Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Master of Behavioral and Decision Sciences: Getting started

Recommended Reference Works (Encyclopedias, Handbooks, etc)

Strategies for Locating Reference Works

Use dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks to learn quickly about the state of research on your topic. A good encyclopedia article should describe major themes, current research fronts, and controversial areas; it should also provide a brief bibliography of classic, important, or definitive works on your topic. Handbooks generally offer chapters on specific aspects of a topic: together, the handbook's chapters should provide a broad overview of the state of research; individually, chapters may be narrowly focused.

To locate these resources use browse through the recommended works on this guide, search the Franklin catalog with keywords such as:

  • encyclopedias
  • handbooks
  • manuals
  • dictionaries

Also, check out indexes such as the following:

Literature Reviews and Guides to the Literature

Librarian

Anne Larrivee's picture
Anne Larrivee
Contact:
Van Pelt Library, Office 219
Larrivee@upenn.edu
215-746-0384

Librarian & Coordinator of Social Sciences Collections

Lauris Olson's picture
Lauris Olson
Contact:
University of Pennsylvania Libraries
203 Van Pelt-Dietrich Library Center
University of Pennsylvania
3420 Walnut Street
Philadelphia, PA 19104-6206
U.S.A.
215-898-0119
Website