Overview - Critical Writing Program: Craft of Prose: The Culture Code - Spring 2020

The Culture Code

Available through Penn Libraries:
The Culture Code by Daniel Coyle (e-book)

Scholarly Databases

These databases will help you find scholarly articles about your topic.

Articles+

Google Scholar
EBSCO MegaFILE
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences
Covers journal articles and books across several social science disciplines including anthropology, economics, political science, and sociology.
Business Source Complete
Citations, summaries and full-text articles from business-focused academic journals, magazines and trade publications, as well as some company, industry and market reports.

Education Source
Covers all levels of education, from early childhood to higher education, and educational specialties.

APA PsycInfo
The American Psychological Associations's (APA's) comprehensive database/article search for psychology and its specialties.
PubMed
NLM's public access version to Medline, the premier database for biomedical literature.
Sociological Abstracts
Covers sociology, case work, demographics, policy studies, political science, family studies, feminist studies, and social security programs.

Why use this guide?

This Critical Writing Program guide will help you to:

Read a citation
Find books and articles using citations and keywords
Choose the best scholarly resources for your topic
Get personalized assistance!

How to Read a Citation

Book citations generally show a publisher and a city of publication. Book chapters will include the title of the chapter as well as the name of the book.

Article citations have a journal/periodical title in addition to the article title. They will usually also show a volume and issue number and may show a day and month.

Using Citations to Find Resources

Have a journal title or complete journal article citation? Search:

Franklin by journal title or use

PennText article finder on the Van Pelt homepage.
Looking for a book? Use Franklin.

Keyword Searching

This document suggests a good method of crafting effective keyword searches:

Keyword search worksheet

Getting Physical Books

First, use Franklin to identify the book's call number.

Van Pelt Stack Directory
If your book is in Van Pelt Library, this chart will tell you the floor and side of the building in which you can find it. Just match the beginning of the call number with the letter or number on the chart.
Reading Call Numbers
If you are not familiar with the Library of Congress call number system then this table will explain how you can find an individual book once you have found the part of the library that has items in that call number range.
Other Libraries
Locations of Penn's libraries
If the book is in "LIBRA"
If the location of the book is listed as "LIBRA" then click on the "Request" link located to the right of the book. It will be shipped to the library you choose in one or two business days.
BorrowDirect/EZ Borrow/ILL

Librarian

Charles Cobine

he/him

Contact:

Van Pelt Library 205

215-746-5830

Subjects: Cinema & Media Studies, German Studies

Background Resources

International Encyclopedia of Behavioral & Social Sciences
Includes summaries of a wide range of research areas in the social sciences.
Dictionary of Psychology

Chat

More Citation Help

To learn more about citation management and how to organize your citations see these guides:

APA Citation
by Charles Cobine Last Updated Aug 5, 2023 293 views this year

Citation Management Tools
by Rebecca Stuhr Last Updated Feb 28, 2024 7640 views this year

Critical Writing Program: Craft of Prose: The Culture Code - Spring 2020: Overview