Library Resources for the Office of Government and Community Affairs: News

The Penn Libraries provides current students, faculty, and staff full access to the content on the Bloomberg.com website. Users can also use their mobile devices to access Bloomberg through the Bloomberg app. This subscription does not include Bloomberg Terminal, Bloomberg Anywhere, or access to any other Bloomberg products. To access the Penn-sponsored subscription please follow the directions provided.

CQ Magazine is a publication that focuses on coverage of the United States Congress and its activities. It provides comprehensive reporting, analysis, and commentary on legislative developments, policy debates, and political issues in Washington, D.C. CQ Magazine is highly regarded for its in-depth coverage of Congress, including committee hearings, floor debates, votes, and the actions of individual lawmakers.

CQ provides news and comprehensive data around the 3 branches of the federal government and federal legislation. It can be used to track and analyze bills, has a deep archive of policy data and provides comprehensive legislative monitoring. There are sections for the analysis of defense, budget, health, house and senate.

CQ Researcher is noted for its award-winning in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the economy

Global reporting and analysis on economics, business, geopolitics, technology, and culture. The Economist online provides the current issue, and older issues back to 1992.

EIU Viewpoint provides a global outlook with daily insights spanning politics, economics, and market-moving topics including macroeconomic data on forecasts, as well as historic trends, including: country forecasts--nearly 200 countries' political and economic landscapes, nearly 80 major economies and industry and commodity analysis for six major industries in nearly 70 markets, including supply, demand, and prices of 40 critical goods.

Foreign Policy magazine is a well-known publication that focuses on global affairs, international relations, and foreign policy issues. It provides in-depth analysis, commentary, and reporting on a wide range of topics related to international politics, security, economics, and diplomacy. To access the Penn-sponsored subscription please follow the directions provided.

"The Hill" is a news organization that primarily covers politics, policy, and government affairs in the United States. The Hill provides comprehensive coverage of Capitol Hill, the White House, and other aspects of U.S. politics. Its reporting includes breaking news, in-depth articles, opinion pieces, and commentary on a wide range of political topics, including legislation, elections, campaigns, and policy debates. The Hill's coverage is aimed at policymakers, political professionals, journalists, and individuals interested in politics and current affairs.

The National Journal is a publication that covers politics, policy, and governance in the United States. It provides analysis, commentary, and reporting on various issues, including legislation, elections, and the activities of government officials. The National Journal offers in-depth coverage of key policy areas such as healthcare, energy, defense, and the economy. It is known for its non-partisan approach and aims to provide objective and insightful coverage of American politics and policy-making.

The Penn Libraries' campus-wide subscription to the New York Times provides digital access to news content only on nytimes.com, including via tablet/mobile apps. This subscription does not include access to NYT Crossword/Games, Cooking, or e-reader editions (e.g. Kindle Fire, Nook).To access the Penn-sponsored subscription please follow the directions provided.

POLITICO Pro is a policy intelligence platform covering thousands of topics across 17 industry verticals, four state-specific verticals (California, Florida, New Jersey, New York), and Canada. Access breaking news and top trending articles from hundreds of journalists, a policy event calendar, featured campaign races with candidate biographical details and financial summaries, and primary source documents including bill text and congressional hearing transcripts, with the ability to filter documents by date, document type, state/region, and policy vertical.

"Roll Call" is a news organization that specializes in covering the U.S. Congress and related political and legislative activities. It was founded in 1955 and has a long-standing reputation for its reporting on Capitol Hill. Roll Call provides comprehensive coverage of congressional news, including legislative developments, committee hearings, floor debates, and the activities of individual lawmakers. Its reporting includes in-depth analysis, interviews, opinion pieces, and feature stories related to Congress and its members. Roll Call also covers political campaigns, elections, and policy issues that are relevant to lawmakers and their constituents.

Produced by the Boston Globe, Stat+ News is a major source for the latest news in health policy, the business of making medicines, health tech, science, and other public health issues and policies.

The Wall Street Journal (WSJ) is a widely respected and influential daily newspaper known for its coverage of business, financial markets, economic news and trends, and political developments that impact business and commerce. It covers a wide range of topics, including business and finance, technology, politics, world news, and lifestyle. To access the Penn-sponsored subscription please follow the directions provided.

The Washington Post is a major American daily newspaper based in Washington, D.C. It was founded in 1877 and has since become one of the most influential and widely read newspapers in the United States. The Washington Post covers a wide range of topics, including national and international news, politics, business, technology, entertainment, sports, and more. The newspaper is known for its investigative journalism, in-depth reporting, and editorial opinions on various issues. To access the Penn-sponsored subscription please follow the directions provided.

World Politics Review is a daily, online publication for foreign policy professionals and readers with a serious interest in international politics and foreign affairs. WPR provides analyses of global affairs, international relations, and policy decisions from a global perspective.

The Axios Today Podcast is a daily news podcast produced by Axios, a digital media company that focuses on delivering concise, informative, and impactful news stories. The podcast provides a quick and insightful overview of the top stories and trends shaping politics, business, technology, and culture.

"Today, Explained" is a podcast produced by Vox, a digital media company known for its explanatory journalism. The podcast offers in-depth explanations and analysis of current events and complex issues from around the world. Each episode dives into a specific topic and provides context, interviews with experts, and insights to help listeners better understand the subject at hand.

"Consider This" is a podcast produced by NPR (National Public Radio), a non-profit media organization known for its news coverage, analysis, and storytelling. The podcast provides a deeper exploration and understanding of current events, significant stories, and important issues happening around the world.

Politico Playbook is a widely read morning newsletter produced by Politico, a digital media company focused on covering politics, policy, and governance in the United States. Playbook provides a concise and informative rundown of the day's top political stories, analysis, and insights.

The BBC Global News Podcast is a daily news podcast produced by BBC World Service, the international arm of the British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC). It provides a comprehensive overview of global news, covering a wide range of topics including politics, economics, culture, science, and more.

"Up First" is a morning news podcast that provides a concise and informative overview of the day's top stories and headlines. Released on weekdays, the podcast offers a quick summary of the latest news from around the world, covering politics, current events, business, culture, and more.

The Atlantic is a prestigious American magazine that covers a wide range of topics, including politics, culture, technology, science, and business. It is known for its thought-provoking and in-depth reporting, analysis, and commentary. The magazine was first established in 1857 and has a long history of publishing influential and groundbreaking articles. The Atlantic covers both domestic and international issues, examining trends, ideas, and debates that shape society. It offers a mix of long-form articles, essays, investigative journalism, interviews, and opinion pieces. To access the Penn-sponsored subscription please follow the directions provided.

The Economist is a highly regarded international weekly newspaper/magazine that covers a wide range of topics, including politics, business, economics, science, technology, culture, and more. It provides in-depth analysis, commentary, and reporting on global affairs, with a particular focus on economics and business.

Foreign Affairs is focused on international relations, foreign policy, and global affairs. It is considered one of the leading publications in the field and has a reputation for providing authoritative analysis and commentary on key issues shaping the world.

Longform.org is a website and platform that curates and showcases long-form journalism and narrative nonfiction from various publications. It was launched in 2010 with the goal of promoting and celebrating well-crafted, in-depth articles and essays.

"The Nation" is a weekly magazine based in the United States that focuses on politics, culture, and current affairs. It was first published on July 6, 1865, and has a long history as a progressive publication known for its commentary and analysis from a left-leaning perspective. (Full-text access to articles through Penn)

The New Yorker is a prestigious American magazine known for its long-form journalism, cultural commentary, fiction, and creative writing. It covers a wide range of topics, including politics, literature, arts and entertainment, science, technology, and more.

ProPublica is an independent, non-profit news organization in the United States that specializes in investigative journalism. It was founded in 2007 with a mission to produce journalism in the public interest, focusing on exposing abuses of power, holding institutions accountable, and producing impactful investigative stories.

A comprehensive international news collection that provides full-text articles and transcripts from a variety of international news sources from more than 150 countries. Includes print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts, and videos. NOTE:: Articles are available in HTML format only. No original PDF content is available

BBC Monitoring Newsfile is a round-up of international news. Emphasis is on political news. Some general and economic news also is included. Available through Factiva.

Factiva is one of the best sources for international newspapers, magazines, media transcripts, and wire services. Users can search for individual titles or use the "Source" filter to select news titles by region, country, or language. Coverage varies by newspaper. Note: Articles are available in HTML format only. No original PDF content is available. From the HOME page read today's articles from the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post.

Foreign Policy magazine is a well-known publication that focuses on global affairs, international relations, and foreign policy issues. It provides in-depth analysis, commentary, and reporting on a wide range of topics related to international politics, security, economics, and diplomacy. To access the Penn-sponsored subscription please follow the directions provided.

Access to full-text national and international newspapers, including the New York Times and the Times of London. News sources also include magazines, broadcast transcripts, and wire services.

Press Display provides access to newspapers from around the world, in their original "as printed" format and language. Dates of coverage vary from the most current three months to the most current decade.

The Economist is a British weekly newspaper focused on current affairs, international business, politics, technology, and culture. Provides full-color images, multiple search indexes, and the facility to browse each and every issue.

Published weekly since 1843, the Economist Historical Archive offers news and articles on British and international affairs from the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.

The Vanderbilt Television News Archive provides one of the most extensive archives of televised news broadcasts in the world, containing recordings of news broadcasts dating back to August 5, 1968. The archive is housed at Vanderbilt University in Nashville, Tennessee. The archive's collection includes recordings of news broadcasts from major U.S. networks such as ABC, CBS, NBC, CNN, and Fox News, as well as local news broadcasts from around the United States.

From the Office of University Communications. "If there’s news at Penn, you’ll find it here. We strive to bring you faculty, staff, and student profiles, research updates, and the latest happenings on campus."

"Almanac is the weekly publication of record, opinion and news for the University of Pennsylvania faculty and staff. Almanac publishes AT PENN calendar posters and special supplements that extend its readership to students and special audiences such as alumni and neighbors. Founded as a four-page monthly in 1954, Almanac publishes 8-28 pages weekly during the academic year, publishing as-needed during breaks and producing Special Bulletins during emergencies or for special occasions. Almanac is currently digital-only, but is typically published in print and online.

The publication is funded by the University's Office of the President but reports editorially to an Almanac Advisory Board on which the representatives from the Faculty Senate, three staff Assemblies and the Administration monitor open expression and right-of-reply for those criticized in the pages."

The University of Pennsylvania's alumni magazine, with archives back to 1997.

"The Daily Pennsylvanian is the University of Pennsylvania's independent student media organization. We cover news about the University of Pennsylvania and from around the Philadelphia metro area."

Digitized by the Penn Libraries

Wharton news with media mentions, Wharton Business Daily from SiriusXM, and more.