Knowledge resource for development, policy, practice, and research. Includes selected full-text documents, resource guides, and country profiles. Covers ageing populations, agriculture, aid, children, climate change adaptation, conflict, corporate responsibility, education, finance policy, HIV and AIDS and health, ICT for development, trade and other topics.
Fulltext annual country reports for IMF surveillance on national exchange rate, monetary, and fiscal policies, structural policies, financial sector issues, institutional issues, and assessments of risks and vulnerabilities, mandated by Article IV of the IMF's Articles of Agreement. 1999-present.
Very useful regional and national reports, often in a recurring series, on current state of people's capability to lead long and healthy lives, to be knowledgeable, and to have a decent standard of living. Presents analyses and statistical information on health, education, public administration, pollution, employment, and many other topics. Each country page has links, "National Human Development Reports for [country]" and "UNDP Country Office" - USE THEM! Produced by UN Development Programme.
CAEs examine World Bank performance in a country over the past few years, reporting on its conformity with the World Bank's Country Assistance Strategies.
1998-present.
Annual report providing comprehensive data on volume, origin, and types of aids and other resource flows to individual developing countries.
The first in what we hope will be an ongoing series, annotated bibliographies prepared by the Library Network of the IMF and World Bank Group. Covers seminar topics, including emerging markets, frontier economies, European growth and jobs policies, taxation, and unconvential monetary policies. Provides URLs for individual items, but check Franklin or FindIt! when the URLs don't work.
The United Nations' Dag Hammarskjöld Library research guide - with links - to key events and documents related to the evolution of the concept within the UN.
An encylopedia masquerading as a dictionary. Often very opinionated, but always useful. The online edition is frequently updated, but includes archived articles going back to the 1987 edition.
Offers lengthy articles on medical anthropology topics worldwide, including comparative cultural perspectives on specific diseases and health conditions, and theoretical approaches to cross-cultural health research. Also presents lengthy "cultural portraits" of specific cultures, focusing on their medical beliefs.
Includes articles on water supply (domestic, municipal, and industrial), water quality and resource development, surface and agricultural water, ground water, and oceanography, meteorology, and physical and chemical properties of water.
Presents articles on production systems, business history, technology, macroeconomic history and international economics, banking and finance, labor, and many other topics.
Fulltext ebook collection, with more than 500 titles from Practical Action Publishing, specialist peer-reviewed and evidence-based publisher for international development policy, practice and research professionals. Individual titles are also listed in Franklin Catalog.
Website archived, May 2019.
A good collection of PDF-format publications, including books and gray literature, on agriculture and rural development, with an emphasis on Africa. From a cooperative Organisation of African, Caribbean and Pacific States (ACP)-European Union (EU) program.
Fulltext PDF-format collection of World Bank books, including all new titles and selected titles beginning in 1984. Topics covered include:agriculture, education, environment, finance, globalization, governance, health and population, industry, infrastructure, international economics, labor and employment, macroeconomics and growth, poverty, private sector development, public sector management, rural development, social development, transition economies, urban development.
Fulltext publications and statistical information from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) covering agriculture and food, education and skills, emerging economies and transition economies, employment, energy, enterprise, industry, and trade, environment and sustainable development, finance and investment, general economics and future studies, governance, international development, nuclear energy, science and information technology, social issues and migration, statistics sources and methods, taxation, territorial economy, and transport.
Fulltext publications and statistical information from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) covering agriculture and food, education and skills, emerging economies and transition economies, employment, energy, enterprise, industry, and trade, environment and sustainable development, finance and investment, general economics and future studies, governance, international development, nuclear energy, science and information technology, social issues and migration, statistics sources and methods, taxation, territorial economy, and transport. NOTE: Some of the statistical data tools in SourceOECD require Internet Explorer.
Well-known book series, with titles beginning Cambridge History of ... and Cambridge Economic History of ..., offering standard descriptions and interpretations of regional histories and topics.
University of Pennsylvania Libraries
203 Van Pelt-Dietrich Library Center
University of Pennsylvania
3420 Walnut Street
Philadelphia, PA 19104-6206
U.S.A.
