Skip to main content
Click logo to go to Libraries homepage

Cinema & Media Studies - Research Guide: Overview

Cinema Studies images: Muybridge movement study images, The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari, poster for Battleship Potemkin, Nanook of the North, image of Charlie Chaplin in bowler hat, screenshot from Citizen Kane, photo of Roberto Rossellini, poster for Hiroshima Mon Amour, Rear Window by Alfred Hitchcock, movie poster for Brazilian film City of God

Why rent or buy films when...
you have access through Penn Libraries?

Search Franklin for films and TV, streaming or as a DVD.

Want to rent or buy to watch now? Search or browse streaming providers on JustWatch.

Background Information

Oxford Bibliographies Online
Under Browse by Subject, select Cinema & Media Studies. There are overviews here on such topics as Censorship, Film Theory Before 1945, and Women in Film.

Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film
Encyclopedia covers topics like production, national cinemas, studios, genres, theory and film history. A-Z index, short bios, and further recommended sources.

Oxford Dictionary of Film Studies
Defines terms and concepts in film theory and criticism, film movements and genres, film industry organizations, practices and technical terms.

About this Guide

Cinema & Media Studies resources include databases and indexes; background resources or reference works with overview essays and bibliographies; primary resources; and films or TV shows, either on DVD or streaming.

Cinema & Media Studies Databases

Primary Sources

Hollywood, Moral Censorship, and the Motion Picture Production Code, 1927-1968 - MPAA Production Code Administration Files covering self-regulation and censorship in the motion picture industry.
Flinders MPPDA Digital Archive - Database of a subset of the MPPDA Files, 1922-1939, assembled as a project of Flinders University, Australia, and the Australian Research Council.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive - Covers Variety (1905-2000) and consumer and fan magazines such as Picturegoer (1911-1960) and American Film (1975-1992).
Moving Picture World - An influential early trade journal for the American film industry
Media History Digital Library - Archive of classic media publications covering the histories of film, broadcasting and sound. Features both film industry papers and fan magazines.