitoring, premedication, intravenous induction agents, injectable anesthetic combinations, inhalant anesthesia, anesthesia for specific diseases, fluid therapy, anesthetic emergencies and complications, acute and chronic pain management. Nine new chapters address anaesthetic considerations for different surgeries. Drug dosages and anesthetic protocols are provided in tabular form. New to this edition are chapters covering anesthesia considerations for specific conditions and diseases, including perioperative blood works and urine analysis blood transfusion medicine anesthetic considerations and interpretations rehabilitation and pain management for chronic pain patients pain management of oncologic pain and radiation therapy acupuncture and herbal medication for acute and chronic pain and low level light therapy in pain management. Containing over 300 color illustrations, Small Animal Anesthesia and Pain Management is ideal for all those who need practical information easily to hand: small animal practitioners, veterinary technicians/nurses, and veterinary students.
BSAVA Manual of Canine and Feline Anaesthesia and Analgesia by
Anaesthesia and analgesia is a constantly advancing field and this new edition has been extensively revised and updated to take account of the latest techniques and considerations. The structure, which has worked so well for the previous editions, has been retained and there are new chapters on pain assessment methods, anaesthesia for MRI and how to manage chronic pain. Full-colour illustrations, tables and charts allow readers to easily visualise techniques, ensuring that this manual will be a must-have for any practice.
Canine and Feline Anesthesia and Co-Existing Disease by
A fully updated new edition of the only text solely focused on anesthesia of dogs and cats with co-existing disease The revised Second Edition of Canine and Feline Anesthesia and Co-Existing Disease expands and updates the only book solely dedicated to practical anesthetic techniques for dogs and cats with co-existing disease. The book now includes additional images in full color, new discussions of cutting-edge drugs and techniques, and updated chapters and information throughout. This text provides in-depth and clinically-useful information that can easily be incorporated into the progressive companion animal practice. It offers more than 200 new images and 4 new chapters focusing on urogenital concerns, genetic diseases, nociceptive disorders, and cardiopulmonary resuscitation and post-resuscitation care. It is intuitively organized by body system to allow for quick and easy reference. Key features: Presents concise, yet comprehensive anesthetic considerations and management plans for dogs and cats with co-existing disease and patients with altered physiology Explores commonly-encountered disease processes and their anesthetic management, including cardiovascular, respiratory, renal, neurologic, endocrine, and hepatic diseases, among others Highlights important physiologic alterations encountered in neonatal, pregnant, and geriatric patients and their implications for anesthetic management Includes access to a companion website with relevant clinical videos at www.wiley.com/go/johnson/canine Canine and Feline Anesthesia and Co-Existing Disease is a must-have reference for veterinarians, veterinary technicians, and veterinary students seeking a one-stop resource for anesthetic techniques in veterinary patients with co-existing disease and/or altered physiology.
Small Animal Anesthesia Techniques by
Concise, practical reference to the technical aspects of delivering anesthesia in small animal practice Small Animal Anesthesia Techniques offers quick reference to essential information for anesthetizing canine, feline, and exotic animal patients, presenting easy-to-follow protocols to support veterinary technicians and veterinary practitioners in safely and effectively delivering anesthesia in clinical practice. This book is highly unique in its quick reference, techniques-focused approach, making it ideal for all professionals seeking procedure-based coverage of the topic. Designed for fast access in the clinical setting, the text covers practical information on anesthetic plans, equipment, potential complications, and more. A companion website provides video clips, images, and worksheets. The Second Edition has been thoroughly updated throughout to reflect advances in equipment, knowledge, and trends, now covering anaphylaxis under anesthesia, opioid alternatives in the face of drug shortages, feline and canine pain scales, reducing mortality associated with anesthesia, managing difficult intubations, the importance of gastroprotectants and use of medications to combat vomiting, and other trending topics and areas of interest since the 2014 edition was published. Additional images, tables, and charts have also been added to further enhance the text. Small Animal Anesthesia Techniques also provides information on: Important concepts of anesthesia, including safety in anesthesia through practical steps like anesthesia checklists New and important advances in equipment, such as patient warming and difficult airway management equipment Relevant literature reviews of a multitude of drugs for use peri-operatively, including CBD for analgesia and liposomal encapsulated bupivacaine for long term wound desensitization New developments that an evolving veterinary practice demands, including those not yet popular in the mainstream Small Animal Anesthesia Techniques is a must-have reference for small animal veterinary technicians and practitioners. It is an extremely valuable resource both in the knowledge contained within and the highly practical guidelines for implementing concepts in the field to provide better care to small animals of all types.
Small Animal Regional Anesthesia and Analgesia by
Small Animal Regional Anesthesia and Analgesia is an up-to-date, complete resource for performing local anesthetic techniques in small animals. This practical, clinically oriented reference presents step-by-step procedures for performing common locoregional blocks and is organized logically by body system. The first book to draw information on this topic into one resource, Small Animal Regional Anesthesia and Analgesia is equally useful as a comprehensive reference and as a quick source of information with checklists and pictures to assist with performing various blocks in practice. Beginning with introductory sections offering an overview of general considerations for patient preparation and pharmacology, the heart of the book is devoted to detailed instructions for performing regional anesthetic techniques, including reviews of the literature, useful illustrations, diagrams, and clinical tips. Small Animal Regional Anesthesia and Analgesia provides an invaluable tool for veterinary anesthesiologists and practitioners who incorporate local and regional anesthetic techniques into their small animal practices.
Handbook of Small Animal Regional Anesthesia and Analgesia Techniques by
This is a concise visual guide to the major techniques of regional anesthesia and analgesia for small animal practitioners, with complete coverage of the relevant physics, physiology, and pharmacology. Provides straightforward advice and easy-to-implement strategies for general veterinary practitioners without specialist training who want to incorporate regional anesthesia into their practice Features an accessible design with plenty of diagrams and photos and a convenient and robust spiral-bound format that lays flat for use during procedures Broken into sections which explain techniques by limb or body part and by species Details important anatomy (nerves, bones, and vessels), as well as possible side effects and complications
Feline Anesthesia and Pain Management by
Feline Anesthesia and Pain Management offers a definitive and practical guide to feline anesthesia and pain management. The only book offering detailed practical information on anesthesia and pain management in cats, one of the world's most popular pets World renowned author team Quick reference format with full color illustrations Offers detailed practical information on anesthesia and pain management tailored to the unique needs of cats Includes a team of world-renowned authors who are experts in veterinary anesthesia and analgesia Uses a quick reference format that makes the information easy to find and follow Presents full color images to illustrate concepts
Questions and Answers in Small Animal Anesthesia by
Questions and Answers in Small Animal Anesthesia provides practical and logical guidance for a wide range of anesthesia questions commonly faced in veterinary medicine. Gives concrete answers to questions about anesthesia likely to be faced in small animal practice Explains why experienced anesthesiologists make the choices they do Provides concise yet comprehensive coverage of anesthetic management using an engaging question-and-answer format Covers dogs, cats, small mammals, and birds Focuses on practical, clinically relevant information
Analgesia and Anesthesia for the Ill or Injured Dog and Cat by
Analgesia and Anesthesia for the Ill or Injured Dog and Cat provides a comprehensive guide to anesthesia and pain management protocols, specifically tailored to ill or critically injured dogs and cats. Provides fast access to anesthesia and pain management protocols specifically tailored to ill or critically injured dogs and cats Takes a case-based structure to make it easy to find and apply relevant information Presents step-by-step clinical procedures and techniques Supplies concise, relevant background information for all drugs recommended in the protocols, highlighting recommendations and cautions for specific patient conditions Includes detailed information for geriatric, pregnant, nursing, and pediatric patients and those with cardiac, liver or kidney pathology
Farm Animal Anesthesia: Cattle, Small Ruminants, Camelids, and Pigs by
Farm Animal Anesthesia: Cattle, Small Ruminants, Camelids, and Pigs presents practical guidance on using anesthetic and analgesic drugs to prevent pain caused by surgery or disease. This cohesive resource offers complete coverage of anesthetics and anesthetic techniques in farm animals with a focus on practical applications. Providing thorough information on pain management and residues, the book also covers specific techniques for common surgical procedures and considerations for animals with pathophysiological conditions. The book includes chapters on preanesthetic considerations, anesthetic drugs, chemical restraint and standing sedation, injectable anesthesia, inhalant anesthesia, local techniques, specific procedures, pain management, residues, and euthanasia. Farm Animal Anesthesia is a useful guide for farm animal practitioners, veterinary students, and researchers working with these species.
Zoo Animal and Wildlife Immobilization and Anesthesia by
Zoo Animal and Wildlife Immobilization and Anesthesia, Second Edition is a fully updated and revised version of the first comprehensive reference on anesthetic techniques in captive and free-ranging wildlife. Now including expanded coverage of avian and aquatic species, this exhaustive resource presents information on the full range of zoo and wildlife species. Covering topics ranging from monitoring and field anesthesia to CPR and euthanasia, the heart of the book is devoted to 53 species-specific chapters providing a wealth of information on little-known and common zoo and wildlife animals alike. In addition to new species chapters, the new edition brings a new focus on pain management, including chronic pain, and more information on species-specific physiology. Chapters on airway management, monitoring, emergency therapeutics, and field procedures are all significantly expanded as well. This update to Zoo Animal and Wildlife Immobilization and Anesthesia is an invaluable addition to the library of all zoo and wildlife veterinarians.
Equine Anesthesia and Co-Existing Disease by
EQUINE ANESTHESIA AND CO-EXISTING DISEASE The first book covering anesthesia in equine patients with pre-existing diseases or conditions Equine Anesthesia and Co-Existing Disease offers practical guidance on anesthetizing horses with pre-existing diseases or other unique conditions. Filling a significant gap in available literature, this authoritative reference is the ideal companion to existing publications on basic management principles, equipment, and complications in equine anesthesia. Detailed chapters, co-authored by anesthesiologists and other allied specialists, offer a body-system approach to anesthesia considerations in horses presenting with a variety of disease conditions. Each chapter contains foundational knowledge such as pathophysiology or diagnostic techniques, clinical images, practical information for pharmacologic selection, and technical requirements for completion of procedures. The text covers equine anesthesia management relevant to respiratory, neuromuscular, and gastrointestinal diseases, cardiac and orthopedic procedures, diagnostic imaging and unique therapies, and more. Designed to allow quick and easy reference to vital information, this valuable clinical resource: Provides complete coverage of anesthetic management of horses with existing conditions or diseases Describes how pre-existing conditions can affect anesthesia in equine patients Includes coverage of accident and error management, induction, and recovery Discusses how anesthesia management differs in feral or non-domesticated and domesticated equids including donkeys and mules Equine Anesthesia and Co-Existing Disease is a must-have reference and clinical guide for everyone involved in the anesthetization of equine patients, including equine general practitioners, anesthesiologists, specialists in related areas, residents in veterinary anesthesiology, and equine anesthesia technicians.
Manual of Equine Anesthesia and Analgesia by
A fully updated new edition of this practical guide to managing anesthesia in horses and other equids, providing updated and expanded information in a concise, easy-to-read format  Manual of Equine Anesthesia and Analgesia provides practitioners and veterinary students with concise, highly practical guidance to anesthetizing horses, donkeys, and mules. Using a bulleted quick-reference format, this popular resource covers the basic physiological and pharmacological principles of anesthesia, patient preparation and monitoring, and the management of sedation and anesthesia. Chapters written by leading veterinary anesthesiologists contain numerous clinical images and illustrations, case examples, tables, diagrams, and boxed summaries of important points.  Now in full color, the second edition features extensively revised and updated information throughout. New sections cover chronic pain, management of horses undergoing MRI, ventilators, nerve blocks for reproductive surgery, muscle relaxants, various new drugs, paravertebral anesthesia, treatment of pain using acupuncture and physical rehabilitation techniques, and more. Up-to-date appendices contain drug lists and dosages as well as equations related to equine cardiovascular and respiratory systems. This concise, easy-to-follow guide:  Provides practical, clinically oriented information on anesthetizing equids   Uses a bulleted format designed for fast access of key information  Offers step-by-step instructions and diagrams of nerve blocks of the limbs, head, and ophthalmic structures   Includes new coverage of topics including regulation of extracellular fluid and blood pressure, acid-base disorders, and hemodynamic effects of autonomic drugs  Manual of Equine Anesthesia and Analgesia, Second Edition, remains a must-have resource for all equine practitioners and veterinary students involved with anesthetizing horses. 
Advanced Monitoring and Procedures for Small Animal Emergency and Critical Care by
Advanced Monitoring and Procedures for Small Animal Emergency and Critical Care Detailed, standardized, step-by-step protocols for easy access to essential information in small animal emergency rooms and intensive care units Advanced Monitoring and Procedures for Small Animal Emergency and Critical Care, Second Edition offers a complete and clinically oriented reference for step-by-step detail on a wide range of procedures in the small animal emergency room and intensive care unit. Each protocol provides detailed instructions grounded in the evidence. The book is carefully designed for ease of use, with concise but comprehensive explanations, useful equipment lists, protocols called out in boxes, and extensive reference lists. In the revised and expanded Second Edition, information has been updated and expanded throughout, and information and chapters have been added in many important areas, including veterinary point-of-care ultrasound (VPOCUS), veterinary CPR, blood banking and transfusion medicine, advanced techniques for mechanical ventilation, and veterinary health care team wellbeing. A companion website offers the protocols in Word for editing and use in practice and the figures from the book in PowerPoint. Specific topics covered in Advanced Monitoring and Procedures for Small Animal Emergency and Critical Care include: The cardiovascular system, covering catheterization of the venous compartment, arterial puncture and catheterization, cardiac VPOCUS, principles of electrocardiography, and electrocardiogram interpretation The respiratory system, covering oxygen therapy, pulse oximetry and CO-oximetry, blood gas analysis, pleural space and lung VPOCUS, tracheal intubation, and temporary tracheostomy The urinary and abdominal systems, covering urethral catheterization, abdominal VPOCUS, peritoneal dialysis, technical management of hemodialysis patients, and peritoneal evaluation Transfusion medicine, covering blood banking, blood typing, cross-matching, and administration of blood and other biological products Advanced Monitoring and Procedures for Small Animal Emergency and Critical Care presents invaluable and accessible information for emergency situations, making it a highly useful reference for veterinary practitioners, veterinary technicians and nurses, veterinary students, small animal emergency and critical care residents, small animal emergency and critical care specialists, and emergency and critical care veterinary technicians and nurse specialists.
Veterinary Technician's Manual for Small Animal Emergency and Critical Care by
Veterinary Technician's Manual for Small Animal Emergency and Critical Care, Second Edition provides an in-depth and cutting-edge, yet easy-to-navigate, reference on emergency and critical care for veterinary paraprofessionals of all skill levels. Provides a comprehensive reference on emergency and critical care medicine for veterinary technicians of all skill levels, and veterinary assistants. Veterinary Technician's Manual for Small Animal Emergency and Critical Care, Second Edition provides an in-depth and cutting-edge, yet easy-to-navigate, reference on emergency and critical care for veterinary paraprofessionals of all skill levels. Written by leading veterinary technician specialists (VTS) in emergency and critical care Completely revised and substantially updated, with new emphases on anatomy, physiology, nursing skills, and evidence based medicine Features five new chapters covering mechanical ventilation, pain management, renal replacement therapy, nursing skills and procedures, and life as an emergency veterinary technician, including topics such as salary, compassion fatigue, and scheduling Includes access to a companion website with chapter review questions and the images from the book for download in PowerPoint
Small Animal Internal Medicine 6th ed. by
With hundreds of images, step-by-step procedures, and a practical clinical emphasis, Small Animal Internal Medicine, 6th Edition offers the foundation and tools you need to properly recognize, diagnose, and treat small animals with common internal conditions. Each section of the text takes a problem-oriented approach that begins with a discussion of clinical signs, diagnostic recommendations, and techniques; and then moves to therapeutic considerations and management. This edition also includes two all-new chapters (neonatology and the effects of specific heart diseases respectively) as well as extensive updates throughout covering new advancements, techniques, and evolving best practices in the field of small animal internal medicine. And with access to the new online Expert Consult, you will have the 360-degree support you need to solve virtually any internal medical challenge. Problem-oriented approach utilized in each section begins with a discussion of clinical signs, diagnostic recommendations, and techniques; and then moves to therapeutic considerations and management. Step-by-step procedures provide an easy-to-follow description of proper technique. Current drug and treatment tables ensure you are referencing the most up-to-date recommended dosages and indications. More than 900 full-color photographs and illustrations provide vivid depictions of specific disorders, diseases, and procedures. Color-coded summary tables and boxes make it quick and easy to look up clinical signs, etiology, differential diagnoses, treatment, and recommended drug dosages and indications. Expert authors and contributors are well-known for their clinical, academic, and research expertise. Practical algorithms promote decision-making skills based on clinical findings. Extensive cross-referencing makes it easy to locate related information. Suggested readings at the end of each chapter direct you on where to go for the latest research findings. NEW! Expert Consult site includes over 30 video clips covering physical examinations as well as diagnostic and therapeutic techniques like the neurologic exam. NEW! Two new chapters detail two key emerging areas within small animal medicine: neonatology and the effects of specific heart diseases. NEW! Extensive updates throughout the text keep you informed of changes and evolutions in the field, specifically in the areas of: ultrasound; probiotics; obesity; feline radiation therapy; feline diabetes; feline hyperthyroidism; canine influenza; canine Cushing's disease; orphan puppy and kitten considerations; seizure treatments; spinal cord disorders; hematology and oncology; plus new diseases, diagnostics, and therapeutics that affect small animal medicine overall.
Small Animal Surgical Nursing 4th ed. by
Master the veterinary technician's role and skills in surgical assisting! Small Animal Surgical Nursing, 4th Edition helps you learn the protocols and techniques you need to work together with the veterinarian as a smoothly functioning surgical team. Clear guidelines are provided in areas such as surgical instruments and procedures, anesthesia, patient monitoring, preoperative and postoperative care of the animals, pain management, and client education. This edition is updated throughout and includes timed instrument identification exercises on the Evolve website. Written by well-known educator Marianne Tear, this comprehensive resource ensures that you are highly competent in performing all of the vet tech's surgical responsibilities. Coverage of small animal surgical nursing provides a full review of the role and responsibilities of the veterinary technician in the surgical setting, including sterilization, protocols, gowning, gloving, anesthesia, wound management, and care of the animals before and after surgery. Focus on exceptional clinical skills and practice tips draws from the author's real-world experiences of what is most commonly encountered in the clinical setting. Nearly 500 full-color illustrations and photographs show surgical equipment, instruments, sterile techniques, suturing techniques, and wound management. Attention to detail ensures understanding of the skills covered in required veterinary technician surgical nursing courses. Learning Objectives and Key Terms at the beginning of each chapter identify the material that should be mastered in the upcoming chapter. Key Points and Review Questions at the end of each chapter facilitate study and reinforce understanding. Quick Reference for Common IV Infusions and Analgesic Protocols appendix helps students learn to work quickly and efficiently. NEW! Updated content and new protocols and skills ensure that students have the latest information available. NEW! Updated and additional Review Questions include multiple-choice, listing, and open-ended questions that challenge students to apply the knowledge they have learned in each chapter.
Manual of Veterinary Transfusion Medicine and Blood Banking by
Using a practical approach, the Manual of Veterinary Transfusion Medicine and Blood Banking provides veterinary practitioners with evidence-based guidelines to refer to at the clinical practice level. Provides evidence-based information on transfusion medicine and blood banking practices Presents sections on recipient screening, donor selection, blood collection and storage, and how to meet blood product demands Includes useful protocols for transfusions and blood banking relevant to clinical practice Incorporates the balanced perspectives of veterinarians and veterinary technicians Contains information pertaining to large, small, and exotic animals
Plumb's Veterinary Drug Handbook by
Plumb's(tm) VETERINARY DRUG HANDBOOK Find drug dosages and other critical information for prescribing drugs to animals quickly and efficiently in this fully updated new edition of this must-have veterinary resource The Tenth Edition of Plumb's® Veterinary Drug Handbook updates the most comprehensive, detailed, and trusted source of drug information relevant to veterinary medicine. Covering dosages, drug interactions, adverse effects, and contraindications, among other key drug details, this bestselling book is a must for practicing veterinarians and anyone requiring reliable information on the use of drugs in animals. Designed for ease of use, the book surveys an exhaustive list of drugs with applications for a wide variety of species, including dogs, cats, birds, small mammals, and farm animals. This edition includes updates to all 738 drug monographs and adds 30 new monographs, including 9 new insulin monographs, to its exhaustive coverage of drugs used in the care of animals. This new edition: Provides an extensively reviewed and updated version of the must-have veterinary drug reference Includes 30 new drug monographs, including 9 new insulin monographs Updates all 738 drug monographs, with robust citing of new information Covers a wide variety of species, including dogs, cats, birds, small mammals, and farm animals Presents detailed dosing information for an exhaustive list of drugs used in animals Plumb's® exhaustive coverage of drugs relevant to the veterinary field makes this book an essential reference for veterinarians, veterinary technicians, veterinary pharmacologists, pharmacists with veterinary patients, and libraries that serve these groups.
Saunders Handbook of Veterinary Drugs Small and Large Animal by
Saunders Handbook of Veterinary Drugs, 4th Edition includes entries for 550 drugs, with convenient appendices summarizing clinically relevant information at a glance. New to this edition are 25 new drug monographs and easy access to drug content on any mobile device. Written by clinical pharmacology expert Mark Papich, this handy reference includes a companion website containing more than 150 customizable handouts with special instructions for your clients. It helps you find the specific drug facts and dosage recommendations you need to treat small and large animals, right when you need them! Concise drug monographs are organized alphabetically and cross-referenced by classification, trade, and generic name, providing quick and easy access to key information for each drug including: Generic and trade names, pronunciation, and functional classification Pharmacology and mechanism of action Indications and clinical uses Precautionary information - adverse reactions and side effects, contraindications and precautions, and drug interactions - all featured in colored boxes for at-a-glance retrieval Instructions for use Patient monitoring and laboratory tests Formulations available Stability and storage Dosage information for both small and large animals Regulatory information Clinically relevant appendices help you determine appropriate therapeutic regimens and look up safety and legal considerations. PapichDrugFormulary.com companion website includes more than 150 customizable client information handouts for commonly prescribed drugs, including information on the prescribed drug and dosage, do's and don'ts, and possible side effects. 15 NEW drug monographs familiarize you with the latest drugs available for veterinary practice. NEW! Access to drug content is available on any mobile device. UPDATED drug monographs include information such as new doses, interactions, indications, adverse reactions, and contraindications. NEW! Discontinued Drugs appendix makes it easy to reference drugs that are no longer in use, and provides suggested substitutions or alternative drugs.
Acid-Base and Electrolyte Handbook for Veterinary Technicians by
Acid-Base and Electrolyte Handbook for Veterinary Technicians provides an easy to understand yet comprehensive approach to acid-base and electrolyte balance. Covers the physiology of fluids and their effect on acid-base and electrolyte balance Offers detailed information on managing acid-base and electrolyte derangements in disease Includes access to a companion website with case studies and multiple choice questions
Cardiology for Veterinary Technicians and Nurses by
Cardiology for Veterinary Technicians and Nurses is a comprehensive resource for veterinary technicians and nurses working with cardiovascular patients in veterinary practice. Offers a complete reference to veterinary cardiology targeted at veterinary technicians and nurses, summarizing fundamental knowledge on cardiovascular disease Covers dogs, cats, horses, ruminants, and camelids Provides information ranging from introductory to advanced for a thorough guide to cardiac conditions Presents detailed procedures for common cardiac catheterization techniques, including supplies required Includes photographs and illustrations to depict the concepts described
Clinical Anatomy and Physiology for Veterinary Technicians by
Start your veterinary technician education off on the right foot with Clinical Anatomy and Physiology for Veterinary Technicians, 3rd Edition. Combining expert clinical coverage with engaging writing and vivid illustrations, this popular text is the key to helping you understand the anatomic and physiologic principles that will carry you throughout your career. In addition to its comprehensive coverage of the diverse ways in which animal bodies function at both the systemic and cellular levels, the new third edition features a variety of helpful application boxes, vocabulary lists, and Test Yourself questions in every chapter to ensure you have a firm grasp of anatomic structure and its relevance to clinical practice. High quality, full color illustrations highlight the details of anatomic structure to enhance understanding of anatomy functions. Chapter outlines summarize the contents of each chapter at the major concept level. Clinical Application boxes throughout the text demonstrate the clinical relevance of anatomic and physiologic principles. Test Yourself questions recap important information that appeared in the preceding section. Comprehensive glossary at the end of the text provides concise definitions and phonetic pronunciations of terms. NEW! Vocabulary Fundamentals list of terms at the beginning of each chapter introduce readers to new scientific terms and their pronunciations.
Exotic Animal Medicine for the Veterinary Technician by
Exotic Animal Medicine for the Veterinary Technician Third Edition Now in its third edition, Exotic Animal Medicine for the Veterinary Technician is a comprehensive yet clear introduction to exotic animal practice for technicians in the classroom and clinic setting alike. With an emphasis on the exotic species most likely to present to a veterinary practice, coverage includes avian, reptiles, amphibians, small mammals, and wildlife. For the first time in full color, this edition features updates throughout with a brand new chapter on fish medicine. Information ranging from anatomy, restraint, and common diseases to radiology, surgical assisting, and parasitology are included. Designed to provide technicians with all the information necessary to confidently and competently treat exotic patients, Exotic Animal Medicine for the Veterinary Technician offers easy-to-follow descriptions of common procedures and techniques. A companion website offers review questions and images from the book in PowerPoint for download. Key Features Now in full color Features anatomy, restraint, common diseases to radiology, surgical assisting, and parasitology New chapter on fish medicine Companion Website This book is accompanied by a companion website: www.wiley.com/go/ballard/exotics The website includes: Supplementary interactive multiple choice questions PowerPoint slides of all figures from the book for downloading
Manual of Canine and Feline Cardiology by
The most effective, practical approach to the recognition and management of cardiovascular and cardiopulmonary medicine, Manual of Canine and Feline Cardiology, 5th Edition walks readers through the challenges and conditions encountered in everyday practice. This completely revised and updated edition includes vital information on diagnostic modalities and techniques, therapeutic options, surgical procedures, and pharmaceutical management of the dog and cat cardiac patient. A new chapter on genetic and biomarker testing and a new chapter on nutrition surrounding cardiovascular disease ensure practitioners are well-equipped to handle every aspect of cardiac care in small animals. The latest coverage on common cardiovascular disorders and practical treatment methods addresses topics, such as: cardiac failure, cardiac arrhythmias, conduction disturbances, cardiopulmonary arrest, and more. Easy-to-follow organization separates content into three sections that build on each other - Section 1: Diagnosis of Heart Disease; Section 2: Cardiovascular Disease; Section 3: Treatment of Cardiovascular Disease. Extensive art program contains vivid illustrations, clinical photographs, and color Doppler images. Drug formulary appendix features a list of commonly used cardiopulmonary drugs, along with formulations, indications, and dosages (for both dogs and cats). Streamlined text, bullet points, and helpful boxes help to highlight the most important clinical content. Highlighted key points spotlight key information, diagnosis considerations, clinical tips and more. NEW! Genetic and Biomarker Testing of Cardiovascular Diseases chapter covers genetic testing for mutations associated with specific cardiac diseases and testing for circulating substances indicative of heart disease or injury. NEW! Nutrition and Cardiovascular Disease chapter focuses on the significant role nutrition can play in preventing or treating cardiac disease. NEW! Significantly revised Echocardiography chapter features the latest information on indications and the role of the electrocardiogram in clinical practice. NEW! All new doppler echocardiogram images in the Feline Cardiomyopathy chapter show the primary cardiomyopathies, including: severe hypertrophic cardiomyopathy, severe hypertrophic obstructive cardiomyopathy, severe dilated cardiomyopathy, severe endomyocardial fibrosis and restrictive cardiomyopathy, severe unclassified cardiomyopathy, and severe arrhythmogenic right ventricular cardiomyopathy. NEW! Section on hybrid cardiac procedures in the Cardiac Surgery chapter include image-guided catheter-based interventions with direct transcardiac (transatrial, transventricular, transapical) surgical approaches to the heart.
Small Animal ECGs: An Introductory Guide by
Small Animal ECGs: An Introductory Guide provides all the information veterinarians need when using electrocardiography techniques for the first time. An ideal introduction to veterinary electrocardiography written in a very easy to understand way, for what can be a daunting subject The author is RCVS Recognised Specialist in Veterinary Cardiology and regularly speaks on this subject Full of examples of colour ECG tracings, as well as colour illustrations to explain arrhythmias Covers techniques that can readily be used in first opinion small animal practice Includes new chapters on mechanisms of supraventricular arrhythmias, accelerated idioventricular rhythm and use of Holters
