Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Your opinion matters! Take the Library Lounge student survey!
Begin your research by thinking about terms and synonyms, dates, names, concepts
- DE 46-DE 70: History of the Greco-Roman world--Antiquities. Civilization. Culture, archaeology
- DG 11-DG 9802: History of Italy--Ancient Italy. Rome to 476
- DG 63: Ancient Rome
- U 35: Roman Military (also in DG and DS)
- Add any of the following terms--or terms of your choosing to subject term "rome"
- Rome Emperors Biography
- politics and government, law, imperial, justice, history,
- Families, adoption, nobility, children, women, social classes
- Social conditions, ancient, rites and ceremonies
- War, Army, engineering
- language and literature
- material culture
Get a comprehensive view of your particular area of interest through these scholarly handbooks and guides
These resources can help you come up with dates, names, additional vocabulary and variant spellings for your research. They can also help you develop a better understanding of your topic or give you ideas for comparisons and contrasts.
Browse the shelves or browse virtually in Franklin using the call number or range of call numbers
Connect to online journal articles and book chapters
If you are finding your references to journal articles or books from other books and articles--look them up in Articles+ or the Franklin Catalog.
If you are searching databases, look for the icon:
When Searching Google Scholar, look for "full text via Penn Text" or click on the and look for "Penntext"
Find journal articles, books, and book chapters through these featured Resources
Current scholarship in history, philosophy, language, and literature of (primarily) the Greek and Roman world. As of March 31, the platform will be changing for this database.
Catalog and Articles+
Search Franklin Catalog as well as many of our online journals, indexes, and collections all at once. Click on the tab for catalog to search just Franklin (books, films, and more) or Articles+ for journal articles and ebook chapters. Or search "everything" and see what happens.
Bryn Mawr Classical Review (BMCR)
Online source for timely reviews of current scholarly work in the field of classical studies (including archaeology). since 1990.
JSTOR specializes in making a journal available back to its first issue. It covers humanities and social science disciplines. Searching can be tricky. Take a look at a quick video
to learn more.
Access to Google Scholar with Penn-only links to full-text articles. Once authenticated through Penn's proxy, full-text articles to which Penn Libraries subscribe will become available within the Google Scholar search results.
Digital Loeb Classical Library
Digital Loeb provides fully searchable access to the entire bilingual Loeb library of critical editions of Greek and Latin texts. Search by author or text or browse all Latin volumes. Questions? Contact Rebecca Stuhr, your librarian, for assistance (see contact box in top righthand corner).
Blackwell Companions to the Ancient World
Individual volumes on discrete topics, available in print and in some cases electronically. Located on the shelves in Van Pelt or via the Web. Coverage of literature, history, family life, politics, and culture.
Oxford Handbooks Online: Classics
more than 14 separate collections of essays on a wide range of topics pertinent to classical history. Volumes are searchable across the entire spectrum of Oxford Handbooks, within Classical Studies, or within one volume or chapter.
Oxford Bibliographies Online Classics
An online resource to a wide array of published material. Focused on literary topics, this bibliography includes bibliographic essays covering Aeschylus to Xenophon with many new articles on the way. For tips on how to search see this short video
Borrow Direct, EZ-Borrow, Interlibrary Loan
If the book or books you need are checked out or not on the shelf, request it through Borrow Direct or EZ borrow. Turn around time is less than a week. This is a good reason to get a head start on your research.
Interlibrary Loan, BorrowDirect and E-ZBorrow
Important Locations and Sites
For individual appointments or questions by email contact Rebecca Stuhr stuhrreb @ upenn.edu
- Contact Rebecca by email with questions (see email link above),
- Make an appointment
- Office Hours in the Classics Lounge, Cohen Hall 2nd floor: Mondays 1-2 and Thursdays 12:30-1:30
Books from the Libraries - Secondary Sources
Secondary sources may lead you to specific points within the ancient texts that support your argument. They also contain extensive bibliographies for additional secondary sources. Journal articles serve a similar purpose.