Guides: China in Africa : Penn Libraries resources: Getting started

Good starting places on China in Africa

Routledge handbook of Africa-Asia relations
(ebook) Routledge, 2018.
Thematic chapters study historical and ongoing processes in colonial contacts, modern diplomatic and political networks and interactions, and contemporary social, economic, and security cooperation.
China into Africa : trade, aid, and influence / Robert I Rotberg, ed.
(ebook and print). Brookings Institution Press, 2008.
Based on a Harvard Kennedy School conference in June 2007, this provides an early overview of China's interest in Africa.
The specter of global China : politics, labor, and foreign investment in Africa / Ching Kwan Lee.
(print only). University of Chicago Press, 2017.
An ethnographic study comparing Chinese outbound state capital with global private capital invested in Zambia's copper and construction industries. Preceded by an article, "The spectre of global China" / Ching Kwan Lee, New Left Review 89 (September-October 2014): 29-65.
China- Africa relations: theoretical and practical perspectives on African "migrants" in China (special issue)
African Studies Quarterly 17, 4 (February 2018).
China-Africa relations: political and economic engagement and media strategies (special issue)
African Studies Quarterly 16, 3-4 (December 2016).
The journey to invest: China's economic excursion to Africa (special issue)
Cornell International Law Journal 49, 1 (Winter 2016).
Conceptualising the roles of China and India in Africa: history, contemporary realities and future scenarios (special issue)
Alternations, special issue no. 15 (2015).
China in Africa: a relationship in transition (special issue)
European Journal of Development Research 21, 4 (September 2009).
China's African challenges (special issue)
Adelphi Series 49, issues 404 & 405 (2009).
Good friends & good partners: the "new" face of China-Africa co-operation (special issue)
Review of African Political Economy 35, 115 (March 2008).

Guides to the literature on China in Africa

China in Africa : web dossier.
African Studies Centre, Leiden, 2008.
A bibliography of contemporary books, articles, and reports on Africa-China relations, especially economic relations and trade.
WARNING! Library references in this guide point to the ASC Leiden's own great library, not Penn's - so use PennText!
"China in Africa" / Meine Pieter van Dijk. Oxford Bibliographies : African Studies
A recent annotated bibliography that looks at the topic from an African perspective. Includes a section on African country studies.
"China and Africa" / May Tan-Mullins. Oxford Bibliographies : Chinese Studies
A similar annotated bibliography, from a Chinese perspective.
"China and Africa", in: "China's foreign policy" / Zhiqun Zhu. Oxford Bibliographies : International Relations
One section of an annotated bibliography generally on China's foreign relations.
"China-Africa encounters : historical legacies and contemporary realities" / Helen F Siu & Mike McGovern.
Annual Review of Anthropology 46 (2017): 337-355.
Literature review using ethnographic accounts to study interregional connections over time, especially concerning mutual stereotypes and the negotiation of social and cultural barriers in everyday life.

Statistics and data on China in Africa

China-Africa Research Initiative
Johns Hopkins University School of Advanced Internatioanl Studies.
Data on Chinese loans to Africa, China-Africa trade, Chinese investment in Africa, Chinese agricultural investments in Africa, Chinese workers in Africa, and Chinese foreign aid to the world.
China's Global Development Footprint
AidData, William & Mary College.
Visualizations and data on China's global investment in development projects and Chinese public diplomacy. Provides links to AidData's Global Chinese Official Financial Dataset and the China.AidData.org development projects database.

Related Penn Libraries guides

African Studies - Research Guide
by Mercy Ayilo Last Updated May 29, 2024 358 views this year
China Business
by Cynthia Cronin-Kardon Last Updated Oct 30, 2024 184 views this year
International Business
by Cynthia Cronin-Kardon Last Updated Oct 30, 2024 309 views this year
International Development
by Joe Holub Last Updated May 16, 2024 294 views this year

Librarian & Coordinator of Social Sciences Collections

Lauris Olson

Email Me

Contact:

University of Pennsylvania Libraries
203 Van Pelt-Dietrich Library Center
University of Pennsylvania
3420 Walnut Street
Philadelphia, PA 19104-6206
U.S.A.

215-898-0119

Subjects: African Studies, Aging Studies, Communication, Criminology, Data & GIS, Economics, Food Studies, Health & Societies, Immigration, Linguistics, Philadelphia Studies, Population Studies & Demography, Social Sciences, Sociology, Urban Studies

China in Africa : Penn Libraries resources: Getting started

Overview

Good starting places on China in Africa

Guides to the literature on China in Africa

Statistics and data on China in Africa

Related Penn Libraries guides

Librarian & Coordinator of Social Sciences Collections