Skip to main content
Click logo to go to Libraries homepage

Guide to Research in Food Studies: Overview

For more information

Reference

For general background information

VCat: Video Catalog

Search videos on food-related topics through VCat.  Try other keyword searches (e.g., using Library of Congress Subject Headings) to narrow the field. To see more titles in this search, click "View Feed" below.

Loading

Featured Resource

Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration and Cultural Exchangea database provided by the Penn Libraries, provides access to visual, manuscript, and printed materials from the collections of libraries, company archives, and trade organisations around the world. These original sources will aid with research that can benefit from the history of fifteen major commodities and the ways that these commodities have changed the world.

Political Divisions of the World from Global Commodities

The fifteen commodities are: Chocolate, coffee, cotton, fur, opium, oil, porcelain, silver and gold, spices, sugar, tea, timber, tobacco, wheat, wine and spirits.

Books of Interest at the Penn Libraries

New Books PLUS

To see more titles, click "View Feed" below.

Loading

Books - Full Text Online

A selection of books available online concerning various aspects of food studies.

NPR Food

Food news stories from National Public Radio.  For more articles, click "View Feed" below.

Loading

Questions? Contact:

Lauris Olson
Social Sciences Bibliographer

olson@pobox.upenn.edu

Rebecca Stuhr
Coordinator for Humanities Collections

stuhrreb@pobox.upenn.edu

Lynne Farrington
Curator, Printed Books, Rare Book and Manuscript Library

lynne@pobox.upenn.edu

Databases

A selection of databases relevant to food studies.

Websites

Check out these websites for news and articles on food-related topics.